PDA

View Full Version : Chippin'...



shtz821
06-13-2007, 06:49 PM
so im seriously lookin into chippin my 2000 a4 1.8t quattro but im lookin to go kinda cheap until i can get some serious dough for a better chip, however from what i understand chips have to be soldered onto the stock ecu chip, can i solder the chip in myself or would i have to send it into the company and have them do it, as well what is the best way to go cheap and easy, and what kinda prices am i lookin at, i've seen about 500 for a giac, is that expensive??

blackaudia4tk
06-13-2007, 06:52 PM
are u serious? read the sticky........ 500 for anything good why would ya want something cheap when it comes to the drive ability of ur car get apr or giac if u plan to go ko4

SoFresh
06-13-2007, 06:53 PM
wow......

sixfiveoh
06-13-2007, 06:58 PM
Don't cheap out bro, if you can't afford to do it right, you can't afford to do it. Nothings wrong with driving a stock a4 till you save up.

shtz821
06-13-2007, 07:05 PM
im not sure what the market value is for those chips that why im asking and i dont know what the advantages are of each chip

20A4Audi1.8t01
06-13-2007, 07:27 PM
you need to search man, these posts come up a lot!

shtz821
06-13-2007, 07:29 PM
so if i buy the giac chip is it neccesary to have it professionally installed or could i do it all myself?

Monchichi8
06-13-2007, 07:41 PM
so if i buy the giac chip is it neccesary to have it professionally installed or could i do it all myself?

its an upload through your VAG .you will need someone to do it. Get APR, Dalhback, GIAC, Revo, whatever is closest to where you live. ....search....

shtz821
06-13-2007, 07:44 PM
its an upload through your VAG .you will need someone to do it. Get APR, Dalhback, GIAC, Revo, whatever is closest to where you live. ....search....


i know of a dyno place close to my area do you think they'd install chips and tune them

brlukosk
06-13-2007, 08:02 PM
Call them and ask?

I think GIAC has a "locate a dealer" section on their site....

Check out the search buhten it is sofa king easy!

Calabria
06-13-2007, 08:41 PM
ive been stock for almost 4 months...just waiting for $ to come

speedydragon
06-13-2007, 10:24 PM
you don't have to solder it yourself, you can send your ecu to the company and they'll install it for you and send you back the ecu

UN-PIMP-Z-A4
06-14-2007, 06:05 AM
Buy a used chipped ecu...
Please search and stop with the frivilous questions...