PDA

View Full Version : Looking at '01 Avant 2.8 5M: Worth it?

Denton
12-27-2007, 08:24 PM
Hello,

I'm the proud owner of a gorgeous, OE+ modded '95 BMW 525i but looking for something with a manual and a bit more room. I'm a college student and constantly moving back and forth...I have to fit my whole life in my car and the Bimmer doesn't even have fold-down seats. [=(]

I passed a used-car lot that had a white '01 A4 Avant. I noticed it had the gorgeous "Celebration" 17" wheels, so I stopped to check it out. I love wagons but was expecting this one to be Tip. To my delight it was a stick. 81k miles too and a rust-free Southern car. It's White/Brown (not sure of the official color names). The same as my Alpine White/Parchment BMW!

Two things that worried me:
1. The car hadn't been started in a while (or so I'm told). Upon cold start, there was a puff of blue smoke. It eventually calmed down after a few seconds. I know that the 2.8 is known for oil leaks/consumption but not sure if this is normal.

2. No records, although there is the phone number of the PO. I can assume at 81k miles the timing belt has never been changed. I guess this is desperately needed?

3. I could smell clutch, although I think this was me driving it wrong. I've owned several new and older manual cars, and none were as finicky to drive smoothly as this one. I kept slipping the clutch accidently...are these clutches known to be vague? What is the average lifespan of a clutch.

4. There was a CEL. The dealer said it was an 02 sensor that they'll change...I'm not sure if it was that simple. I know VWs are notorious for CELs and didn't know if the B5 is the same.

The dealer list was $12,900 but at this time of year they want to move the car. Any idea of actual worth? The car was clean as a whistle and drove like a dream. Seriously in excellent condition, quite remarkable, really.