PDA

View Full Version : replacing intake mani gasket



audiAUDIaudi
08-09-2007, 12:56 PM
so im replacing my intake manifold gasket tomorrow due to a huge boost leak coming from it. just a quick question before i get started...does anyone know the factory spec torque for the bolts that go in the manifold...thanks

aytheory
08-09-2007, 12:58 PM
if you are really paranoid - get the exhaust and intake manifold checked out - it might not be "flat" anymore and have to be resurfaced.

kjgarreau
08-09-2007, 01:01 PM
10Nm. Hand-tight without a ratchet basically. I just torqued them down with an extension bar and no ratchet.

mike-2ptzero
08-09-2007, 01:02 PM
so im replacing my intake manifold gasket tomorrow due to a huge boost leak coming from it. just a quick question before i get started...does anyone know the factory spec torque for the bolts that go in the manifold...thanks

Not sure about the torque specs, but make sure you tighten the bolts starting from the center and move your way outward jumping side to side.

Jereme
08-09-2007, 02:09 PM
yeah def what mike said....did you get one of those new south performance gaskets?

audiAUDIaudi
08-10-2007, 09:46 AM
yeah i got south performance...im assuming their claim of +10hp is complete bs, but it was pretty cheap and i was in a spending mood

Jereme
08-10-2007, 07:24 PM
yeah I got one when I did mine, doubt it does shittt