PDA

View Full Version : ECU dead?



daesharacor
08-03-2007, 06:19 PM
Hey guys-

I have a 98 1.8TQM. I bought a fellow member's pre-chipped (giac) ecu about half a year ago. I've had nothing but problems with it, pretty much.

Started off with this weird issue that nobody could solve, where the ignition would just cut out for a few seconds / minutes at a time, usually when it was raining. Odd, and it kept getting worse and worse. So I put the stock jumper on, and the problem went away.

I bought a new chip from jeff moss at the torque factory. He said 'oh yeah, happens all the time, AMD had a bad shipment of chips to giac, i sent you two in case one fails'. And then charged me for two, which i didn't ask for... whatever. Anyway, put one of the new chips in, no problem, functioned perfectly for 3 or 4 months.

Then last week, it started doing the stupid ignition problem thing. I swapped the spare in, and it worked for a number of hours, and then died later that night. (Once they die, the car will just stall, and crank forever with no ignition). So I was frustrated, and put the stock jumper back on. Again, it worked fine with the stock jumper.

[I apologize for the novel.]

Then, two days ago or so, the car started stalling for a split second and starting again (since I wouldn't have time to take it out of gear) every time i hit a bump, and went into limp mode (only boosting to 4psi).

As i got closer to home, it stopped stalling, so I figured I'd see what was up the next day. The next day, I take it for a short drive and it runs fine, and then it stalls/starts, and i get a CEL.

I check the CEL, and i got 1543 - Throttle Actuation Potentiometer - Signal too Low and 0604 - PCM RAM Memory - Fault. What the hell?! So I put in the encryption board and a spare chip that I know works, and it won't start (cranks forever).

Won't start with the stock jumper, of course, either.

So it won't start, ever. My OBDII code reader (auterra dyno-scan) can no longer connect to the vehicle. It doesn't show the CEL (but I didn't clear it). It's like my car's gone brain dead.

I'm screwed, aren't I.

Suggestions, things to try, and/or places to buy a frickin ecu for as little as possible would be just dandy. (or if anybody happens to be selling their k04 tuned ecu...?)

Thanks in advance. I'm going to go bang my head against a wall.

maxspeed
08-03-2007, 06:23 PM
once you get the dread PCM ram memory fault code its all over with, time for a new ecu, lucky for you pbox's are numerous and cheap.

daesharacor
08-03-2007, 06:32 PM
what is a pbox?

Audi91a4
08-03-2007, 06:43 PM
Its the ECU specific for a 98(and more years idk which ones though) 1.8tQM. Check the sticker on the top of the ECU. If it reads 8D0 907 557 P then i have an un-chipped ECU for you. Let me know if your interested

daesharacor
08-03-2007, 07:12 PM
the ecu i have says 557 N... but my original one might have said 557 P. what's the difference?

Burntaudi
08-03-2007, 08:37 PM
the ecu i have says 557 N... but my original one might have said 557 P. what's the difference?

Either will work. Mine says 557N but when I scan it shows that it's a 557P. After a little search looks like a 557 M box will also work.

grandmast
08-03-2007, 08:44 PM
off topic, but how much do the '01 A6 2.7T ECM/U's run? stock/oem that is.

daesharacor
08-03-2007, 09:41 PM
Thanks guys. I'm going to buy a stock 557P and hope AWE will chip it (if I send them the busted ecu w/chip attached to show that I'm not going to sell the busted one or something) for a reasonable price.... aytheory says that Mike at AWE will do this, I'm hoping they're cooperative (since I'll probably be buying a lot of stuff from them in the future).

Thanks guys.

DJmuggs
08-03-2007, 11:50 PM
jesus id kill myself,

good luck

daesharacor
08-04-2007, 06:57 AM
haha. it's only money, right?

and on top of it, my girlfriend's sister backed into my 04 R6 yesterday.

Not a good day.

Militant-Grunt
08-04-2007, 12:03 PM
Yeah your ECU is dieing, its only going to get worse, same exact thing happened to mine.