PDA

View Full Version : Need photo of 2.8 30v A4 Throttle Body



RudeMood
05-01-2007, 05:19 PM
I need some images of a 2.8 30v Throttle Body. I have some questions regarding what I purchased.

part # listed on the TB I bought is 078-133-063-AP

VDO Throttle Body off a 2.8 30v A6 for 100 bucks.

The image of the one I assumed I should get is here:

http://img.eautopartscatalog.com/live/C700084800VDO.JPG

This is what I recieved. It looks exactly the same, except for two extra nipples coming out from the bottom that seem to lead nowhere.

http://www.bordumb.com/sg/albums/random/IMG_0648.jpg
http://www.bordumb.com/sg/albums/random/IMG_0649.jpg
http://www.bordumb.com/sg/albums/random/IMG_0650.jpg
http://www.bordumb.com/sg/albums/random/IMG_0651.jpg
http://www.bordumb.com/sg/albums/random/IMG_0652.jpg

RudeMood
05-02-2007, 08:23 AM
OKay well, whatever. Apparently I bought the wrong one anyway. not even a dealership can give me a fucking answer.

I'm going to drive this supercharged pile of shit off of a cliff.

coyote24mn
05-02-2007, 10:02 AM
I'm going to drive this supercharged pile of shit off of a cliff.

oh, come on now. sure it may be a pain in the ass but at least it's unique.

mike-2ptzero
05-02-2007, 10:16 AM
The 2 extra nipples most likely are just for vacuum to control something. You could just put plugs on them and try out the throttle body. I mean the part # is right and that is what you ordered?

AudiSeefu
05-02-2007, 10:56 AM
Let me check because I think I have a spare throttle body I picked up. I will have to find it but it was to replace mine on my 98 2.8 a4. Pm me if you are interested and I will look for it.

audispeed
05-02-2007, 11:36 AM
fittings are probably for the coolant hoses that currently run underneath your throttle body.

RudeMood
05-02-2007, 01:08 PM
I checked out my TB a little more in depth today, and I don't have any of these mysterious connections on my current TB.

I just bought a new TB specifically for my application today from drivewire.com and next-day'ed it. $320 bucks or so.

They were really helpful and they knew more than the dealer did in regards to what was needed for my car.

Here is the low down - My TB is dying. At first I thought it was my MAF, but then I began receiving loads of throttle body related error codes.

17953 - Throttle Valve Controller Malfunction
17972 - Throttle Actuator - Under Voltage
17973 - Throttle Actuator - Lower stop not reached
XXXXX - Under Voltage During Basic Setting

And so on...

I did a TBA about 5 times. The car first started running like ass last week monday. by wednesday, it was suddenly fine after I started beating the crap out of it. The Error codes were coming up as the throttle valve not reacing its lower stop, etc. It eventually just went normal again. Then it happened again this week and it's been this way for a few days now. Hardly driveable. The wiring and everything is fine. Connections are mint.


TV angles at idle AFTER a TBA is at 6.1* (Vag-com says it should be below 5*)
Voltages are 4.308 and 3.5 at idle

I also have Load Calculation Cross Check - implausable value error immediately after resetting the system and doing a TBA last night.


So I checked out the TB that is currently on the car and it doesn't even have a part number on it. The Audi dealership couldn't even tell me what TB I needed based off my AHA code or my VIN. They are morons and I hate them.

So I called driveline. Ordered a brand new TB and will install it tomorrow night.

What's irritating me most of all is that it is finals week and I work 40 hours on top of a full load of college work.

So that's what has been going on.

ProOnThaSnow
05-02-2007, 02:24 PM
Hmmm, you could always just sell me the PES S/C Cheap [:)]

RudeMood
05-03-2007, 07:56 AM
Receieved my brand new TB today. It's exactly what I need. Night and day difference. The new one does not have those extra connections on the bottom of the TB.

I hope this fixes everything.

RudeMood
05-03-2007, 06:58 PM
UPDATE!!!!

Installed my new throttle body from drivewire.com, reset the ECU and did a TBA and the car runs better than EVER now.
I am willing to bet almost every problem I have had before sans the coolant temp sensor, was due to the old intermittent throttle body.