PDA

View Full Version : Question about seafoam....



slackerboy88
08-29-2007, 12:28 PM
I have read the DIY but did not find this in the DIY. I am planning on doing a seafoam. when i opened my hood i notice that there are metal clamp on it.(hose) i do not know what it is. My car is stock. I was wondering if i got new hoses how would i replace those clamps? also if i decieded not to get new hose would i be able to put those clamp back in? it looks kinda impossible. Also what kind of hose are those? are those even hoses? What kind of tool do i need as wel. well hope some one can answer this. Thanks!

.Mad Hatter.
08-29-2007, 12:33 PM
they are probably the crappy factory clamps that you have to cut off with side cutters. you can replace them with better hose clamps with a screw on them to tighten/loosen.

dukez
08-29-2007, 12:38 PM
Those metal clamps are one time use only, you have to cut them off, and they are done. You can use a zip tie to secure the hose back on.

onemoremile
08-29-2007, 01:02 PM
Get a handful of these little 1/4" clamps next time you're at an auto parts store. Get about 4 feet of vac line too. It isn't hard to change the main vac lines and it is great preventative maintenance. These little things go on and off with a pair of pliers.
http://www.greenshoes.com/productimages/02041thm.jpg

The stock clamps are called Oetiker clamps. They are a pain to get on and off even with the special tool. I get in between the layers with a small flat bladed screwdriver and pry it up enough to twist it apart. There is a little tab at the front that holds the clamp together.
http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:12ILplZWoK8pPM:http://www.northernbrewer.com/pics/fullsize/clamps-oetiker.jpg

slackerboy88
08-29-2007, 01:12 PM
thanks guys i guess im going to need to buy some clamps. o when i do begin doing seafoam. do i have to have a clamp or ziptie the hose on or would it just stay on. thanks.

pinky
08-29-2007, 03:22 PM
the hose will stay on.

i have all my vacuum hoses (fpr, dv) connected with small zip ties and i've had no problems.

i put some in the fuel tank a few weeks before.. used 1/2 can in the oil, 1/2 can in through the intake manifold (used a t-connector w/ a line going to the fpr and dv ports to ensure even distribution).. cut it off for 5 minutes (per the directions) after everything was sucked through the intake mani.. turned it back on and let it idle for ~20 minutes.. and then changed the oil & filter

projectdarka4
08-29-2007, 04:59 PM
what is seafoam... sorry for the noob ?

pinky
08-29-2007, 08:59 PM
http://www.seafoamsales.com/