PDA

View Full Version : New manifold T3 flanged 1.8T inside...



Clay @ Kinetic
04-01-2008, 09:28 PM
Anyone building a custom 1.8T setup? Might want to check this out:

http://www.cassetrop.com/clay/IMG00017small.jpg

http://www.cassetrop.com/clay/IMG00018small.jpg


[race]

Poopie
04-01-2008, 09:30 PM
interesting...who makes it? Was it designed for a 20v in general? or for longitude mounted engines specifically?

k0mpresd
04-01-2008, 09:33 PM
its a kinetic manifold

it was designed to be used with transverse cars. along with their o2 pipe

i kind of want one

Clay @ Kinetic
04-01-2008, 09:41 PM
its a kinetic manifold

it was designed to be used with transverse cars. along with their o2 pipe

i kind of want one



Ding Ding Ding, If you want one get at me on AIM, I'll set you up, looking for someone to fit it on a longitudinal car

k0mpresd
04-02-2008, 05:39 AM
i would like to test fit one but i dont have the $$ to spend on a new manifold right now [:(]

TQMB5
04-02-2008, 06:35 AM
price and is it avail in t25 for us baby turbos[:d]

390wheel
04-02-2008, 06:59 AM
looks good, if it fits a transverse, then it will deff fit long one too. exept you might have a bit of a problem fitting that wastegate there.(might not clear the body) but if it is, its a nice f---n design

Clay @ Kinetic
04-02-2008, 07:07 AM
price and is it avail in t25 for us baby turbos[:d]


Let me get back to you on that, I'm not sure if we're going to be able to do baby turbos.

Tiluleshpingen
04-02-2008, 07:54 AM
am getting confused is that manifold in the picture with a t-25 flange??? or t3??
i though it was t-25!

Poopie
04-02-2008, 08:02 AM
definitely t3

Tiluleshpingen
04-02-2008, 08:05 AM
definitely t3

thanks, picture of a t-25 then?

Poopie
04-02-2008, 08:11 AM
looks the same but the opening of the flange is a bit smaller and most likely uses 8mm hardware.

Clay @ Kinetic
04-02-2008, 08:23 AM
The title of the thread says "T3 flanegd" not "T25 flanged", the manifold has a T3 flange [;)]

dougyfresh
04-02-2008, 08:49 AM
Think any B6 guys would be interested in test fitting? How about posting over there?

mike-2ptzero
04-02-2008, 08:55 AM
T25 flange
http://www.full-race.com/catalog/images/t25.jpg


T3 Flange
http://www.full-race.com/catalog/images/t3.jpg


Just so you can see the difference.

Tiluleshpingen
04-02-2008, 09:04 AM
Got It thanks all, poopie, clay and mike

seanriv
04-02-2008, 04:01 PM
how much?

Clay @ Kinetic
04-02-2008, 09:01 PM
$395USD shipped for the first 10
$495USD shipped for the other 1000 we're going to sell

HPC thermal coating is an additional $55 on the first 10 and 80 thereafter

[up]

I've got one that I'm going to take more pics of tomorrow

Eurotuned_A4
04-02-2008, 09:40 PM
hmm, i might be in for this. might be a nice opiece for when i go bigger. Ill have to wait a few months though, still some other stuff im keeping an eye out for.

maxspeed
04-02-2008, 09:49 PM
if i buy one, will you pack the runners full of some good BC dank before you ship it? [:D]

Tiluleshpingen
04-03-2008, 12:16 AM
t3- manifold too big for a gt2871r?

Clay @ Kinetic
04-03-2008, 07:09 AM
That manifold is T3 flanged so a T25 based turbo wouldn't fit on it [;)]

TQMB5
04-03-2008, 07:52 AM
if i buy one, will you pack the runners full of some good BC dank before you ship it? [:D]

i would be in for this deal

jrodmk2
04-03-2008, 07:57 AM
how would the turbo outlet work with this on our cars. the wastegate would technically be in the way and the 1 runner would be in the way no matter how you clock the turbo right? can you slap a turbo on there to show us the positioning of both wastegate and turbo? on the transverse the turbo outlet shoots up right? ours should shoot down.

absolutegtr
04-03-2008, 09:26 AM
if i buy one, will you pack the runners full of some good BC dank before you ship it? [:D]

[>_<]

Anyways, What does it mean by T25 and T3?? I saw the pictures above....what does the T and 25 and 3 stand for?

sean1.8t
04-03-2008, 09:51 AM
[>_<]

Anyways, What does it mean by T25 and T3?? I saw the pictures above....what does the T and 25 and 3 stand for?

