PDA

View Full Version : Custom iPod Install This Weekend



jrodpikap
04-06-2007, 10:35 AM
I'm pretty excited about doing this install this weekend, IMO...it is the cleanest iPod install i've ever seen. Hopefully it will look as nice in my 00 A4 (center cnsole ashtray location). We'll see, i'll take pics and do my own write up if it works out.

Here's my inspiration:
http://www.audiforums.com/m_377137/mpage_1/key_/tm.htm#377137

[up]

badassb5
04-06-2007, 10:37 AM
I read that write-up a while ago. It looks hella clean. Look forward to seeing the pics.

Speckto
04-06-2007, 10:39 AM
Thats pretty cool... i just made a custom ipod and sirius install in my center air vent with a little switch to change from those two and the cdc ill post a thread when i get my car back

jrodpikap
04-06-2007, 10:41 AM
Sounds nice...I actually just got a Sirius Stilletto that i'll try and install this weekend as well. I'm not sure where I want to put it yet though...so much technology, so little space...

Speckto
04-06-2007, 10:43 AM
yea i got the smallest sirius (starbase i think) and my mount is really good with hiding wires and all that ... maybe a little bunched but i dont think so.... once again ill post on it when i get my car back from the autobody so i can give you an idea

a4cefed
04-06-2007, 10:48 AM
i made a custom mount in my glove box, ill post pics when i get home

EuroA4
04-06-2007, 11:09 AM
Thats pretty cool... i just made a custom ipod and sirius install in my center air vent with a little switch to change from those two and the cdc ill post a thread when i get my car back

Would love to know what you are using to switch between the sat. and the ipod.
I have a Pioneer XM unit that connects to the CDC, and I really want to add my ipod, but couldn't find a product that would switch the two inputs.

ny02s4
04-06-2007, 03:59 PM
check out: www.myradiostore.com

this is the adapter you will need (call them to before ordering to double check):
http://www.myradiostore.com/auxadapters/pie/factory/external-cd-changer/x3vwr.html

and this harness:

http://www.myradiostore.com/auxadapters/pie/accessories-cables/aa3-har.html

they sell an AUX adapter that allows you up to 4 inputs all while KEEPING the OEM cd changer functioning. I have it and it works great. Im running the Sirius Starbase in my ash tray, I-pod cable in the glove box and my OEM 6disc in the trunk. And all i did was mount the small aux selector box for the sources in my glove box to keep it out of site and the car still looks 100% stock on the inside.

Speckto
04-08-2007, 01:54 PM
Would love to know what you are using to switch between the sat. and the ipod.
I have a Pioneer XM unit that connects to the CDC, and I really want to add my ipod, but couldn't find a product that would switch the two inputs.

Im using the same thing that jrod just posted the switch is really small and fit in a useless space in my center console. The only problem with my mounting is that for some reason the Ipod attachment i used cant carry audio through the dock and has to be directly plugged into the bottom of the ipod

jrodpikap
04-08-2007, 02:01 PM
I started step one today and man was it a pain in the ass to work the bondo into the small spaces in my ashtray. I'm waiting for it to dry before sanding, filler primer & paint. Hopefully that'll work out and installation isn't a problem...i'll update if I make some progress.

Euro-Tuner
04-08-2007, 02:10 PM
post some progress pics!

jrodpikap
04-08-2007, 03:42 PM
1) I took the white iPod insert that comes with it and notched out the inside a little so the IceLink interface would fit right in. As you can tell I totally destroyed the IceLink cradle...down to the circuit board and plug:

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h97/jrodpikap/DSCF0290.jpg

2) Drilled a hole in the back of the ashtray so the plug can fit through:

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h97/jrodpikap/DSCF0298.jpg

3) Then drilled a similar hole in the back of the ashtray bracket still attached in the car...not sure if I can fit the plug through yet, but we'll see when I take the interior apart for the install:

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h97/jrodpikap/DSCF0305.jpg

4) Masked off the circuit board/wires with electrical tape and protected the capacitor a bit with a pen cap (ghetto):

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h97/jrodpikap/DSCF0301.jpg

5) Slapped a layer of bondo in the ashtray and placed the plug/insert in and put on another layer of bondo over top holding everything in place. (Sorry, couldn't take pics while I was messing with the bondo...I got it all over my hands):

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h97/jrodpikap/DSCF0304.jpg
http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h97/jrodpikap/DSCF0302.jpg

6) Next step rough sanding...updates soon!

Speckto
04-08-2007, 03:44 PM
http://inlinethumb54.webshots.com/5237/2048575020101048557S500x500Q85.jpg (http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2048575020101048557fmkLFo)

Both the Ipod dock and the sirius are mounted as one unit. It was built like this so that it could fit in the center vent with out drilling of any sort... (for potential selling value [=(] )

http://inlinethumb20.webshots.com/5203/2653786650101048557S500x500Q85.jpg (http://good-times.webshots.com/photo/2653786650101048557fUoNKd)

Thats the switch i was talking about... its out of the way yet easy to get to.

EDIT::: that wire in the second picture is extra... i forgot to mention all of this hides wires as well

Speckto
04-08-2007, 03:48 PM
That looks good J rod... do you think that will block the climate control buttons?

jrodpikap
04-08-2007, 05:58 PM
It probably will block some of them when the iPod is in...but it's for a nano, so it will be minimal...I can live with it I think.

jrodpikap
04-13-2007, 07:29 AM
Got some more done this week, slow and steady. Should be completing the install this weekend:

1) First pass sanding w/100 grit, then 300 grit wet sanding:
http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h97/jrodpikap/IMGP0396.jpg

2) Two coats of filler primer, followed by 300 grit sanding:
http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h97/jrodpikap/IMGP0398.jpg

3) Four coats of color (Brilliant Black to match the exterior):
http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h97/jrodpikap/IMGP0401.jpg

4) Four coats of clear, with wet sanding between the first two:
http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h97/jrodpikap/IMGP0403.jpg
http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h97/jrodpikap/IMGP0402.jpg

5) putting that bitch in tomorrow, hopefully it still works!

SurferForever
04-13-2007, 08:21 AM
looks like its goin very nice. how much you want to do one for me? :-)

jrodpikap
04-13-2007, 08:31 AM
I figured I would get that question sooner or later...let me install this guy and make sure it works the way I'm hoping and then i'll offer it up as a service...to everyone.

jrodpikap
04-14-2007, 07:41 PM
Got it in...and it works. The problem is that it sits 1/8" too high and 1/4" too deep. Time to start over. Anyone have a new ashtray?

"Measure twice...cut once"!

AudiA4Guy
04-18-2007, 10:06 AM
Got it in...and it works. The problem is that it sits 1/8" too high and 1/4" too deep. Time to start over. Anyone have a new ashtray?

"Measure twice...cut once"!

Post pics when you get it done! I'm thinking of doing something similar