PDA

View Full Version : Maybe easy fix for fading LCD on instrument panel!



docurley
09-18-2007, 05:08 AM
This was posted on another forum so I thought I would share



""Don’t let the Audi garages fool you; the whole cluster does not need changing. Mine did exactly the same thing, worse on hot days, better on cooler days. Audi also said change the cluster, I thought forget it! I took it out; there are 3 plugs on the back. Turn it over, there are a few torx screws, take those out, and loosen the black clips which hold the clear face to the rest of the cluster.
What happens is the LCD display glass has a thin ribbon cable on its right hand side that powers the display, the bonding/gluing on this ribbon cable comes loose, doesn't make proper contact that’s why the lines come and go.
Over the top of the display is a metal cover plate held on by 4 legs bent on the back of the pc board. Straighten these, and it comes off. WORK GENTLY!!!
Then you can remove the LCD glass. Be careful; don't loose the 2 pieces of plastic behind the LCD glass. IT WILL NOT WORK WITHOUT BOTH OF THESE.
Then, either take the LCD panel to a good electronic company to re-bond the ribbon cable for you, or find a place that makes and sells LCD displays.
Don't worry about the codes either, so long as you disconnect the cluster with the ignition off, once you plug it back, everything will work fine.

I did mine myself, just added 2 extra strips of thin rubber strip behind the LCD on either side, and made the metal cover press down slightly harder on the ribbon cable so it makes better contact, and it works perfectly. All in all, an hour or so work.""

Will have to try this at the weekend I think.

Warning: these steps may vary from car to car depending on year and model Audi as I'm not sure what Audi these instruction are for but they help by pointing out what the problem maybe.

Calisto
09-18-2007, 05:12 AM
yes please let us know what happens with this

Ewok_Fetus
09-18-2007, 05:58 AM
Also, the ribbon cable itself gets damaged somehow and the lines in the cable break... But I will try this on mine tonight and post the results!!

audiFUEGO
09-18-2007, 06:53 AM
YAY!!! maybe now i can finally see how many miles i have left in my tank

Tifun
09-18-2007, 08:05 AM
YAY!!! maybe now i can finally see how many miles i have left in my tank
You mean it tells you that? Mine has never really worked properly lol. [=(]

kextyn
09-18-2007, 08:16 AM
You mean it tells you that? Mine has never really worked properly lol. [=(]

lol

It shows:
Running time
Real time MPG
Average MPH
Average MPG
Miles untill empty

I think that's it.

Calisto
09-18-2007, 10:22 AM
i can see temp on mine if its really cold but once it warms up i cant see anything

docurley
09-18-2007, 01:41 PM
Well I did the bit of adding more pressure but no joy on the face lift so I can only think a ribbon is needed.

Euro-Tuner
09-18-2007, 01:47 PM
I've had mine out already, I will try taking to an electronics person, there are a couple NASA certified electrical engineers at my work, maybe they can help me [:)]!!

dualaudi
09-18-2007, 01:51 PM
lol

It shows:
Running time
Real time MPG
Average MPH
Average MPG
Miles untill empty

I think that's it.

Can someone tell me why the hell we need "Real time MPG."

It's so tempermental depending on the pedal, I mean, they could of put in a boost gauge, or maybe digital engine temp vs. the oil temp gauge we have now.

But post pix of the process please.

1.8 Tcat415
09-19-2007, 10:52 PM
bump for pics

AudiSport12
09-19-2007, 11:11 PM
i guess im lucky. 11 years old and every line shows up in hot and cold temps

petermca4
09-19-2007, 11:36 PM
bump for pics

http://img2.putfile.com/thumb/8/21400145537.jpg (http://www.putfile.com/pic.php?img=6180811)

GraysonF
09-20-2007, 03:35 AM
i guess im lucky. 11 years old and every line shows up in hot and cold temps

not anymore.

docurley
09-20-2007, 04:58 AM
I will try and get some pic's up tomorrow.

