PDA

View Full Version : Meth Injection?



AudiRacerS4
03-26-2008, 09:11 PM
so i finally got around to installing my snow performance stg2 meth kit but i cant figure out which wire i need to tap into on the maf for the controller to get a signal. which color wire is it? thanks [up]

Tiluleshpingen
03-26-2008, 11:24 PM
BUMP REALLY GOOD THREAD(need to learn)

marcini
03-27-2008, 06:17 AM
does have to be your maf, i have it tapped to my map sensor, i belive it's the middle wire on the connector.

AudiRacerS4
03-27-2008, 06:57 AM
does have to be your maf, i have it tapped to my map sensor, i belive it's the middle wire on the connector.

i dont have a map sensor i'm nDBW

mike-2ptzero
03-27-2008, 07:01 AM
Yellow wire from the maf is the 0-5 volt signal wire. Most turbo owners go with the map control so that it only comes on at a set boost level.

317ssayzarc
03-27-2008, 07:29 AM
Yellow wire from the maf is the 0-5 volt signal wire. Most turbo owners go with the map control so that it only comes on at a set boost level.

what if we dont have a map? [:p]

mike-2ptzero
03-27-2008, 07:56 AM
what if we dont have a map? [:p]

The map controller uses a vac line. [:p]

Time for you to do your homework. [>_<]

http://www.usrallyteam.com/images/large/winj_control2_LRG.jpg
Fully-integrated boost sensor 0 to 100psi

audiFUEGO
03-27-2008, 08:04 AM
Kyle did that come with your kit ^^^?

AudiRacerS4
03-27-2008, 01:19 PM
Kyle did that come with your kit ^^^?

yeah that comes with the stage 2 kit

317ssayzarc
03-27-2008, 02:09 PM
The map controller uses a vac line. [:p]

Time for you to do your homework. [>_<]

Fully-integrated boost sensor 0 to 100psi

<---- is a retard [=(]

Poopie
03-27-2008, 02:30 PM
aren't all the new SP stage 2 kits come with MAP and MAF? I think they just got fed up with people not sure what to use. both work just fine. i suggest the map set up since its easier to set up and hook up.

A4Rob
03-27-2008, 03:36 PM
What Mike said. Just run it off vac. Thats how I did mine

sean1.8t
03-27-2008, 05:49 PM
for the sake of the thread. and those that setup their WMI off the MAP sensor. you need to tap into the wire coming off of terminal #4 on the back of the connector. it's easily marked so you cant miss it

AudiRacerS4
03-27-2008, 10:07 PM
alright I just used a t fitting and spliced into the DV line to get pressure to the controller...it starts spraying at 10psi and goes into full spray at 18psi

djwimbo
03-27-2008, 10:18 PM
How's your "correction factor"/Timing retard after the install?

Time for some tweaking(timing advance) now that you've got the W/M inj.
How much boost are you running?

AudiRacerS4
03-27-2008, 10:22 PM
How's your "correction factor"/Timing retard after the install?

Time for some tweaking(timing advance) now that you've got the W/M inj.
How much boost are you running?

my correction factors were fine before the install and they are still fine after but the car just seems to pull a lot harder even without increasing boost or timing. right now i bumped the boost to 26psi [up]

sean1.8t
03-27-2008, 10:42 PM
26psi? [eek]

are you planing on running that daily?

mike-2ptzero
03-28-2008, 07:46 AM
26psi? [eek]

are you planing on running that daily?

Well that was the point of him running WI since he cant add more timing since he is NDBW. I just hope he has some type of back up hooked up that will cause the boost to drop back down below 22psi if there is a problem with the WI system.

b5a4gt28
03-28-2008, 08:28 AM
I was thinking about getting w/m to. Do you think its well worth it? Any pros or cons? Thanks

djwimbo
03-28-2008, 12:32 PM
I was thinking about getting w/m to. Do you think its well worth it? Any pros or cons? Thanks

Pros: safe increase in boost and timing possible, safe decrease in timing pull via lowered intake air temps, cleans the intake every time it's used,...

Cons: You have to refill the reservoir. Damn, there goes $2/gal for washer solvent. Buy in bulk, goes down to $1/gal. Don't forget to run a safety/backup device. If your W/M solution runs out, you want to #1 know, and #2 lower boost easily.

sean1.8t
03-28-2008, 06:42 PM
Well that was the point of him running WI since he cant add more timing since he is NDBW. I just hope he has some type of back up hooked up that will cause the boost to drop back down below 22psi if there is a problem with the WI system.

well.... um...... DUH!

that's not what i was scared of. im a bit nervous on how long his stock motor will like that much boost and timing

AudiRacerS4
03-28-2008, 09:26 PM
well.... um...... DUH!

that's not what i was scared of. im a bit nervous on how long his stock motor will like that much boost and timing

im not constantly at full boost...and the w/m doesnt start spraying right away. if i drive normal i rarely ever see more than 5psi

mike-2ptzero
03-28-2008, 11:56 PM
well.... um...... DUH!

that's not what i was scared of. im a bit nervous on how long his stock motor will like that much boost and timing

He is pushing more boost because there isn't enough timing to support the WI so it isn't like he is runing a ton of timing anyway. This is just like throwing 100 octane into a 91 tune, it just doesn't take advantage of it.


Plenty of people have ran that much boost on a stock motor. I pushed 26psi on 91 octane with my K03, the J31 file pushes up to 30psi and the B6 guys are running the BT's at 25+psi on race gas. So the motor can handle the boost, the problem is when people try to push the timing to far causing the stock rods to snap like a tooth pick.

AudiRacerS4
03-29-2008, 07:07 AM
He is pushing more boost because there isn't enough timing to support the WI so it isn't like he is runing a ton of timing anyway. This is just like throwing 100 octane into a 91 tune, it just doesn't take advantage of it.


Plenty of people have ran that much boost on a stock motor. I pushed 26psi on 91 octane with my K03, the J31 file pushes up to 30psi and the B6 guys are running the BT's at 25+psi on race gas. So the motor can handle the boost, the problem is when people try to push the timing to far causing the stock rods to snap like a tooth pick.

there is no way to increase timing on the nDBW is there mike?

mike-2ptzero
03-29-2008, 08:06 AM
there is no way to increase timing on the nDBW is there mike?

Not that I have seen.

AudiRacerS4
03-29-2008, 03:52 PM
Not that I have seen.

me either but i was just checking [:p]