PDA

View Full Version : HELP,Control Arm Snapped!!!



AUD-A4
05-12-2007, 06:37 AM
hey guys,i was ready to leave my house this morning to go to hot import nights and then all of a sudden my F$%$#^ upper control arm snapped,i got it replaced like 6months ago at a local garage and i went there last fri due to it being squecky and going bad. so i figured it was ok for me to drive around since it showed no signs of letting up on me. well,im pulling out of my drive way and boom,the thing snapped.i'm going to get a jackstand up on it,and let it sit.b/c im not paying for another one,im going to get it towed which where my question arises. how are they going to get this thing on a flatbed,is it drivable? which from the looks like its not. here are some pics i took
http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/12900car_problems_057-med.JPG
http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/12900car_problems_055-med.JPG
http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/12900car_problems_054-med.JPG
http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/12900car_problems_053-med.JPG
http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/12900car_problems_056-med.JPG

so what do guys thing should be my next step?

97audia4
05-12-2007, 06:47 AM
This is only the second time i have seen this happen, what suspention do you have? They are going to have to use the tow hook in the front and pull it up the flatbed

AUD-A4
05-12-2007, 07:00 AM
i have the non-sport suspension.

97audia4
05-12-2007, 07:26 AM
check an make sure that its been like 6 months that you say im almost sure there is a 6 month warrentee on those control arms for 6 months

Hootie
05-12-2007, 07:37 AM
Depends on what kit you got. Did you replace all of them? The kit that I just purchased comes with a year warrenty...so Im guessing at most come with at least six months

audinutt
05-12-2007, 08:20 AM
If you haven't had the lowers change you are SOL the uppers look completely different.

Good luck,

-richard

Mawhitey
05-12-2007, 08:47 AM
What did the garage say when u went there on friday with the squeeky arms?
Asuming it was the same one that did the job before

onemoremile
05-12-2007, 09:04 AM
That is a lower control arm not an upper.

Mawhitey
05-12-2007, 09:09 AM
Thats true, even worse then as thats the ones that got replaced before,should be a warrenty job IMO

bOOOOstedAudi
05-12-2007, 09:16 AM
If You Need A New One Pm Me. Mine Have 1 Year Warranty

Militant-Grunt
05-12-2007, 09:19 AM
That is a lower control arm not an upper.

Yup thats a lower. Be glad it didnt happen while you were going at highway speed because that wouldn't be fun. A new lower control arm is about 100 bucks.

bOOOOstedAudi
05-12-2007, 09:21 AM
yeah 100 before shipping but i got them for 100 shipped

snoop
05-12-2007, 10:34 AM
holy shit. thats really not good. makes you wonder about the quality if its only 6month old.

ProOnThaSnow
05-12-2007, 10:44 AM
wow - I am definitely buying a quality brand then when I do mine. Anyone had problems with the PAP-Part.com ones?

bOOOOstedAudi
05-12-2007, 03:04 PM
wow - I am definitely buying a quality brand then when I do mine. Anyone had problems with the PAP-Part.com ones?

are you totally just over looking everything i say

ibew5audi
05-12-2007, 04:27 PM
Def. buy a kit and do it yourself it is easy. No it is not driveable. Can't believe you asked. Why buy one if that happened? Get Meyle hd. I have almost 100k on them.

AUD-A4
05-12-2007, 11:40 PM
thanx alot for the info guys. it has deff. been a year and it came strait from germany as i was told. both lower and upper arms were replaced. when i went to the shop fri. he said bring it in on monday and they'll check it out. so i guess we'll have to wait and see what happens.if he charges me,im not gonna do it. ill deff. be pming you boostedaudi!!!thanx in advance, and ill keep all you guys posted.

AUD-A4
05-13-2007, 12:31 AM
by the way,im pretty sure its my upper control arm since the suspension is bolted up to it,but i could be wrong. i need to get a better look b/c i was very frustrated and in a rush.

Bic-Ball
05-13-2007, 01:51 AM
same thing happened to me:

http://www.zeroproof.com/bicball/controlarm.jpg
http://www.zeroproof.com/bicball/031207_15381.jpg
http://www.zeroproof.com/bicball/031207_15351.jpg

you can get it on a flatbed by dragging it from the pull hook (behind passenger foglight). the wheel still rotates, it just drags against the wheel well, not a big deal. just make sure that the axel is inside the transmission before you start spinning it and while the car is rolling keepthe wheel straight by hand.

AUD-A4
05-13-2007, 07:45 AM
same thing happened to me:

http://www.zeroproof.com/bicball/controlarm.jpg
http://www.zeroproof.com/bicball/031207_15381.jpg
http://www.zeroproof.com/bicball/031207_15351.jpg

you can get it on a flatbed by dragging it from the pull hook (behind passenger foglight). the wheel still rotates, it just drags against the wheel well, not a big deal. just make sure that the axel is inside the transmission before you start spinning it and while the car is rolling keepthe wheel straight by hand.

ok ill deffinetly do that,thanks for the tip!!!