1.8 Tcat415
09-20-2007, 10:54 PM
can someone post pics of the ribbon.i want to show my friend that is a computer tech to see what he says about it

docurley
09-21-2007, 04:42 AM
This should help

http://www.audiworld.com/tech/pix/face3.jpg


Step 1: Take out the instrument cluster.
http://www.audiworld.com/tech/pics/int40.15.jpg
Step 2: Disconnect the plugs.
http://www.audiworld.com/tech/pics/int40.16.jpg
Step 3: Remove the remaining plugs.
http://www.audiworld.com/tech/pics/int40.17.jpg
Step 4: Remove the cover. Take out the screws and snap open the cover, on face lift you will have two screews holding the back in place as well has the tabs.
http://www.audiworld.com/tech/pics/int40.18.jpg

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y224/docurley/Anything/Removemetalframe.jpg
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y224/docurley/Anything/Paddingouttheframe.jpg

Now just put it all back.

capea4
09-21-2007, 04:50 AM
Nice work DOC. The pics and the write up are great. I'm gonna have to try this as well. To think I had abandoned all hope and just leave it off.

beejohn
09-21-2007, 03:11 PM
so did it work???

audiness
09-21-2007, 03:16 PM
shit , Im gonna try this!

1.8 Tcat415
09-21-2007, 04:42 PM
nice write up

1.8 Tcat415
09-21-2007, 04:47 PM
nice im going to try it out this weekend

Calisto
09-21-2007, 07:59 PM
so all you have to do is add double sided tape and it will work again? i thought you said originally it had to be resoldered? can you show pics of it working?

audiness
09-21-2007, 10:06 PM
the ribbon cable that provides data to the LCD isn't making 100% contact, this mod just increases the chances that good contact is made. it prolly wont work for everyone

docurley
09-22-2007, 08:31 AM
For my car there was no difference on my face lift A4 so it may be I need another ribbon.

1.8 Tcat415
09-22-2007, 09:04 PM
tried it and it didnt work for me either =(

ModifiedA4
09-23-2007, 10:54 AM
heres my page for tracking the attempts at fixig the cluster display:

http://www.modifieda4.com/web/misc/trip-display.html

many people, some who are EE's, have tried to repair this or improve the failing pixels on the display. Sorry to tell you guys, but if the solution was simply pressing on the flex cable connection, this would've been known a long time ago. [rolleyes]

beejohn
09-23-2007, 02:25 PM
someone needs to source the whole lcd driver/lcd panel unit. if you get the whole lcd it would be a simple job. too bad it's a proprietary audi panel, maybe someone can find out which electronics manufacturer made the lcd?

Ewok_Fetus
09-23-2007, 03:09 PM
I hear that the Garmin 45 GPS unit uses the same exact screen... Problem now is, the screen on that is silver and the Audi screen is black...

beejohn
09-23-2007, 11:05 PM
if someone would send me just the lcd module/lcd driver with ribbon cable that would be helpful. i work at a large chip manufacturing company and we have the resources to find out who makes the lcd, and can source it out. i also work with some really smart EE people who might be able to repair the module. mine is still fully working, so no point taking it apart and messing with it otherwise i would.

hoganalley
09-24-2007, 06:09 AM
Ok...I tried this. No way :( Stupid Audi. Here's my question......has anyone really figured out what the problem is? I'm not an electronics guy, so I don't know LED's that well, but I have another cluster I got for free from a previous A4 owner...screen works perfectly but our milage's don't match. If I can remove the LCD unit shouldn't it work? Or is the black screen with the wide blue ribbon what messes up?

hoganalley
09-24-2007, 06:16 AM
never mind...I'm a tool. In my understanding the unit encased in the white plastic frame makes the information, but the black screen displays it. This sucks. Why isn't this covered under warranty? Mine's so bad I could get the double beep warning and not even know what the problem is!!!

hoganalley
09-24-2007, 06:19 AM
Just a thought......If your screen goes bad, Bentley says to check the software version through VAG. If it's not the correct version, replace the cluster with part number 8D0....MX. Does this mean any cluster with the MX ending won't fade? They make it seem like it's a software issue.

