PDA

View Full Version : stock skid plate



pfa65
12-16-2007, 05:00 PM
So who here runs their stock skid plate? I never re-installed mine after the coils went in this past summer. Now that there is snow on the ground, the bracket near the fire wall has become way bent out of shape. I know the skid plate is a nice feature to keep the engine bay clean, but at the moment I am ready to remove the bracket and forget about it. Being that the bracket is the lowest point on the car, it is often times the first thing to scrape the ground. So what do you guys think? What do you prefer on your own car, and why?
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v125/PFA1986/DSC01907.jpg?t=1197853061
the car is currently 4 threads lower in the front than this picture. too low for snow?

devmaster
12-16-2007, 05:06 PM
So who here runs their stock skid plate? I never re-installed mine after the coils went in this past summer. Now that there is snow on the ground, the bracket near the fire wall has become way bent out of shape. I know the skid plate is a nice feature to keep the engine bay clean, but at the moment I am ready to remove the bracket and forget about it. Being that the bracket is the lowest point on the car, it is often times the first thing to scrape the ground. So what do you guys think? What do you prefer on your own car, and why?
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v125/PFA1986/DSC01907.jpg?t=1197853061
the car is currently 4 threads lower in the front than this picture. too low for snow?

mine just broke off today, because it was loaded with snow.

i was just about to start a similar thread 2.. hehe

anyways, im thinking about buying 1 of those panzer plates from diesel geek
http://www.dieselgeek.com/servlet/Detail?no=375

but im also cheap. anybody wit good experiences?

jm121189
12-16-2007, 05:12 PM
I run mine because it keeps things clean and probably helps with aerodynamics. That panzer plate is $250 idk if i could spend that. Could make your own with some sheet metal and cutters I bet.

thebikedoctor33
12-16-2007, 05:22 PM
doesnt that panzer plate make oil changed a bigger hassle than they have to be?

jm121189
12-16-2007, 05:26 PM
Probably not. Either way if you run a plate you have to take it off. That one might not have as much flex and would be harder to get in position but thats all I can think of.

devmaster
12-16-2007, 05:35 PM
Probably not. Either way if you run a plate you have to take it off. That one might not have as much flex and would be harder to get in position but thats all I can think of.

on the site they spec using an oil extractor. but i would most likely just take it off.. i think the mounts are in the stock places..

and ya i guess i could make it my self and finaly put my HS metalshop skillz 2 work

TMorris
12-16-2007, 06:52 PM
The Panzer plate is a great product but if you want a new plastic one cheap just go to your VW dealer and get a Passat W8...its the same thing just a lot cheaper