PDA

View Full Version : boost

audiluxary
12-13-2007, 07:19 PM
Another boost question, I am just seeing if anyone can help me out? I bought a 01 A4 1.8T and the previous owner told me it was chipped with an APR. I have never actually gone in there and seen it. Question is though, I just bought a boost gauge to see what I was at and it only reads 8-9 psi. How do I find out if the chip is 91 or 93 oct chip. The previous owner said it was a APR and vallett chip I think, I never realy thought anything of it. I am new to this turbo thing and I was wondering, should I be at higher psi and how can I switch the chip if it is possible. Where should the boost gauge sit at idle too, should it be at 0 or in the negatives any help will be appreciated, by the way I have an automatic, thanks.

MikeWasHere05
12-13-2007, 07:22 PM
Another boost question, I am just seeing if anyone can help me out? I bought a 01 A4 1.8T and the previous owner told me it was chipped with an APR. I have never actually gone in there and seen it. Question is though, I just bought a boost gauge to see what I was at and it only reads 8-9 psi. How do I find out if the chip is 91 or 93 oct chip. The previous owner said it was a APR and vallett chip I think, I never realy thought anything of it. I am new to this turbo thing and I was wondering, should I be at higher psi and how can I switch the chip if it is possible. Where should the boost gauge sit at idle too, should it be at 0 or in the negatives any help will be appreciated, by the way I have an automatic, thanks.

From the sounds of it you either got jipped, or you're in valet mode. I'm not familiar with what valet mode entails, but it might limit the car to the stock boost levels (which are 8-9psi).

At idle the car will sit in vacuum, anywhere from 17-21in/hg depending on whether you have the AC on or not.

akielb
12-14-2007, 07:11 AM