PDA

View Full Version : Throttle Position sensor (with fault codes) Help!!



sonnybr4life
12-15-2007, 08:17 PM
My car is stalling, and the idle is at 400. The car will run fine at higher rpms but it will cut out when idle is low. I took it to a mechanic to do a diagnostics run and he came with the following codes:

16507 - TPS too high

17952 - Throttle Actuator signal too high

17953 - Throttle Valve Regulation Malfunction

I was wondering if there is a way to regulate the sensor and how to do it? Or is my sensor totally shut? Can I just buy a separate sensor for my throttle body? You think cleaning throttle body will help clear codes and engine will work fine? Please help!! thanks guys

maxspeed
12-15-2007, 09:10 PM
you can try clearing the codes and doing a TBA

sonnybr4life
12-15-2007, 09:22 PM
hey max how can I clear the codes? and whats a TBA?

sonnybr4life
12-15-2007, 09:41 PM
hey max I figured it out on another thread. I will do a TBA with a vag-com tommorrow and see what happens. thanks

damnthemansam
12-16-2007, 09:02 AM
sounds like your throttle motor is shot.. you could try cleaning the throttle body but VAG it and see what percent the throttle motor is at idle.. if its like 14-15% i think its toast

sonnybr4life
12-17-2007, 05:28 PM
with those codes what could be bad which sensor the one by the pedal or the one by the throttle body?