PDA

View Full Version : BIG Boost Problems

erikas3
02-08-2008, 06:27 PM
Hi.. First of all I would like to mention that I just joined this forum. I am a 17yr old noob with a 1998 Audi A4 1.8T/Q/M. Back to my problem- Ever since I bought my car about 4 months ago, it has been truck slow. I figured that this was normal since I heard that 1.8T's are way restricted from the factory and that a chip would bring a great increase in performance. Since I wanted a chip so bad, I participated in the Speedtuning chip group buy on AudiForums. Since I got the chip, I have not noticed almost ANY increase in performance. My friend's stock 1.8T Golf leaves me in the dust every time. Thinking that I have a giant leak, I changed out the DV with a 710N and also installed a boost gauge just today. This leads me to the BIG problem- I register 20 vacuum yet I get 0 PSI of boost! I have tried resetting the ECU by disconnecting the battery but that has not helped. I am looking for any advice possible. Thank you. [az]

boostedup
02-08-2008, 06:32 PM
is the car doing anything out of the ordinary, ie. turbo whining, other noises? could just be a big boost leak somewhere. they are not too easy to find. search for "tennis ball method" for finding boost leaks.........

ILoveT
02-08-2008, 06:35 PM
Ooooh boy. That sucks

How do you have your boost gauge hooked up? Did you actually drive the car with the boost gauge hooked up?

erikas3
02-08-2008, 06:46 PM