PDA

View Full Version : What a Nigthmare



Nass
04-08-2007, 08:49 PM
Can someone please help me decide whats the best ecu upgrade? A4 2000 1.8t manual[confused]

4ringAR
04-08-2007, 08:53 PM
what a nightmare? huh?

the most popular ecu upgrades are either GIAC or APR. people usually say just choose the one that has the nearest dealership to you because they are said to be pretty similar.

speedydragon
04-08-2007, 08:59 PM
if you're gonna decide to move on to the ko4 turbo later on, go wtih Giac. If you just want a lil bang outta your ko3 and not a larger turbo, go with apr.

maxspeed
04-08-2007, 09:09 PM
ive driven giac and apr, and id say giac definatley pulls harder on similarly modded setups

TQMB5
04-08-2007, 09:21 PM
mine that i have for sale and a k04

geeboyjibber
04-08-2007, 10:16 PM
Giac Ftw.

Ado
04-08-2007, 10:51 PM
ive driven giac and apr, and id say giac definatley pulls harder on similarly modded setups

x2.
i have had both of the ecu's an now i'm running a giac and love it. it dose pull a bit harder and gives you also bit of more boost

Tiluleshpingen
04-08-2007, 11:25 PM
GIAC lol x10 cuz i have thats right

o0o0
04-09-2007, 09:29 AM
I have the Dahlback flash.. This one is more aggressive than the Revo

ShawFM
04-09-2007, 05:37 PM
I like the MTM, and there is an upgrade path with them.

mike-2ptzero
04-09-2007, 05:42 PM
Back in 2000 when I had my k03 I did a test of the APR chip I had vs a standard GIAC chip and was able to drop .3 seconds off my 1/4 mile time with the GIAC chip. Both were tested back to back at the track on the same day.

maxspeed
04-09-2007, 06:18 PM
la de da de da sell me m31 la de da...

mike-2ptzero
04-09-2007, 06:37 PM
la de da de da sell me m31 la de da...

If I still had the M31 I would since I could use the money for my engine rebuild, but I only have the R31 chip which is the race chip that ran 14.29

pipe7284
04-09-2007, 07:32 PM
la de da de da sell me m31 la de da...


hahahahhaa.....[:D] [:D] [:D]

maxspeed
04-09-2007, 07:33 PM
:( no race gas within 100 miles for me

mike-2ptzero
04-09-2007, 07:48 PM
:( no race gas within 100 miles for me

Well if I had a chip burner I could always load the M31 file from my old lap top into it and burn off a chip. I made sure to upload the M31 and R31 chip into my old lap top while I had a chip burner from GIAC back when I was doing chip testing for the PES T28 kit.

magiccat
04-09-2007, 09:14 PM
Can giac flash the ecu or does it have to be socketed?

maxspeed
04-09-2007, 09:15 PM
Can giac flash the ecu or does it have to be socketed?

giac can be flashloaded, im not sure if this model year dependant however

pressure
04-09-2007, 10:14 PM
I have both - GIAC & APR - for my '00. IMO, the APR program provided more of a punch, but I believe that's due to it not being as smoooooth as GIAC. In the real world, they're nearly identical, numbers wise. APR will make you say "wow" & GIAC feels like Audi coulda' developed it.

APR chip for your exact car: http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=127034.

Oricle
04-09-2007, 11:01 PM
Inmotiontuning

Cheaper prices, and same quallity.

Euro-Tuner
04-10-2007, 04:38 AM
GUAC FTW...what dealer is closer to you?

mike-2ptzero
04-10-2007, 07:10 AM
I have both - GIAC & APR - for my '00. IMO, the APR program provided more of a punch, but I believe that's due to it not being as smoooooth as GIAC. In the real world, they're nearly identical, numbers wise. APR will make you say "wow" & GIAC feels like Audi coulda' developed it.

APR chip for your exact car: http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=127034.

That is weird, because nearly everyone that has had both say it is the other way around. This is usually because apr uses less adv timing which makes the chip feel smoother while giac is more aggressive so it has more of a kick.

magiccat
04-10-2007, 10:14 PM
+1
Why would he be selling the apr if it feels faster..?