ModifiedA4
09-25-2007, 11:24 AM
Just a thought......If your screen goes bad, Bentley says to check the software version through VAG. If it's not the correct version, replace the cluster with part number 8D0....MX. Does this mean any cluster with the MX ending won't fade? They make it seem like it's a software issue.

PN's ending in 'X' are refurbs.

hoganalley
09-26-2007, 06:44 AM
Bastard's!!! So they obviously take them back and refurb them so they work. That means it's fixable.....just have to find the parts. If that's the case, this really should have been a Recall issue

OsloStateOfMind
09-26-2007, 09:45 AM
anything similar for the 99? I don't have the lcd, but my odometer isn't showing right, temp display on ac control is also bitchy

Calisto
09-26-2007, 07:31 PM
i think in order to recall the part it would have to have posed some sort of danger to the driver otherwise its just a tsb

Ewok_Fetus
09-27-2007, 09:44 AM
You mean such as the brake warning light not being able to tell you about your brakes being low, losing oil pressure causing your motor to seize causing you to stop in the middle of the highway or maybe you can't see that your door is open and having you fly out of the car... But honestly, I think it should be a recall for the above two mentioned... Not that it would happen but that it CAN happen...

Calisto
09-27-2007, 09:53 AM
Im not saying they shouldnt, im all in favor of them recalling it (mine is broken) but Im just saying i dont think by law that they have to

zrowcool
09-27-2007, 10:58 AM
they should though. its not as important as a seatbelt or brakes but it doesn show somewhat vital information. ( such as the temp so i can know what to wear)

Calisto
09-27-2007, 11:05 AM
ya i would really like to know what temp is, everyother car i have ever had has had that and since my lcd is dead i dont have it so i might just replace it for that

hoganalley
09-27-2007, 11:28 AM
Really? Temp. so you know what to wear? Did you mod your interior to fit your closet? Or are you just like the rest of us and your gf told you to live in your car because you spend too much time on it anyway?!!!

I agree with Ewok.....that info is important. Good car, but sometimes a bad company

Euro-Tuner
09-27-2007, 02:03 PM
EXTREMELY IMPORTANT!!!!!!!

CALL: 1-800-822-2834 AND SPEAK TO A CUSTOMER CARE REP.

**iF THEY GET ENOUGH PEOPLE TO CALL IN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM THEY HAVE TO MAKE IT A RECALL

this has already been recalled in Europe and with enough complaints they will have to do the same in the US also...

call them and give them you VIN and they have to report it to the National Highway Traffic safety Administration

...and thier website is nhtsa.gov

Euro-Tuner
09-27-2007, 02:05 PM
seriously, its toll free it literally takes less than 2 minutes...I just did it and the guy was really nice, just press option 4 and have your VIN # on hand

we can do it!!!

zrowcool
09-27-2007, 02:16 PM
that number is disconnected... tried about 30 secs ago

Calisto
09-27-2007, 02:47 PM
ya me too it says disconnected

hoganalley
09-27-2007, 03:21 PM
Disconnected. How did you get through Euro?

hoganalley
09-27-2007, 03:30 PM
1-888-327-4236....This is for the US. I'm a Canuck so I have to do it through Transport Canada. I recommend everyone jump on this.....let's see if we can make it work.

