PDA

View Full Version : GT2X Tunning?



superman_006
03-27-2007, 01:19 PM
I finally installed my GT2X turbo, test pipe and down pipe. I notice that the wastegate acuattor was super stiff compared to the K03, I couldnt move it by hand. When I test drove the car its got a whole lot more torque and it boosted to 1.78 bar (~26psi), then it goes into safe mode. I had a K03 file by InMotion Tuning for 1.3 bar, but I send the ECU to them again, I have a few programs with Vag-com suck as Lemniwinks, I also have 440cc injectors and a Adj FPR on the way

Do I have enough to cutom tune this with my wideband A/F gauge?
Is my wastegate accuator too stiff (I can move it with a wrech)?
What PSI fuel pressure do I need to run?

a4cefed
03-27-2007, 01:46 PM
nice to see someone on the board went ahead and installed this turbo. sorry i dont have any help to offer

Don Supreme
03-27-2007, 01:51 PM
he is not the first. I have heard as low as 13.1 out of that turbo.

a4cefed
03-27-2007, 01:54 PM
guess i should have said nice to see an active member running it.

Rosati
03-27-2007, 01:57 PM
^^lol

I know what you mean mike, not too many people went w/ it

Im gonna get you that FPR within the week man...

Any pics?! GL

maxspeed
03-27-2007, 02:15 PM
its based off a gt28r right?

superman_006
03-27-2007, 02:47 PM
well right now I sent my ECU in..when my rear coolant flange started leaking a few days ago, I figured since I had the hood open, I would put in the GT2X and downpipe on (LOL) well on my test drive, the turbo install seemed good but I was still loosing anti-freeze, so I ordered that plasic coolant flange, the flange and the ECU should be here thursday

When I find my camrea I will post some pics

94jedi
03-27-2007, 03:35 PM
its based off a gt28r right?

I thought it was based off a t25...[confused]

maxspeed
03-27-2007, 03:52 PM
I thought it was based off a t25...[confused]

the gt28r is actually a gt2560 turbo i believe, so it could be argued either way i guess

someone with more knowledge on the garret lineup please chip in [up]

superman_006
03-27-2007, 03:55 PM
I dont know but its oil cooled only, if that will help anyone

TQMB5
03-27-2007, 04:19 PM
did you block the coolant feed at the block then?

superman_006
03-27-2007, 04:43 PM
No, I put a new hose from the Intake to the block, like a loop

superman_006
03-28-2007, 11:42 AM
Ok, I was almost sure that something was wrong with the wastegate accuator because It seemed really tight and I was boosting 1.78 bar (26psi) with stock internals which I am told is a no no, So I used my conpressor and paint gun pressure regulator with gauge, It started to open at 12psi and was wide open at 18psi.... So how would I be running 26psi..... All I could igure is that I must have a busted vacum leak or I screwed up my n75

Don Supreme
03-28-2007, 12:09 PM
You are running programming for another turbo...... How do you expect it to manage the boost accurately? Please install a MBC or some other form of boost control.

superman_006
03-28-2007, 12:15 PM
I sent my ecu to Inmotion tunning, I should have it back tommorow or friday with some GT2X program

Tiluleshpingen
03-28-2007, 10:08 PM
the gt28r is actually a gt2560 turbo i believe, so it could be argued either way i guess

someone with more knowledge on the garret lineup please chip in [up]

hhmm gt28rs is ballbearing.. gt2x is not .i just had it in my hand like 2 weeks ago.. looks nothing like the 28rs[drive]

Tiluleshpingen
03-28-2007, 10:09 PM
he is not the first. I have heard as low as 13.1 out of that turbo.

yeah friend of mine ran 13.7 with it, i was shock i almost knock him out..[:D]

Tiluleshpingen
03-28-2007, 10:12 PM
I finally installed my GT2X turbo, test pipe and down pipe. I notice that the wastegate acuattor was super stiff compared to the K03, I couldnt move it by hand. When I test drove the car its got a whole lot more torque and it boosted to 1.78 bar (~26psi), then it goes into safe mode. I had a K03 file by InMotion Tuning for 1.3 bar, but I send the ECU to them again, I have a few programs with Vag-com suck as Lemniwinks, I also have 440cc injectors and a Adj FPR on the way

