PDA

View Full Version : SAI Removal



SykoraA4
03-03-2008, 04:57 PM
I relocated my SAI pump to under my intake when i put in my front mount. for a while i had it hooked up with some extra hose, and it seemed to be fine, but then i pulled a code from it and decided to remove it completely. I cleared the code with a basic code reader, and thus far i havent gotten a CEL. This might be a stupid question, but will that keep the CEL off? I thought I read somewhere that it can be cleared with a vagcom, or with programing, like the CEL for a test pipe, but i cant remember. Also i thought there was a way to plug the piping or should i just throw a breather filter on there. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Ps. i searched, but i couldnt find specifics on removing the SAI system.

Ewok_Fetus
03-03-2008, 05:04 PM
What you have to do is buy a resistor to go in the connector for the SAI pump... Also, you should remove the combi valve and replace with a blockoff plate... I bought the block off plate but am actually going to keep my SAI... If you want, I can sell it to you for $25... I think it was made by 20 Squared tuning... Fits all 1.8t...

SykoraA4
03-03-2008, 05:57 PM
i just might have to take you up on that block off plate. wheres this combi valve, and where can i get the resistor?

Blake260
03-03-2008, 06:23 PM
I've been wondering about this too, how many ohms?

GetBoosted84
03-03-2008, 06:24 PM
I've been wondering about this too, how many ohms?

Ditto, I relocated mine but I would love to just remove it. Simplify my car a little bit at a time.

sean1.8t
03-03-2008, 08:51 PM
i haven't seen the resistor work for anyone yet. the CEL comes back

SykoraA4
03-03-2008, 08:55 PM
is there a way to vag it out or no? I guess ill have to put it back in then...i hate cel's and i need to get my emissions done soon

ModifiedA4
03-04-2008, 05:58 AM
the resistor wont work, its a scam.

Blake260
03-04-2008, 07:44 AM
dammit....this SAI thing is such a bastard child.

dab_master
03-04-2008, 10:26 AM
The only way to have this work is to reprogram the ecu. It runs a flow test randomly on a cold start. when it fails because its blocked off/disconnected you get a cel.

SykoraA4
03-04-2008, 05:48 PM
hmm i didnt know that. i guess it hasnt randomly tested for flow in the past few days, i hope it doesnt...

i just read that if the SAI pump is removed, a catch can could be put in off the tube to the case. i guess this would work after the removal of the combi valve? Ive never heard of this, anyone have any insight?

dab_master
03-04-2008, 07:08 PM
the catch can is for pcv removal. i have never heard of a catch can for sai. the block off plate is the only thing i have ever seen/used. i work at a machine shop and made my own

SirDaft1
03-04-2008, 07:34 PM
doesnt no SAI = bad news for the catalytic converter??? (lots of excess fuel into the cc??)

biketsai
03-04-2008, 07:39 PM
i removed mine temporarily, no where to put it!

SykoraA4
03-05-2008, 01:04 PM
dang pesky cel

bassed
03-05-2008, 01:44 PM
doesnt no SAI = bad news for the catalytic converter??? (lots of excess fuel into the cc??)

You run a CAT? To answer your question yes and no. Over extended time yes (8+ years). Only DBW cars have the SAP so that should indicate something to you as far as it's neccesity.

salz2135
03-05-2008, 03:20 PM
I know AEB motors dont use SAI, so what shows up in the OBDII readiness check? Does it only run 7 tests intead of 8 like on a dbw 1.8t?

beejohn
03-06-2008, 08:54 AM
the only thing that would work to get rid of the CEL is a complex circuit. the activation line of the solenoid which opens the combi valve would be used to activate the circuit.

when the circuit is activated it would "condition" both o2 sensors to read leaner.

a proficient EE guy would be able to make this.

dougyfresh
03-06-2008, 09:30 AM
The only way to have this work is to reprogram the ecu. It runs a flow test randomly on a cold start. when it fails because its blocked off/disconnected you get a cel.

I know on the B6s the SAI check is a readiness code that the ECU randomly checks for. With the SAI system out of the car the ECU will not pass readiness and throw a CEL. The only way around it is to go into the ECU and permanently clear the readiness check.

Some tuners will do it for you only if you have their software.

My car has it permanently cleared [:D] and Mark@ASP has flashes and a GT28RS system for the B5 now.

dab_master
03-06-2008, 10:13 AM
If you do that make sure you dont have to have your car smogged. It will most definitely fail. I had to put mine back on so i would pass. stupid cal!