PDA

View Full Version : Switching head unit question 00 to 99



crcowboyfan
12-16-2007, 01:34 PM
Would I be able to put in a stock head unit from a 2000 A4 in to a 99 A4 without any major modifications?

Thanks

AudiRacerS4
12-16-2007, 01:52 PM
Would I be able to put in a stock head unit from a 2000 A4 in to a 99 A4 without any major modifications?

Thanks

no you need to to play with the wiring assuming you want to put the double din in place of the single din

crcowboyfan
12-16-2007, 02:05 PM
Yeah I want to put the double din in. What do you mean play with the wiring?

AudiRacerS4
12-16-2007, 02:10 PM
it pretty complicated you need to rewire a lot of things...there is a writeup somewhere

prey
12-16-2007, 02:13 PM
If your car is a 99.5 its all plug and play but u have to change the cage, center console, ashtray, climate control, the shift surround. if you are just 99 its a pain and yea there is a write up somewhere.

legionvr6
12-16-2007, 03:07 PM
hey im a 99.5 is their a write up on this???????????

prey
12-16-2007, 03:31 PM
Its easy, you just need the whole center console from a 00 01.

After that its all plug and play, you wouldn't need the fog switches, hazard switches and cup holder, everything fits rite in if u have all the parts.

I have it done, looks like it came with the car.

legionvr6
12-16-2007, 04:19 PM
ya but it would be nice to have a photo diy