Do I have enough to cutom tune this with my wideband A/F gauge?
Is my wastegate accuator too stiff (I can move it with a wrech)?
What PSI fuel pressure do I need to run?

it would run better on a K04 file with some custom tune air to fuel ration..i think not to sure as.. i meantined above it ran 13.7.. at 17psi then held at 15 [down] [up] ? u decide

BranCKY3
03-28-2007, 11:29 PM
It started to open at 12psi and was wide open at 18psi.... So how would I be running 26psi..... All I could igure is that I must have a busted vacum leak or I screwed up my n75

Well, the stock wastegate spring is like 7psi... and you're running tuning that thinks it's still going to open sooner than it is. Slap an MBC on it and problem solved. Post up some 1/4mile times asap!

Oricle
03-29-2007, 01:50 AM
I sent my ecu to Inmotion tunning, I should have it back tommorow or friday with some GT2X program

Did they have a file for your GT2X? He told me he didn't know if he'd have a file that'd work for my BT, and he would half to bring a few with him and custom tune one. He said it was only $300 to do that? I'm assuming that includes the file as well? Seems really fucking cheap.

a4cefed
03-29-2007, 06:39 AM
this makes me think i should have bought a gt2x rather than another k04

pac1085
03-29-2007, 06:55 AM
No, I put a new hose from the Intake to the block, like a loop


You'll need to change that. That makes it basically bypass the thermostat so your car will not get up to temp properly. I learned that the hard way. You need to plug the port on the block and the one in the top cooling pipe, they can't be connected directly together. It doesn't make sense but the turbo being there must have been enough of a restriction to make it not matter, but if you connect the 2 ports together, it bypasses the t-stat and the car doesn't heat up like it should.

superman_006
03-29-2007, 08:48 AM
You'll need to change that. That makes it basically bypass the thermostat so your car will not get up to temp properly. I learned that the hard way. You need to plug the port on the block and the one in the top cooling pipe, they can't be connected directly together. It doesn't make sense but the turbo being there must have been enough of a restriction to make it not matter, but if you connect the 2 ports together, it bypasses the t-stat and the car doesn't heat up like it should.

Bitterchild said to loop it and ATP's install kit came with a loop hose and their instutions said to loop it..... I drove a few miles and it came up to temp

superman_006
03-29-2007, 09:03 AM
Did they have a file for your GT2X? He told me he didn't know if he'd have a file that'd work for my BT, and he would half to bring a few with him and custom tune one. He said it was only $300 to do that? I'm assuming that includes the file as well? Seems really fucking cheap.

He said when I get it back it will boost almost 20psi and be settling around 18psi, my ecu map will have my A/F starting 12.2 and going to 11.2 around redline, I think the file he has is for the GT2X

The GT2X has full boost before 2500 rpms, I notice a sh#t load of torque on my test drive compaired to my K03, but of course I was running a K03 file so I was babying it

superman_006
03-29-2007, 09:16 AM
I know a few people dont like the GT2X, I have been told the compressor is weak but I will let you know if mine doesnt blow-up
Here is the K04 vs GT2X from ATP's website, the blues are GT2X and the Reds are K04
http://i130.photobucket.com/albums/p276/superman_006/K04vsGT2Xbothhighoct.gif

Oricle
03-29-2007, 09:20 AM
He said when I get it back it will boost almost 20psi and be settling around 18psi, my ecu map will have my A/F starting 12.2 and going to 11.2 around redline, I think the file he has is for the GT2X

The GT2X has full boost before 2500 rpms, I notice a sh#t load of torque on my test drive compaired to my K03, but of course I was running a K03 file so I was babying it

The difference is insane on how they are. I did notice a lot of bottom end lag which I'm assuming will be fixed a bit with the tune. But up high the thing screams. Can hear that turbo fucking scream. Did he give you an estimate on how much it was going to cost?

