PDA

View Full Version : B5 S4 Brakes



AudiRacerS4
08-12-2007, 07:05 PM
I picked up a complete set of B5 S4 brakes for a steal and plan on putting them on my 99 A4 are they a direct swap?

AudiRacerS4
08-12-2007, 07:06 PM
also what offset do you need to clear the brakes?

Militant-Grunt
08-12-2007, 07:44 PM
LoL, you're in to spend a lot of money if you want those brakes on there. The rears are a direct bolt on, the fronts on the other hand. You need 2.8 axles, because you need S4 uprights which don't fit the 1.8t axles. You cant transfer the caliper over to our upright.

a220vt
08-12-2007, 08:09 PM
I learned that the hard way too, bought a Stoptech S4 kit, bought the uprights, then scrapped the project because I didn't want to deal with finding the axles.

AudiRacerS4
08-12-2007, 08:27 PM
haha i only bought them for 200 so i didnt lose that much money i guess they are going in the fs section

Militant-Grunt
08-12-2007, 08:58 PM
I suggest you do what I plan on doing. Keep the S4 rears, put those one, then get A8 front + Boxer calipers, our cars are a good 500lbs lighter, that setup should really be enough.

AudiRacerS4
08-13-2007, 05:39 AM
i have xdrilled A8 rotors up front, so i guess ill sell the s4 front brakes and just keep the rears and install them

onemoremile
08-13-2007, 06:18 AM
I learned that the hard way too, bought a Stoptech S4 kit, bought the uprights, then scrapped the project because I didn't want to deal with finding the axles.

$380 at Raxles and you would have had great braking and much less unsprung weight than stock.

quickglx
08-13-2007, 06:57 AM
I have two pairs of S4 uprights or wheel bearing housings for sale... Also a complete six speed swap