PDA

View Full Version : Using a 3" MAF with Stock Airbox???



GetBoosted84
08-18-2007, 04:05 PM
Hello,

I am trying to find out if this is a feasible option... I would like to hook up my 3" TT225 MAF to my stock airbox in my 01 B5 1.8T since it is required to have a 3" MAF for the Giac Hammer file.

My idea is to use two silicone reducers to add in the larger MAf into my stock intake system but I'm not sure if that is going to screw with the air flow going through the MAF and I am also not sure if it is even possible. Could someone shed some light on what I need to do in order to get the 3" MAF in there?

P.S. - I would prefer not to drop an additional $300 on a Carbonio intake system since I think that is outrageous.

Thanks!

fred2ka4
08-18-2007, 04:18 PM
Hello,

I am trying to find out if this is a feasible option... I would like to hook up my 3" TT225 MAF to my stock airbox in my 01 B5 1.8T since it is required to have a 3" MAF for the Giac Hammer file.

My idea is to use two silicone reducers to add in the larger MAf into my stock intake system but I'm not sure if that is going to screw with the air flow going through the MAF and I am also not sure if it is even possible. Could someone shed some light on what I need to do in order to get the 3" MAF in there?

P.S. - I would prefer not to drop an additional $300 on a Carbonio intake system since I think that is outrageous.

Thanks!

Make your own 3" intake like I did:

http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=155193

You might have to go with a different inlet tube also. I would check to see if the one from the Audi TT would fit your application also.

GetBoosted84
08-18-2007, 04:26 PM
I was just reading your thread. Do you have the radius of the 180 pipe you used and what did you do with the secondary air injection pump?

fred2ka4
08-18-2007, 08:27 PM
I was just reading your thread. Do you have the radius of the 180 pipe you used and what did you do with the secondary air injection pump?

The pipe pictured is a 2.5" pipe and has a 9.5" outside radius while the 3" version had a 12" outside radius. The 3" version had to be cut and sectioned to get it to 10" so that it would fit but left a little bit of a point on the pipe but it worked. I will get pictures of that one up once it is finished.

The secondary smog pump was relocated and installed sideways with a homemade bracket and a breather filter was attached so that it no longer needed to be connected to the air intake.

ianlionzion
08-18-2007, 08:58 PM
you can fit that maf into your stock airbox. You will have to increase the diameter of the opening with a dremel to fit the TT225MAF. If you are using the stock tip then you can stretch it over the maf.

GetBoosted84
08-18-2007, 11:02 PM
you can fit that maf into your stock airbox. You will have to increase the diameter of the opening with a dremel to fit the TT225MAF. If you are using the stock tip then you can stretch it over the maf.

Awesome, thank you. I think I will be doing this as a temporary measure until I am able to build myself a custom intake like fred2ka4 has done.

fred2ka4, let me know when you are all done. I would love to see the finished product with a write-up.

ianlionzion
08-19-2007, 10:51 AM
just be carefull when you dremel the opening. If you look at the opening there is a ridge. Use that as a marker. You will have to remove that ridge also. When I got close to the maf size I took a tubular coffee mug wrapped some 100 grit sandpaper around it and sanded the opening to size. It also smoothens the hole and makes it a perfect circle. I got mine to fit perfect this way.

http://images18.fotki.com/v17/photos/3/356984/1264722/IMG_4486-vi.jpg

Your stock maf will attach to a horn. I put one on the TT maf also. You can get one at a speaker shop or google image "flared port horn"

http://images26.fotki.com/v891/photos/3/356984/1264722/06022007095-vi.jpg

http://images25.fotki.com/v886/photos/3/356984/1264722/06022007097-vi.jpg

good luck...

GetBoosted84
08-19-2007, 01:36 PM
Thanks for the detailed pics. I am guessing that you added the port horn on there to straighten the airflow correct? I am trying to decide whether it is necessary for me to do it or not.

ianlionzion
08-19-2007, 09:33 PM
yes that is correct, it is to straighten the airflow

GetBoosted84
08-20-2007, 03:57 AM
Ok thank you. I can't wait to install my k04.