94jedi
03-29-2007, 09:21 AM
I know a few people dont like the GT2X, I have been told the compressor is weak but I will let you know if mine doesnt blow-up
Here is the K04 vs GT2X from ATP's website, the blues are GT2X and the Reds are K04
http://i130.photobucket.com/albums/p276/superman_006/K04vsGT2Xbothhighoct.gif

be very careful when looking at ATP dyno's. They've been known to skew things a bit w/o mentioning specifics.

superman_006
03-29-2007, 09:31 AM
Yeah I seen one where they took a crank HP vs a wheel hp but they mentioned it

killa
03-29-2007, 02:22 PM
its based off a gt28r right?

no, the gt2x is actually a journal bearing turbo, unlike the other eliminators that are all dual ball bearing units.

maxspeed
03-29-2007, 03:47 PM
no, the gt2x is actually a journal bearing turbo, unlike the other eliminators that are all dual ball bearing units.

thanks for the info!

ki11switch
04-12-2007, 09:41 PM
So would i be ok running the pc 16 ko4 file with the GT2X Turbo? How much more am i going to gain going from k04 with pc 16 to GT2X with pc 16?

maxspeed
04-13-2007, 09:19 AM
probabbly 20 - 30 whp

UN-PIMP-Z-A4
04-13-2007, 09:26 AM
So would i be ok running the pc 16 ko4 file with the GT2X Turbo? How much more am i going to gain going from k04 with pc 16 to GT2X with pc 16?

picking up a barely used k04 setup is very cheap and decent upgrade.

maxspeed
04-13-2007, 09:42 AM
but a gt2x will still walk a pc-16 k04 with ease.

Oricle
04-13-2007, 09:57 AM
So would i be ok running the pc 16 ko4 file with the GT2X Turbo? How much more am i going to gain going from k04 with pc 16 to GT2X with pc 16?

You would be fine running a k04 file on the GT2x. Superman is running his on a tweaked k04 file. I'm running my GTRS on a very tweaked K04 file(we're actually running a very similar file).

Pimpovic
04-13-2007, 10:52 PM
From what I've read the GT2x is actually at GT2056. It is smaller than a 25r, but seems to do quite well compared to the K04. I am glad to see people using this turbo, it seems to get ignored alot.

Tiluleshpingen
04-13-2007, 11:27 PM
From what I've read the GT2x is actually at GT2056. It is smaller than a 25r, but seems to do quite well compared to the K04. I am glad to see people using this turbo, it seems to get ignored alot.

2ND and last sentences tell you everything about the turbo

Tiluleshpingen
04-13-2007, 11:29 PM
So would i be ok running the pc 16 ko4 file with the GT2X Turbo? How much more am i going to gain going from k04 with pc 16 to GT2X with pc 16?

you'll be o k but u'd better get the proper software much more gains

ki11switch
04-14-2007, 12:36 AM
so what if i cant find anywhere to tune it? does someone make software just for this turbo?

Is the money worth going GT2X over K04

superman_006
04-14-2007, 06:39 AM
you'll be o k but u'd better get the proper software much more gains

My software is proper, Inmotion accually started with a K04 file and wrote a remapped file from my a/f logs and vag-com logs. The GT2X does but some pretty good numbers down, I belive that some have broken into the 12's with this turbo.

superman_006
04-14-2007, 06:52 AM
so what if i cant find anywhere to tune it? does someone make software just for this turbo?

Is the money worth going GT2X over K04


http://www.inmotiontuning.com/

But I also belive that Bacon Bait has a use mika programed ecu for a AWM motor with the GT2X that came from ATP
http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=109609&highlight=gt2x

EuroA4
04-14-2007, 08:59 AM
You would be fine running a k04 file on the GT2x. Superman is running his on a tweaked k04 file. I'm running my GTRS on a very tweaked K04 file(we're actually running a very similar file).