black00A4
09-27-2007, 06:59 PM
Im from canada aswell, I want a new screen!! Mines killed

hoganalley
09-27-2007, 08:19 PM
Email: webfeedback@tc.gc.ca
Phone: 613-990-2309
TTY:1-888-675-6863
Fax: 613-954-4731 / 613-998-8620
Mailing Address:
Transport Canada
330 Sparks Street
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0N5

try this info. I'm calling first thing tomorrow

Euro-Tuner
09-27-2007, 08:54 PM
wtf? why is it disonnected?? let me double check

I;m a fucking idiot, its 1-800, not 1-888

anyways

1-800-822-2834

heres the link (http://www.audiusa.com/audi/us/en2/Company/Contact_Us.html) for less confusion

hoganalley
09-28-2007, 07:21 AM
Sorry guys....this is the number for Transport Canada 1-800-333-0510. I just called and they said it probably won't go anywhere because there's no sudden danger of not having the information. If the brakes go out, you're going to know before the warning comes, so, they keep it on file and we'll see......but don't hold your breath

zrowcool
09-28-2007, 11:42 AM
i called. the guy was real cool and really acted like he cared about my screen not working as much as i did. Updated the info for the vehicle and he told me that there were no current recalls or TSB's and that he would pass it around the office and if anything were to be recalled i would be contacted.

Calisto
09-28-2007, 07:42 PM
ya i called as well and all they said was that there were no open campaigns and just put my info in the system, so basically nothing is gonna happen

Diavan
09-29-2007, 01:51 PM
they should though. its not as important as a seatbelt or brakes but it doesn show somewhat vital information. ( such as the temp so i can know what to wear)

X - Post:

Apparently it is quoted in the User Manual, the display provides safety related info.
I don't think we need to prove anything. Its already documented.


http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f259/Diavan/Navigation/AudiManualSnippet.2a.jpg

hoganalley
09-30-2007, 02:42 PM
True. However, the way it was explained to me by Transport Canada was they only to recall's or TSB's on problems that could cause immedaite danger. IE....Driveaxle breaking, Caliper seal bursting, etc....All the features that can be harmed from the Auto Check System do not fall into this category. You'll be warned that your brake fluid is low before you can't stop. We're scewed.

Shifty
09-30-2007, 02:44 PM
X - Post:

Apparently it is quoted in the User Manual, the display provides safety related info.
I don't think we need to prove anything. Its already documented.


http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f259/Diavan/Navigation/AudiManualSnippet.2a.jpg
HA! Good call man. [hail]

Matt@JHM
09-30-2007, 02:49 PM
I heard about a group of S4 guys trying for a class action lawsuit awhile back. I'm pre-facelift though, good luck fellas.

audiness
09-30-2007, 03:03 PM
does anyone know any lawyers interested in bringing a class action lawsuit?

usually these types of suits pay off pretty big for the lawyers involved

Euro-Tuner
09-30-2007, 07:35 PM
good call, this should be stickied so it doesnt get lost, we can be the cause of a sweet recall in our favor!!!

GramCracker
09-30-2007, 08:18 PM
Does anyone know if it would be possible to replace the display with one of those color ones from the B7's? If so, I'd love to get it done.

docurley
10-01-2007, 05:13 AM
No recall in the Europe that I have heard of!!

Euro-Tuner
10-05-2007, 06:13 PM
I'd check with your dealer, according to the guy I talked to there was...anyone else call?

beejohn
10-20-2007, 08:26 PM
check it

http://forums.audiworld.com/s4/msgs/2722746.phtml

Big-Pat
10-20-2007, 08:51 PM
Don't hold your breath. We don't even know if he is looking for the right part. He might just be looking at the LCDs not the ribbon cable. It might now even work out that it's the right LCD at all or he might not be able to get them. Nonetheless I will be following this closely! [:D]

audiFUEGO
10-20-2007, 08:59 PM
im in with whatever happens. mines broken also... cant see shit anymore.

