PDA

View Full Version : quick question



turboquattro068
04-15-2007, 12:59 PM
Has anyone tried to put allen bolts into the turbo housing/downpipe. I think it would leave me with more room to tighten, i discovered today that my bottom stud and nut were missing!! great huh.....i knew she sounded a little funny lately. I'm ready to order it but im not sure is it a 10mm??? probalby order from atp, hopefully they send me the right shit this time!!! thanks mainly need to know if its 10mm, i thought it was m10?

superman_006
04-15-2007, 01:43 PM
OEM studs are 10MMX1.5X37, I took a 17mm wrench and made it like a starter wrench so, it was not bad to get to but the Allen bolt would probably be even better

Oricle
04-15-2007, 01:59 PM
I didn't have any problem. Went to napa, got a 17mm swivel socket and got that ****** tight.

turboquattro068
04-15-2007, 03:40 PM
yeah ive done it many of times, im just saying wouldn't it seem alot easier!

superman_006
04-15-2007, 03:49 PM
I would think it would help, it seems like on the 3" the nuts are too close to the pipe

mike-2ptzero
04-15-2007, 03:49 PM
yeah ive done it many of times, im just saying wouldn't it seem alot easier!

Do you have a picture of where the bolts go? For my turbo I only use ARP bolts and tq them all exactly the same right around 40lbs.