PDA

View Full Version : 2871r wheel into...



UN-PIMP-Z-A4
05-11-2007, 01:09 PM
Can a 2871r internal be fitted into a gt28r housing? or will it not be beneficial because the housing will choke it and restrict spoolup & max power?

The reason i ask because if i do get an itch to go faster i wouldn't want to have to buy a new manifold and turbo inlet pipe to fit a new 2871r turbo in my car. I would just want to upgrade the turbo internals so i can use all of my existing hardware...

BranCKY3
05-11-2007, 01:28 PM
Yes it can fit, the elim 71r is in a 28r housing. youll need to get it machined though.

UN-PIMP-Z-A4
05-11-2007, 01:35 PM
wouldn't it need to be machined if I installed to the 28rs wheel?

gotaudi
05-12-2007, 04:51 PM
yes the 28rs wheel is larger than the 28r wheel....

UN-PIMP-Z-A4
05-13-2007, 06:53 PM
I know that but, my problem is when i want to upgrade i dont want to change hardware again...

gotaudi
05-13-2007, 06:57 PM
I think it will be a pain to change the wheel, you have to get it all balanced plus machine the housing.... you could always but just the wheel and the cold side housing of the housing from a GT2871r, I am pretty sure ATP will sell you all that.

UN-PIMP-Z-A4
05-14-2007, 11:42 AM
i'm gonna chat with my tuner when i cross this bridge...

onemoremile
05-14-2007, 04:09 PM
Just buy the whole turbo and resell your old one.

k0mpresd
05-14-2007, 04:19 PM
Can a 2871r internal be fitted into a gt28r housing? or will it not be beneficial because the housing will choke it and restrict spoolup & max power?

The reason i ask because if i do get an itch to go faster i wouldn't want to have to buy a new manifold and turbo inlet pipe to fit a new 2871r turbo in my car. I would just want to upgrade the turbo internals so i can use all of my existing hardware...
my buddy has a 2871 in a 28r housing

brand new in the box from garrett

hes looking to sell it ;)

mike-2ptzero
05-14-2007, 05:48 PM
my buddy has a 2871 in a 28r housing

brand new in the box from garrett

hes looking to sell it ;)

What is the point? Only way the compressor inlet blades would fit is if they were cut down so at that point it really isn't a 2871r wheel anymore.

k0mpresd
05-14-2007, 10:34 PM
http://www.turbobygarrett.com/turbobygarrett/catelog/Turbochargers/GT28/GT2871R_472560_15.htm

minus the w/g of course ;)

the outlet is diff though :(

UN-PIMP-Z-A4
05-15-2007, 01:13 PM
Just buy the whole turbo and resell your old one.

I thought that the flange was a t3 and the inlet was larger causing me to buy a new TIP and new manifold. Then i have to worry about my shotgun testpie not being able to mount with it in it's new location...

UN-PIMP-Z-A4
05-15-2007, 01:14 PM
Ian:
I'm not ready to by as yet just wondering.
I haven't seen what this lil turbo can do as yet...

mike-2ptzero
05-15-2007, 03:07 PM
I thought that the flange was a t3 and the inlet was larger causing me to buy a new TIP and new manifold. Then i have to worry about my shotgun testpie not being able to mount with it in it's new location...

Only the full GT28rs and GT2871r use a full 3" velocity inlet which would mean you would have to use a 3" TIP. Both of those still use a 25 exhaust housing flange so you could still use it on the manifold you have now. Some people do offer a option of having a T3 flange for that turbo, same goes with a GT30 which some people have an otion of getting it with a GT25 flange.

UN-PIMP-Z-A4
05-15-2007, 04:11 PM
Mike:
I wasn't looking to get a eliminator. I was looking for a full turbo just utilizing my manifold and inlet pipe. I didn't know they had the 2871r with the t25 flange. just changing the tip wouldn't be that bad... hmm...

Clay @ Kinetic
05-16-2007, 11:57 PM
You can put a GT2871R cartridge into a GT28R compressor housing, APR has done it before, and so have others, its just a matter of machining the correct profile for the compressor wheel into the housing and then re-assembling.

We have done that at the shop before, its not rocket science, but you'll want to have a good machinist do it for you. Exducer on at GT28RS is 60mm, 2871R has 71mm.

If you have any questions feel free to email me

clay.marshall@kineticmotorsport.com

UN-PIMP-Z-A4
05-17-2007, 06:46 AM
Thanks

dubiraq05
05-21-2007, 10:04 AM
Only the full GT28rs and GT2871r use a full 3" velocity inlet which would mean you would have to use a 3" TIP. Both of those still use a 25 exhaust housing flange so you could still use it on the manifold you have now. Some people do offer a option of having a T3 flange for that turbo, same goes with a GT30 which some people have an otion of getting it with a GT25 flange.

my eliminator 2871 has the 3 inch inlet like the ones of 240's and shit, not the normal audi/vw bolt on inlet is that a velocity inlet?

mike-2ptzero
05-21-2007, 06:34 PM
my eliminator 2871 has the 3 inch inlet like the ones of 240's and shit, not the normal audi/vw bolt on inlet is that a velocity inlet?

Are you talking about the actual housing or the inlet you bolt to the front of the housing?

dubiraq05
05-21-2007, 07:24 PM
Are you talking about the actual housing or the inlet you bolt to the front of the housing?

its the housing there is nothing to bolt on its just 3 inch

mike-2ptzero
05-21-2007, 08:13 PM
its the housing there is nothing to bolt on its just 3 inch

Thats cool. They must have the full GT2871r compressor housing on your Elim.

bitterchild
05-21-2007, 08:34 PM
it's called an e cover as opposed to the t25 2bolt. z you can drop in a different turbo as is but you've got other areas to prepare before such a change would be properly utilized.

dubiraq05
05-22-2007, 05:30 AM
Thats cool. They must have the full GT2871r compressor housing on your Elim.

yeah when i ordered it atp said it was the second one they sold. i wish i wouldnt have got it cause i had to make a tip.

mike-2ptzero
05-22-2007, 06:14 AM
yeah when i ordered it atp said it was the second one they sold. i wish i wouldnt have got it cause i had to make a tip.

you would have had to make one anyway seeing that you are using a ford 4" maf. The 3" was the wise choice, only thing better would be a turbo with a 4" inlet.