PDA

View Full Version : those who are running a wideband



aaronamerica
01-15-2008, 09:30 PM
I have the AEM air/fuel wideband....where are most of you guys installing your o2 for the wideband to get an accurate reading, currently I have it located at the downpipe under the car

Poopie
01-15-2008, 09:57 PM
i was wondering the same thing. I pickd up an aem uego for $245 brand new

mike-2ptzero
01-15-2008, 10:13 PM
Running a LM-1 with the 02 sensor located at the bottom of my down pipe. This spot seems to work the best since the wide band 02 sensors are sensitive to very high temps so you dont want it too put it too close to the back of the turbo.

winston@podi.ca
01-15-2008, 11:25 PM
About to install an LC-1 with one of the new VEI dual display gauges.

I have a bung hear the top of the downpipe but I plan to use this for an EGT probe and have a second bung farther down the downpipe for the O2 sensor.

bassed
01-16-2008, 05:07 AM
About to install an LC-1 with one of the new VEI dual display gauges.

I have a bung hear the top of the downpipe but I plan to use this for an EGT probe and have a second bung farther down the downpipe for the O2 sensor.

EGT closer to manifold is much better, ideally should be in manifold runner as long as the WB 02 is 18" from turbo min your fine. Mines a bit close at the moment and I plan to move it's location with the new down-pipe and manifold (when I get it).

aaronamerica
01-16-2008, 03:47 PM
is anyone running there o2 in the stock secondary o2 location

mike-2ptzero
01-16-2008, 04:57 PM
I did but it seemed to wear out much faster.

317ssayzarc
01-16-2008, 05:02 PM
i installing mine right where the upstream 02 is, which is right after the turbine outlet

94jedi
01-17-2008, 05:18 AM
i installing mine right where the upstream 02 is, which is right after the turbine outlet

that's where I had mine, almost perpendicular to the FW.

317ssayzarc
01-17-2008, 05:32 AM
that's where I had mine, almost perpendicular to the FW.

how many miles and how many sensors?

mike-2ptzero
01-17-2008, 06:04 AM
i installing mine right where the upstream 02 is, which is right after the turbine outlet

You will want to move it when you do the new setup. The other reason you dont want it that far up stream is that you can get false lean readings when the car is actually misfiring. This is because the fuel is being burned much closer to the 02 then it should, so putting it futher down stream fixes that and still wont cause the rest of the readings to change.


I had that issue back when I was running mine right next to the 1st stock 02 sensor and was having misfire issues with the chip tuning at the track, every log said I had a lean spike even though it wasn't.

TQMB5
01-17-2008, 08:20 AM
mind snapping a pic for us mike? i feel like you maybe have posted a pic of this before so maybe you already have one...

mike-2ptzero
01-17-2008, 08:25 AM
mind snapping a pic for us mike? i feel like you maybe have posted a pic of this before so maybe you already have one...

Have one already.

You can just see the wide band 02 sensor just after the dp.
http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/2716cut_out_01.jpg

I also have a 02 bung in my turn down that mounts right to the end of the down pipe when I run no exhaust at the track.
http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/2716DP_turn_down.jpg

317ssayzarc
01-17-2008, 09:36 AM
im running a cat though...

mike-2ptzero
01-17-2008, 10:13 AM
im running a cat though...

That isn't going to make a huge difference.