Could you be more specific about "very tweaked" and who did the tuning? I just got the hammer file upgrade for my K04 and want to add the GTRS this fall. Jeff Moss said there is a way to tweak it with Lemi...but just wanted to know if this could be done on my own, or does it need dyno time?

superman_006
04-14-2007, 09:00 AM
You'll need to change that. That makes it basically bypass the thermostat so your car will not get up to temp properly. I learned that the hard way. You need to plug the port on the block and the one in the top cooling pipe, they can't be connected directly together. It doesn't make sense but the turbo being there must have been enough of a restriction to make it not matter, but if you connect the 2 ports together, it bypasses the t-stat and the car doesn't heat up like it should.

I must say that it seems that your are correct, I didnt notice any diffrence in the amount of time it took for the car to get up to temp, To me it looked like the by-pass line just went from the intake to the block.... Anyways I ran the loop for a day or two and my CEL came on, when I pulled the codes it threw 2, both to do with the theromstat not working, So I cut my loop hose and but a double male cuppler in it that had that ID of a little less than 1/4 the CEL went off. I am considering removing the loop completly and doing caps like you said but I want to make sure that it will not screw anything up

superman_006
04-14-2007, 09:11 AM
Could you be more specific about "very tweaked" and who did the tuning? I just got the hammer file upgrade for my K04 and want to add the GTRS this fall. Jeff Moss said there is a way to tweak it with Lemi...but just wanted to know if this could be done on my own, or does it need dyno time?

InMotion also started with a K04 file with his and wrote another map while on the dyno, his software was changed by byteshooter, and he can do small tweeks with Lemmiwinks. I think his is a 2001

I have an older ECU (1998) and mines had a 5v Eprom with no flash capabilites, however they removed my Eprom and did but in an updated eprom socket with flash capabilites, They included sevral programs for the GT2X, but I have to take the top off my ecu and switch the chip, most are just for diffrent oct. of fuel.

ActiveMonkey
04-14-2007, 09:30 AM
I know a few people dont like the GT2X, I have been told the compressor is weak but I will let you know if mine doesnt blow-up
Here is the K04 vs GT2X from ATP's website, the blues are GT2X and the Reds are K04
http://i130.photobucket.com/albums/p276/superman_006/K04vsGT2Xbothhighoct.gif

if i could get ~250awhp ~280+AWTQ from the GT2X i might get one. Tha'ts exactly what i've been looking for. I just don't want to go with a stage 3 or anything too big.

Definitly keeping an eye on this thread.

EuroA4
04-14-2007, 09:40 AM
if i could get ~250awhp ~280+AWTQ from the GT2X i might get one. Tha'ts exactly what i've been looking for. I just don't want to go with a stage 3 or anything too big. Definitly keeping an eye on this thread.

I think that's what alot of people say...until they drive it a few weeks/months and start to crave for more power :) My only concern with this turbo is the journal bearing v. ball bearing...and the fact that its only oil cooled. I think GTRS could be a more reliable option...but with more power come more problems.

ActiveMonkey
04-14-2007, 12:14 PM
with more power come more problems.

You said it. That is the only reason why i have not gone with GT28, etc...

I just want something a little better power than a K04 and can get be in the mid to low 13's

EuroA4
04-14-2007, 12:38 PM
I was told that with the race file on the Ko4 it is like 20-25 more ft.lbs. of torque than the "Hammer" version. That is promising.

I think as soon as you approach 250-300 whp...you are going to start to see the limits of the stock internals...so any eliminator, etc. may run fine for a while, but you are basically doubling the power that the engine was designed for and you have to expect certain parts to wear and need replacing. In my case. I have 144k miles on the car....so at @200 I plan to do a re-build with pistons, rods, TB....and do one of the elims at that point.

RudeBwoi
04-14-2007, 05:01 PM
I was thinking about the gt2x for a long time, but everyone said it was a ticking time bomb. Are we taking into account intercoolers with these setups, or like are you k04 guys running non intercooler necessary programs?

ActiveMonkey
04-14-2007, 08:19 PM
i was planning on running an EBay intercooler, but wasn't sure on the size yet. Anything more than a Base K04 without an intercooler isn't a good idea imo.

superman_006
04-14-2007, 09:22 PM
The turbo is made by Garrett, I think maybe most that where running them were probably running incorrect tunes or wide open return lines... maybe both. That will create a time bomb