PDA

View Full Version : k04 software issues



pearl1.8T
04-19-2007, 02:05 PM
I'm currently running apr 1bar software along with stock programming. My stock turbo has been dead for quite some time now, and I'm finally getting around to fixing all the crap that's been falling off my car. I just bought a k04 because it was cheaper, and I've been told that my car will run fine without any specific software for the k04 (although I won't get the full potential from the k04).

I've heard different things from different shops. One shop(giac dealer) said, if i just bolt on the k04, my car will run fine, but I just wont get the full potential of the k04 (which is fine, I just want my car to run properly). Another shop (apr dealer), said if I bolt on the k04 it will run like garbage with stock programming, and it will run better with my 1bar programming, but I would need specific software for a k04-15. Anyone have any experience with this? I'm not really interested in getting new software and upgrading my injectors and yada yada yada, i just want my car to run, as its already a piece of trash.

Oricle
04-19-2007, 02:18 PM
You'll be fine bolting on a k04 with k03 programming. You can get it tweaked to run optimal with the APR 91, but as is with the 1 bar program you'll be fine.

superman_006
04-19-2007, 02:19 PM
The K04 has a diffrent compressor map than the K03, your K04 will run with K03 programing becasue they are simular. However like you have already gathered you will not be getting the full potential of the K04

B5-B_Broke
04-19-2007, 02:24 PM
yup just bolt it on and go. but that is a waste of a massive potential. of 25-28 psi compared to the stock 8 psi however since the k04 flows more air it might feel a little better than stock.

Oricle
04-19-2007, 02:45 PM
yup just bolt it on and go. but that is a waste of a massive potential. of 25-28 psi compared to the stock 8 psi however since the k04 flows more air it might feel a little better than stock.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't the wastegate PSI different? I think the k03 is 4 PSI and the k04 is 8 PSI, meaning that he will be getting ~18 PSI?

superman_006
04-19-2007, 04:36 PM
I am not 100% sure about the K04 wastegate accuator but I know the K03 accuator is a 5psi spring and the stock boost is regulated at a little more than 8psi (accual .6bar) by pulseing the N75 valve. However he has a 1bar (14.7psi) program so if the K04 also has the 5psi spring in it (I belive that it does), he will be still running 1 bar of boost. I wouldnt run more than 20psi on stock internals with any of the turbo's

B5-B_Broke
04-19-2007, 04:39 PM
I am not 100% sure about the K04 wastegate accuator but I know the K03 accuator is a 5psi spring and the stock boost is regulated at a little more than 8psi (accual .6bar) by pulseing the N75 valve. However he has a 1bar (14.7psi) program so if the K04 also has the 5psi spring in it (I belive that it does), he will be still running 1 bar of boost. I wouldnt run more than 20psi on stock internals with any of the turbo's
by stock internals do you mean pistons and whatever else.?

bandit
04-19-2007, 05:58 PM
dont listen to apr ever

pearl1.8T
04-20-2007, 09:27 AM
ah, nice thanks guys. That helps a lot.

A4Andrew
04-20-2007, 10:58 AM
I've also heard somebody blew his engine running a ko4 on ko3 program. Basicly the ko4 flows more air than the ko3 thus leaning out a bit and over a long period it blew up.

MultiAudis
04-20-2007, 11:15 AM
^^^That has happened before. It will lean out a little with k03 sw

superman_006
04-20-2007, 03:28 PM
by stock internals do you mean pistons and whatever else.?

Rods, pistons, head bolts..everything elso will hold pretty good al least with smaller turbos, remember they designed this engine to hold a boost of 8psi, not 30psi

mike-2ptzero
04-20-2007, 05:28 PM
I am not 100% sure about the K04 wastegate accuator but I know the K03 accuator is a 5psi spring and the stock boost is regulated at a little more than 8psi (accual .6bar) by pulseing the N75 valve. However he has a 1bar (14.7psi) program so if the K04 also has the 5psi spring in it (I belive that it does), he will be still running 1 bar of boost. I wouldnt run more than 20psi on stock internals with any of the turbo's

The K04-15 has a different wg actuator, this means that the K04 willl make a bit more boost using a K03 chip vs a K03 turbo.

