PDA

View Full Version : Is there a DIY on changing the wastegate actuator?



erikas3
03-11-2008, 03:49 PM
Does such a DIY exist? Will I also need to drop the turbo, or is it possible to somehow change this part without it (I don't wanna drain all my new fluids...).
Any insight is appreciated. Thanks

aaronamerica
03-11-2008, 07:02 PM
well I actually pulled the turbo off to mine I couldnt really see a way to do it without pulling the turbo

audiness
03-11-2008, 07:33 PM
it's not a user- replaceable item

erikas3
03-11-2008, 07:44 PM
it's not a user- replaceable item
How can the actuator not be a replaceable part.. It is held on by what, 4 screws?

savetheclutch
03-11-2008, 07:57 PM
don't worry, I changed the one on my ko4 and my previous ko3, just make sure it is adjusted at the stock location. the hard part is going to be trying to do it without removing the turbo, I removed mine and it was not too hard.

Mawhitey
03-11-2008, 07:59 PM
TBH it would be quicker to remove the turbo to do it, just drain the coolant off into a container first.

erikas3
03-11-2008, 10:05 PM
Now since I will be removing the turbo, does that mean that I need to get all the new gaskets too or would I be fine just using the same ones again? Thanks.

GetBoosted84
03-12-2008, 05:28 AM
Now since I will be removing the turbo, does that mean that I need to get all the new gaskets too or would I be fine just using the same ones again? Thanks.

It is always recommended that you replace those exhaust gaskets when you pull the turbo or manifold. I skipped it before on a previous project and I leaked because of it. You should replace them.

ModifiedA4
03-12-2008, 01:14 PM
i have pics on the my site of closeups of the both the K03 and K04 adjusted actuator rod if you need them.

one thing i'd do before taking the busting one off the turbo is to count the threads from the end of the rod that the wastegate is adjusted to and set the new one to the same. refer to the pics as backup if needed.

savetheclutch
03-12-2008, 01:55 PM
^^^ his site is great, you can get the gaskets at autozone for dirt ship, like 6 bucks

erikas3
03-12-2008, 02:24 PM
Thanks for all the great advice guys.. Sorry for sounding like the biggest noob, this is gonna be my first major DIY.