PDA

View Full Version : misfiring under load with new fmic?



AudiSport12
04-20-2007, 10:21 PM
just got back from a test drive with my custom fmic from cxracing.com and noticed during high boost i get a single misfire or sounds like backfire whenever i go WOT. it never did this before the fmic and i dont know what it could be. No CEL either. what could make it misfire like that?

i havent changed the plugs for about 9-12 months and to be honest i dont know what kind they are.

any ideas?

Euro-Tuner
04-21-2007, 07:06 AM
I'd start by changing the plugs, for some reason everytime someone does something new to their car and it misfires, its the plugs...it seems like a huge coincidence (sp) everytime....but its prolly that

AudiRacerS4
04-21-2007, 08:18 AM
I'd start by changing the plugs, for some reason everytime someone does something new to their car and it misfires, its the plugs...it seems like a huge coincidence (sp) everytime....but its prolly that

i noticed that too, same thing with me I fix a leak or something and the god damn thing misfires...[wrench]

creechsa4
04-21-2007, 08:34 AM
definitely check the gaps on your plugs if they're still in good condition. your running a cooler charge so it may be blowin out your spark. even with new ngk bk7re's i have to run a .025 gap, or i'll get misfires galore on my 2871. i remember running small gaps .028 on my k04 pc 16 setup too.

mike-2ptzero
04-21-2007, 09:29 AM
How big is the fmic you put on?

AudiSport12
04-21-2007, 02:08 PM
ill pick up a set of plugs. what should i run? ngk bk6re's of bk7re's? or another brand?

27x6x2.5, 2.5 in/outlet, 2.5" thick core

mike-2ptzero
04-21-2007, 03:57 PM
ill pick up a set of plugs. what should i run? ngk bk6re's of bk7re's? or another brand?

27x6x2.5, 2.5 in/outlet, 2.5" thick core

Have you done any logs of block 020 after installing the fmic? Problem could be that your not running enough timing for the much cooler IAT's.

AudiSport12
07-04-2007, 04:35 PM
I finally changed the plugs to some ngk bkr6e's and it still misfires under heavy boost. i cant think of anything else other than possibly a coil going bad? ive already had to change one coil so far because it went bad. any ideas before i try finding the shitty coilpack? and how do i find a bad coil? im at school and dont have any tools other than the common stuff.

its been doing this since 4/20

TQMB5
07-04-2007, 04:42 PM
do you have a vag?, see if it tels a cylinder misfire, if so, swap coilpacks from cylinder to cylinder and see if the misfire follows

AudiSport12
07-04-2007, 04:52 PM
ive got a vag but its at home on a seperate laptop. can you put vagcom on a vista?

AudiRacerS4
07-04-2007, 05:10 PM
yeah i have my vagcom on vista