PDA

View Full Version : Apparent limp mode ????

Audihrr
04-20-2007, 11:33 AM
Hey Audi enthusiasts, I am relatively new to the wonderful and expensive world of owning an Audi. I have a 2000 A4 1.8t tiptronic. I have had the computer flashed, by a local guy here in Portland area and I am not sure of the software he used. The comopany is callled inmotionusa.
Anyway when I got theecu back and installed it, the car ran like a raped ape. I couldn't believe it. It made me feel like I was driving a bicycle down the street before.
Well that lasted for about two weeks then I noticed the power was gone and couldn't for the life of me figure out how to get it back. I tried installing a AFR, there is a K&N drop in filter, I installled a new MAF, there is new plugs in it, and so on.
I am basically stilll running everything stock due to the newness of ownership so It is still a SMIC and stock piping.
It also seems to be in a hard lkimp mode when in D or 4 gear. But when in tip mode it seems to pulll itself ouyt of it and run decent. Nowhere like it should but bettert.
Does anybody have any suggestions or answers for me? I have reset the ecu and it seeems to help for a minute then back to shit. [headbang]

Oricle
04-20-2007, 12:12 PM
Give him a call and see if he can meet you and clear your codes. You may be in hard limp? Do you have a boost gauge?

Audihrr
04-20-2007, 12:27 PM
No I do not have a boost guage and I know I need to get one which will be completed by teh end of the weekend. When it goes into hard limp mode do you simply undo the battery cable for a period of time or do you actually unplufg the ecu? Is it good to do it often or is it potentially harmful because obviously there is an issue arising to cause it to go into that mode?

Oricle
04-20-2007, 04:14 PM