PDA

View Full Version : I don't know who tuned my car. [pics of ECU] Help Me.



Euro
08-03-2007, 01:10 PM
I bought the car, and it was already chipped. The PO didnt tell me it was tuned or that there was any thing done to it at all.

Blah blah blah long story short. I bought a Boost gauge and it turned out that I was boosting something like 18 PSI. [:D]

So yesterday I finally got around to looking inside my ECU for a sticker or something that would give away who has been in there.

I opened up my ECU and found the E-prom from who ever tuned it, but it just has a bunch of numbers on it...

Here is a picture I took. So you experts tell me whos chip this is. HELP. [hail]

http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l239/beemerbuyer/Audi/ECU1.jpg

dualaudi
08-03-2007, 01:16 PM
I've never seen that before. Nice!

maxspeed
08-03-2007, 01:28 PM
most likely a custom tune

jlien08
08-03-2007, 01:58 PM
I'd say it's a hell of a bonus, whoever did it!

mikeyvuitton
08-03-2007, 02:01 PM
i was happy when i got my audi opened up the box and saw this.
http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1341/877059806_f66bc5b5fc.jpg?v=0

DGAFxxx
08-03-2007, 02:06 PM
I know this is a dumb question... but where is the ECU located? I'm curious now and want to open up mine and take a gander.

mikeyvuitton
08-03-2007, 02:08 PM
open hood top right black box under the black plastic shield.

DGAFxxx
08-03-2007, 02:09 PM
open hood top right black box under the black plastic shield.

Thank you.

turboquattro
08-03-2007, 04:56 PM
I was curious about my ecu too. So I just went outside and found this

http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r74/dagrindkingss/P8020087.jpg

never heard of the tune before but hey its better than nothing!

Mystthebird
08-03-2007, 05:09 PM
tota audi performance http://www.tap1.com. My friend has that on his 1.8t. its a nice tune.

maxspeed
08-03-2007, 06:20 PM
I was curious about my ecu too. So I just went outside and found this

http://i141.photobucket.com/albums/r74/dagrindkingss/P8020087.jpg

never heard of the tune before but hey its better than nothing!

original owner chipped that ecu a looooong time ago lol

94jedi
08-03-2007, 06:25 PM
who knows bro, I had an APR ecu and a GIAC ecu that both had an AMD chip like that. neither of the two were labeled either. you're guess is as good as anyones.

Euro
08-03-2007, 06:30 PM
most likely a custom tune

Is that a guess? or do you know something that I dont?

I really need to know who has tuned it already, that way i can contact the same people for tuning w/ my GT2871R.
[confused]

What should I do?

maxspeed
08-03-2007, 06:50 PM
Is that a guess? or do you know something that I dont?

I really need to know who has tuned it already, that way i can contact the same people for tuning w/ my GT2871R.
[confused]

What should I do?

well that isnt what a tap chip looks like, it isnt what my giac chip looks like, it isnt what my dads apr chip looks like, and i dont know if revo makes chips for the ATW.
theres also rocketchip and mtm but i dont know what those look like, other than that it could be a custom tune i dont really know

dualaudi
08-03-2007, 07:42 PM
Is that a guess? or do you know something that I dont?

I really need to know who has tuned it already, that way i can contact the same people for tuning w/ my GT2871R.
[confused]

What should I do?

well, possible chance they don't have a tune for the GT2871R... might as well sell it so you can get the correct tune from a reputable chip provider.

Ldcfg
08-04-2007, 10:24 AM
its got an AMD logo on it lol! prolly something custom

SurferForever
08-04-2007, 11:06 AM
Could possibly be Dahlback. Never seen what my chip looks like but figure'd i'd throw it out there since nobody else has mentioned it

Euro
08-05-2007, 09:33 AM
its got an AMD logo on it lol! prolly something custom

where could something custom like that be made? Like with dyno time?

Burntaudi
08-05-2007, 09:54 AM
Not a GIAC chip. GIAC does use a AMD chip. But there's is mounted to a encryption board that is mounted to a socket. Looks nothing like what yours. Besides it would say GIAC all over it.

ILoveT
08-05-2007, 01:28 PM
I have the same chip as the OP. Mine says

B 58601M
9641CGM D
1993 AMD

Mine is not on an encryption board. I have a 1998 1.8TM :)

darth tater
08-05-2007, 01:53 PM
Its more then like a stock GIAC chip module, but that would not explain your boost.

Pull the chip off, carefully. and check the bottom. If the pins soldered to the ECU are square check the bottom of the borad with the achip for a little Giac copyright.

If the pins are round its could be upsolute or a few other random companies that used round pins and unencrypted sockets.

It could possibly also be a non switable APR chip, but I have never actually seen one only the emcs 1 and 2 boards. whoops nevermind had one on the desk.. If its soldered down and not on removeable pins chances are its a non switchable APR chip I'd have to guess..