Euro-Tuner
10-20-2007, 09:23 PM
did you call audi, I have a feeling no one really called except for very few...kinda disappointing since everyone constantly bitches about it

K04B5
10-20-2007, 09:32 PM
I'm in as well because I want desperately to be able to fix mine and not have to get a new one... please keep us dated!

aytheory
10-21-2007, 12:22 AM
ahahah the lcd problem is minor compare to abs units that fail

30V
11-08-2007, 08:45 PM
Even if you find the replacement parts (LCD, driver, cable etc.) who wants to pay for it to get soldered? There are about 50 pads on the ribbon cable with approx. 1.5 mm spacing. Fortunately it looks like only 10 of them have traces going to them. This is just the LCD ribbon cable. Who knows where the driver chip is and how much of a pain it would be to replace. VDO was proud enough of their work to put their logo about 20 places on the assembly. Why don't they step up and fix it?

Maybe 1/2 of the lines were working on our '00 A6 240k miles, when it was cold, before I dug into it. Now the display is totally gone. Our '02 S4 90 k miles is in decent shape but who knows for how much longer.

Lodge a complaint with the NHTSA via phone or web. You will need your VIN. It is quick and easy to do. Once they get enough complaints there should be a recall.

It took a little time to make my first complaint but my 2nd time through it was a breeze.

http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/ivoq/

The manufacturer is VW, make Audi, defective part is listed under Electronics: Instrument Panel.

No pick for an A4 or A6 as I remember. Just pick Audi again.

What does a brother have to do to get another ring? Pretty sick of using 5 different forums with much of the same info. everywhere.

Another thread covering the same stuff...
http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=162757

sixfiveoh
11-08-2007, 09:35 PM
Bahhh mine just keeps getting worse every day

dingguhlbary
11-08-2007, 09:44 PM
Even if you find the replacement parts (LCD, driver, cable etc.) who wants to pay for it to get soldered? There are about 50 pads on the ribbon cable with approx. 1.5 mm spacing. Fortunately it looks like only 10 of them have traces going to them. This is just the LCD ribbon cable. Who knows where the driver chip is and how much of a pain it would be to replace. VDO was proud enough of their work to put their logo about 20 places on the assembly. Why don't they step up and fix it?

Maybe 1/2 of the lines were working on our '00 A6 240k miles, when it was cold, before I dug into it. Now the display is totally gone. Our '02 S4 90 k miles is in decent shape but who knows for how much longer.

Lodge a complaint with the NHTSA via phone or web. You will need your VIN. It is quick and easy to do. Once they get enough complaints there should be a recall.

It took a little time to make my first complaint but my 2nd time through it was a breeze.

http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/ivoq/

The manufacturer is VW, make Audi, defective part is listed under Electronics: Instrument Panel.

No pick for an A4 or A6 as I remember. Just pick Audi again.

What does a brother have to do to get another ring? Pretty sick of using 5 different forums with much of the same info. everywhere.

Another thread covering the same stuff...
http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=162757

true, everyone should give them a call. but your rings go up with post count. to get to four, im pretty sure its 500 posts.

1a9u9d8i
11-08-2007, 10:17 PM
im very interested in fixing mine. its not a huge deal but its just a pesky inconvenience. im not about to tear my cluster apart to try something that might not work though. this weekend ill call that number and see what they say

macgyver681
01-22-2008, 03:07 PM
http://audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=184010

donraja84
01-22-2008, 09:20 PM
http://www.sacer.com.cn/ is the supplier,

Man if you want to be secretive about this stuff, don't post direct quotes from websites....a little thing called google. Now people work together to make this work!

donraja84
01-22-2008, 09:21 PM
oops, wrong forum...this is for the guy that claims to have some supplier for the lcd display

Calisto
01-23-2008, 04:00 AM
http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/ivoq/

just filed my complaint there everyone should do this takes a minute

bigman87
07-03-2011, 06:39 AM
On my a4 its shows up barely and the top of the pce is crackin out it jitters and changes colors but I can read temp & miles

IndianDrives
08-01-2011, 09:44 PM
I will try to lead a person to electronics, there are a couple of NASA engineers certified power in my work, maybe I can help.

J Ozzie
08-02-2011, 12:12 AM
mines toast too..