PDA

View Full Version : won't hold idle

itsbigj05
03-11-2008, 09:47 AM
I tired searching a few things but didn't come up with much. The car is a 98.5 1.8T and it won't start on its own. What I mean by this is I have to give it some gas for it to even start and if I don't keep giving it gas, the car immediatly dies. I took it for a short drive down the road like that and found that theres a sucking/whistling noise when its under load. When I pulled back into my driveway after this 3 minute drive, the car would hold idle at about 400-500 rpms.

I'm new to german cars (well I guess I'm pretty new to cars in general) but I have more time than money to spend so I'd rather not take it to a mechanic. Thanks for any help.

Also, there is no CEL, but I could take the car to autozone to have it scanned.

fikes
03-11-2008, 10:01 AM
Don't even get me started on idle problems. I have had enough of them, my car is in the shop right now hopefully getting my idle problems finally fixed. The only thing at the moment I can tell you to do is to do a Throttle Body Alignment with vag-com or a v-checker. Take it to the dealer if you don't have either on of them or find someone in your area who does and then go from there if that doesn't work then welcome to my world.

audisnapr
03-11-2008, 10:04 AM
check all your vacuum lines - if you have a leak, idle would be greatly affected.

itsbigj05
03-11-2008, 10:40 AM
Thanks guys, I'll check the vac lines and see if I can get a hold of a vag-com. I guess I forgot to mention that on my drive, when I would shift, The engine wanted to die until I caught the next gear and it woud jerk back to life. I'm not sure if that helps any but it can't hurt to add.

Mawhitey
03-11-2008, 10:45 AM
has it had cam belt tesioner replaced? As a siezed one can "hold back" an engine from ticking over properly.Hard to diagnose on the interweb obviously,lol

itsbigj05
03-11-2008, 11:07 AM