the "T" stands for turbine inlet if im that good at guessing[:p]

and the number "25"(more like 2.5), "3", and "4" are size indicators. the bigger the number. the bigger the inlet for the turbo. and a larger A/R or the turbine housing. as well as larger turbine wheel capabilities.. which means more lag. and more power

GT28RS and GT2871r turbo's use a t25 flange.
GT3071r - GT35r turbo's use a t3 flange(although, you can have some costom stuff done. like the GT3071rWG uses a T25 flange to cut down on lag. but then of coarse, it suffers on top end power

mike-2ptzero
04-03-2008, 10:01 AM
the "T" stands for turbine inlet if im that good at guessing[:p]

and the number "25"(more like 2.5), "3", and "4" are size indicators. the bigger the number. the bigger the inlet for the turbo. and a larger A/R or the turbine housing. as well as larger turbine wheel capabilities.. which means more lag. more power, and

T3 flange = T3 and GT30-GT35r
T25 flange = T25-GT28 and some GT30

T25 flange has a inlet of 38mm x 49.3mm
T3 flange has a inlet of 44.7mm x 57.2mm

All of this info can be found on www.turbobygarrett.com

sean1.8t
04-03-2008, 10:06 AM
ha. i ninja edited ya mike

Clay @ Kinetic
04-03-2008, 07:23 PM
how would the turbo outlet work with this on our cars. the wastegate would technically be in the way and the 1 runner would be in the way no matter how you clock the turbo right? can you slap a turbo on there to show us the positioning of both wastegate and turbo? on the transverse the turbo outlet shoots up right? ours should shoot down.


this is how it fits on the MKIVs

http://www.sfu.ca/~csmarsha/Pics/Manifold%202.jpg

the turbo inlet would face toward the front of the car, the DP to the back, the WG would re route or dump to the back.

sean1.8t
04-03-2008, 09:17 PM
i don't see this working for longitudinal cars very well. at all

junk t.i.
04-03-2008, 09:31 PM
today I even saw the good year blimp, and it read Clay Dogg's a pimp

317ssayzarc
04-03-2008, 09:32 PM
what are you doing here pat? lol

Clay @ Kinetic
04-03-2008, 10:51 PM
what are you doing here pat? lol

He's givin a shouts out to his boy (me)

wats crackin patty cakes [cool]



i don't see this working for longitudinal cars very well. at all


Thats ok, it will be tested, it should work with no problems, and FYI GT3071RWGs don't have as good top end due to their turbine wheel being smaller than the good GT3071R (700177-5023), and the fact that they run the small T25 turbine housing.

sean1.8t
04-04-2008, 12:02 AM
Thats ok, it will be tested, it should work with no problems, and FYI GT3071RWGs don't have as good top end due to their turbine wheel being smaller than the good GT3071R (700177-5023), and the fact that they run the small T25 turbine housing.

that's what i said...

but good luck with it. interested in seeing some test fit pics

prodrive
04-04-2008, 03:52 AM
If you sent me a sample I would be happy to test one for you Clay :))

jrodmk2
04-04-2008, 07:53 AM
the only way i see it working is for the piping of the turbo outlet going up and over the wastegate plumbing/wastegate. then down in a 90 degree turn. it looks like it will be a very close fit then have to go a hard 90.

either way it will probably work but then again it all depends on wastegate size/ turbo size/ adapter plate to space the turbo up(probably almost into the hood).....
i think it might work just not optimal. if the watsegate inlet could only be flipped.

Clay @ Kinetic
04-04-2008, 05:32 PM
the only way i see it working is for the piping of the turbo outlet going up and over the wastegate plumbing/wastegate. then down in a 90 degree turn. it looks like it will be a very close fit then have to go a hard 90.

either way it will probably work but then again it all depends on wastegate size/ turbo size/ adapter plate to space the turbo up(probably almost into the hood).....
i think it might work just not optimal. if the watsegate inlet could only be flipped.

Why do you need an adapter plate?

mike-2ptzero
04-04-2008, 06:38 PM
Why do you need an adapter plate?

Well he is just saying because the WG is now on the same side as the compressor housing there might be fitment issues.

Clay @ Kinetic
04-05-2008, 12:00 AM
Well he is just saying because the WG is now on the same side as the compressor housing there might be fitment issues.

Ahh thanks mike, clarity is always good. I will check to see if 60ar and 70ar comp housings fit without clearance issues on monday, or maybe if I can make my way to the shop this weekend. [up]

jrodmk2
04-05-2008, 05:56 AM
^^yep the plate would just be a spacer.