Example
My custom GIAC k03 chip made 24psi with a K03 but when used with a K04 it made 28psi. This became the J31 chip with some tweaking for the slightly lower IAT's from the K03.


superman_006 :
Dont really need to upgrade the head bolts, even I run stock head bolts without a problem pushing 32psi.

superman_006
04-20-2007, 09:09 PM
I was told (may or may not be correct) that the upgraded headbolts is something you may want, when I was told it had more to do with thermal expansion than anything and of course the rods and pistons are a must if your running 32?. Just for refrence (and so I will know) was the spring rating on the K04?

Oricle
04-21-2007, 05:18 AM
The K04-15 has a different wg actuator, this means that the K04 willl make a bit more boost using a K03 chip vs a K03 turbo.

Example
My custom GIAC k03 chip made 24psi with a K03 but when used with a K04 it made 28psi. This became the J31 chip with some tweaking for the slightly lower IAT's from the K03.


superman_006 :
Dont really need to upgrade the head bolts, even I run stock head bolts without a problem pushing 32psi.

Really?
I've been told by people to always upgrade to ARP head bolts(or a similar) when going to higher levels.

mike-2ptzero
04-21-2007, 07:19 AM
Really?
I've been told by people to always upgrade to ARP head bolts(or a similar) when going to higher levels.

Not sure who you have been talking too, because ARP does not make head bolts for our 1.8 engine. Only Raceware makes a head bolt kit for our car. In 7 years I have yet to see anyone have a issue with the stock head bolts or even a issue blowing head gaskets.

Oricle
04-21-2007, 08:44 AM
Not sure who you have been talking too, because ARP does not make head bolts for our 1.8 engine. Only Raceware makes a head bolt kit for our car. In 7 years I have yet to see anyone have a issue with the stock head bolts or even a issue blowing head gaskets.

I was just using ARP as an example.

superman_006
04-21-2007, 08:47 AM
I wouldnt know, I am only running a GT2X on 20psi[cool] So I am sure that I dont have to upgrade my motor.

None the less, everyone agrees here that you shouldnt run be running more than 20psi on stock internals (rods and pistons)

superman_006
04-21-2007, 08:54 AM
http://www.eiptuning.com/eip/enginehardware.html

mike-2ptzero
04-21-2007, 09:16 AM
http://www.eiptuning.com/eip/enginehardware.html

Only Raceware for the longitude engine, ARP makes them for a few of the transvers engines.


From ARP site, no Audi listing but they do have a few listed for VW
http://www.arp-bolts.com/Catalog/Catalog.JPG/ARPCatalog_0073.jpg


From what I can remember, the problem was that they did not have a nut that would fit into the head.

Oricle
04-21-2007, 01:13 PM
I wouldnt know, I am only running a GT2X on 20psi[cool] So I am sure that I dont have to upgrade my motor.

None the less, everyone agrees here that you shouldnt run be running more than 20psi on stock internals (rods and pistons)

after that 3" inlet I'm boosting to 24 PSI on my GTRS.

mike-2ptzero
04-21-2007, 01:33 PM
I wouldnt know, I am only running a GT2X on 20psi[cool] So I am sure that I dont have to upgrade my motor.

None the less, everyone agrees here that you shouldnt run be running more than 20psi on stock internals (rods and pistons)

Well you can run more then 20psi with the stock rods/pistons, but a bad tune can be a problem for them.

The stock rods/pistons will only be good for so much tq/hp and that could mean less then 20psi or more then 20psi, just depends on what turbo setup you are running.

Trying to make 350whp with them is just pushing your luck, which is why it is a wise ideal to upgrade them at that point or look forward to buying a new block when a rod decides to vacate the block in a hurry.

Oricle
04-21-2007, 01:58 PM
Well you can run more then 20psi with the stock rods/pistons, but a bad tune can be a problem for them.

The stock rods/pistons will only be good for so much tq/hp and that could mean less then 20psi or more then 20psi, just depends on what turbo setup you are running.

Trying to make 350whp with them is just pushing your luck, which is why it is a wise ideal to upgrade them at that point or look forward to buying a new block when a rod decides to vacate the block in a hurry.

Any news on your cams or anything yet?
I've been thinking about buying that stroker kit in the FS section. I don't know if I want to go and drop that much money ATM. Getting killed by that mustang really made me think.

mike-2ptzero
04-21-2007, 03:53 PM
Any news on your cams or anything yet?
I've been thinking about buying that stroker kit in the FS section. I don't know if I want to go and drop that much money ATM. Getting killed by that mustang really made me think.

Well I am going to wait till after my car is done being tuned before I upgrade to some larger cat cams.