PDA

View Full Version : MSD ignition on AEB?



a220vt
06-12-2007, 07:04 AM
I'm just wondering if anyone has successfully used an MSD DIS-4 or other comparible CDI ignition box on an AEB engine in place of the stock ICM. I used one in conjunction with AEB coils on a standalone car, so it seems like it's possible. Any thoughts?

mike-2ptzero
06-12-2007, 07:14 AM
Not that I know of since they dont make a product for our cars so that the stock ecu controls it. You were able to do it on a stand alone because the stand alone is built to control it.

Lazer Viking
06-12-2007, 07:36 AM
isnt tom ritt ?

pac1085
06-12-2007, 07:40 AM
he has MSD coil packs with his standalone but isn't using an MSD box to drive them

a220vt
06-12-2007, 07:46 AM
It seems to me that the MSD box operates pretty much the same as the stock ICM though, the ECU gives a negative signal to the box which then tells the coils to fire. The only thing I had control over with the standalone was the dwell time, and whether it put out a negative, or positive signal (MSD requires a negative-fire system). I guess no one has tried it huh?

prodrive
06-12-2007, 08:20 AM
Not MSD but I will use CDI with my project soon ,I am drawing wiring harness on autocad now.I will directly connect the CDI to coils ,will se what happens :)

mike-2ptzero
06-12-2007, 08:22 AM
Not MSD but I will use CDI with my project soon ,I am drawing wiring harness on autocad now.I will directly connect the CDI to coils ,will se what happens :)

But your using a stand alone aren't you?

a220vt
06-12-2007, 08:45 AM
I sent an e-mail to MSD just for curiousity's sake, hopefully they'll write back to me. I know the MSD boxes can be used on plenty of other OEM ECU's, and both MSD and AEM advertise their CDI boxes as being compatible with OEM coil on plug ignitions.

prodrive
06-12-2007, 08:53 AM
But your using a stand alone aren't you?

Yep [:D]
buy I don't understand why he needs a MSD with stock ECU ?Bosch module is doing it's job well. If you are looking max.power use standalone + CDI !

A4Rob
06-12-2007, 09:23 AM
If you want, you can buy my 034 standalone and use MSD with it. Click the link in my sig

a220vt
06-12-2007, 09:40 AM
I'm not saying I need it, I was just curious. Stock ECU's are capable of making standalone levels of power now it seems (look at CTapp's A4, put down 570whp on a Bosch ECU). Why not explore upgraded ignition options? I don't want to mess with standalone again, especially not on my daily driver.

a220vt
06-12-2007, 09:53 AM
Either way, it's still a lot of power for a non-standalone ECU. I'm just trying to think of ways to maximize the potential of a setup using a modified stock ECU, and also eliminate some small misfires that I've noticed under higher boost levels.