PDA

View Full Version : Coilovers or Struts shocks/Springs combo?

SoFresh
06-13-2007, 06:49 PM
Whats better, I want to hear your opinions. On my previous B5 I had Bilstein Shocks/struts, with Neuspeed springs, car ran smoothly, not very bumpy at all. However, would you choose coilevers over this set up or not?

Wilco
06-13-2007, 06:57 PM
I'm no expert, but I don't think I've ever heard anyone recommend struts/shocks over coilovers. I've always heard the "do it right the first time, get coilovers" kind of thing. I suppose it depends on brands/quality though.

sixfiveoh
06-13-2007, 07:02 PM
On my previous 2 cars I just went straight to coilovers. I never even thought of the shock/spring idea. There was one exception to that, I think the only strut/"spring" setup I'd go would be Koni Yellow/GC Sleeve coilovers, which is essentially a coilover anyway. But I don't know if they make those for Audis, I'm a Honda guy :P

I just love the height adjustability factor, I guess. Plus it's one less step during the install process. I'm lazy like that haha.

a4fann
06-13-2007, 07:49 PM
H&R coils, do it.

brlukosk
06-13-2007, 07:50 PM
Depends on what you would use more..

I have coilovers, I set the ride height and left it. I would have been better off with a spring/shock combo, as they are basically the same thing without the adjustability. I am actually sourcing some bilstein shocks to pair with some vogtland springs I have lying around.

If your actually going to take the time (hours) to adjust ride height go for it, but most will say it takes just as long to swap out the whole suspension. Every time you change your ride height your messing with your alignment settings as well.