Look between the ECM and the riser board and see if there is anything underneath like another chp covered in epoxy. If there is then thats probably an APR chip. If there isn't then its some cheezy tuner who doesn't even bother encrypting their files or a stock module from someone.

darth tater
08-05-2007, 01:54 PM
its got an AMD logo on it lol! prolly something custom


different AMD...

darth tater
08-05-2007, 01:55 PM
well that isnt what a tap chip looks like, it isnt what my giac chip looks like, it isnt what my dads apr chip looks like, and i dont know if revo makes chips for the ATW.
theres also rocketchip and mtm but i dont know what those look like, other than that it could be a custom tune i dont really know


REVO has software for the ATW but all of their software is flashed nothing they do is soldered int.

Euro
08-07-2007, 11:20 AM
Damn this blows.. I need to know.

I still dont know what im going to do for tuning and this isnt helping [:(]

fastbreak88
08-07-2007, 11:53 AM
-Wett

-Oettinger

-Nuespeed

-MTM

-Dahlback

-APR

-Giac

-Doritos

The World May Never Know

SeKKeY
08-07-2007, 12:02 PM
my apr chip in the b5 looked alot like that

darth tater
08-07-2007, 01:26 PM
Damn this blows.. I need to know.

I still dont know what im going to do for tuning and this isnt helping [:(]

put a mirror below the edge of the riser board and see if it says a name on it..

Sablea4
08-07-2007, 02:02 PM
i think my apr in my old a4 looked like that as well

Euro
08-10-2007, 09:28 PM
i think my apr in my old a4 looked like that as well

Yeah So I saw your post and thought to email APR...

this is what they told me.

Nick,
That is a stock chip resoldered to a board. It's not one of ours, I don't
think I've seen one like that.

Greg Custer
Sales / Dealer Representative
Event Team Manager
APR, LLC. Phone: (800)680-7921
1027-B Opelika Rd Tech: (334)502-5181
Auburn , Al 36830 Fax: (334)502-5180



-Now what?

mike-2ptzero
08-10-2007, 10:03 PM
Yeah So I saw your post and thought to email APR...

this is what they told me.

Nick,
That is a stock chip resoldered to a board. It's not one of ours, I don't
think I've seen one like that.

Greg Custer
Sales / Dealer Representative
Event Team Manager
APR, LLC. Phone: (800)680-7921
1027-B Opelika Rd Tech: (334)502-5181
Auburn , Al 36830 Fax: (334)502-5180



-Now what?



Well could just be a stock chip that has been reburned with another file. If it was a stock file you wouldnt be hitting 18psi, I say this because the ecu would close the throttle every time because of a boost deviation code would be thrown.

I wonder if it could just be a Neuspeed chip.

Euro
08-15-2007, 10:27 AM
Well could just be a stock chip that has been reburned with another file. If it was a stock file you wouldnt be hitting 18psi, I say this because the ecu would close the throttle every time because of a boost deviation code would be thrown.

I wonder if it could just be a Neuspeed chip.

good thinking...

im going to shoot them an email.

trademark
08-15-2007, 11:07 AM
it's not TAP because they use Texas instruments chips.

Euro
03-29-2008, 05:31 PM
so its been almost 6 months since Ive posted in this thread....and still not much of an up date.

but I did end up email Neuspeed and they said that it wasn't one of theirs.

I meet a guy at a GTG, he asked if it could have been an Ebay knock off chip. I was describing it to him and he said that it sounded like it could very well be from ebay, since it looks just like a stock chip that had been plugged in the stock ECU.

Have you guys ever heard of ebay DIY chips?

sean1.8t
03-29-2008, 05:53 PM
i have no answer for you. sorry. but..

what will it help if you do find out what tuner chipped it? cause any of the remaining chip tuners will not be able to tune for your BT. just call up Uni and get a new setup. it sucks, but that's probably your best bet

Stampy
03-29-2008, 05:57 PM
This is a good problem to have

Euro
03-29-2008, 06:00 PM
i have no answer for you. sorry. but..

what will it help if you do find out what tuner chipped it? cause any of the remaining chip tuners will not be able to tune for your BT. just call up Uni and get a new setup. it sucks, but that's probably your best bet

Thats exactly what im planning on doing.

I would still like to know, I absolutely hate not knowing who tuned it. And people ask me and when I tell them that I don' know, I look like the idiot. [rolleyes]

sean1.8t
03-29-2008, 07:42 PM
Thats exactly what im planning on doing.

I would still like to know, I absolutely hate not knowing who tuned it. And people ask me and when I tell them that I don' know, I look like the idiot. [rolleyes]

tell em it's an ubber secret 100% custom tunez! [:)]