PDA

View Full Version : Need help with brakes

suju82
06-02-2007, 04:23 PM
Hi there. I'm new to audizine and also a new audi owner. I've had my 1999.5 a4 for about four months now. it has a k04 plus chip with a downpipe back 2.5 inch exhaust with a drop in k&n and using the audi tt dv. i'm at about 148,000km now and my passenger rear caliper was leaking and the rotors and pads needed to be changed anyways so i replaced both rear caliper, rotors, and pads today. i had some friends who were suppose to come help me bleed the brakes today but they bailed and i had to get my sister to pump the brakes for me. i read the write up on audiworld on how to bleed the brakes everything is on good except the brake feels really loose and my hand brake use to pull about eight clicks and now it pulls about sixteen clicks. I know i didn't bleed the brakes properly so wondering if anyone can help me. should the master cylinder me open or close?(i had it filled a bit past the max line) i'm using a vinly tube on the bleeder so i can see bubbles coming out(when i bleed with my sister pumping the brakes i only got a little bit of bubble not much). i had the other end of the tube below the fluid level inside the brake fluid bottle.
how many times should you pump the brake brefore it feels stiff enough to open the bleeder valve?
should the helper keep pushing the pedal down (not pump but follow through once it's stiff) when i release the bleeder valve?
Thank you all in advance.[:)]

suju82
06-02-2007, 04:26 PM
help please........

onemoremile
06-02-2007, 07:31 PM
http://www.audiworld.com/tech/wheel139.shtml

suju82
06-02-2007, 07:38 PM
That is what i was going by today and it didn't help much.[:(] And i don't think you're suppose to pump the brakes with the bleeder valve open.

Davect06607
06-03-2007, 05:35 AM