PDA

View Full Version : hard accel problems with video



waswrxdriver
03-21-2007, 09:53 PM
ok the video is not up yet it will be tomorrow thoe..
http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h93/tiger70000/DSCN1052.jpg

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h93/tiger70000/DSCN1051.jpg
The problem is when i hit the gas past half way i get muliple misfires no matter what the speed! Today i changed all my spark plugs and i still have the same problem! in the process upon pulling cyl 3 plug i found that the tang was gone! just an electrode was left.. all cyls had alot of carbon build up which i took care of.. cyl 3 had alot more then the others with the spark plug boot covered in sludge!

This is what i know!

My turbo housing has 3 cracks in it..

My valve cover gasket is leaking.. (into all 4 holes just major in #3)

My maf was replaced about 10,000 miles ago (10 months)

If i accel slowly i get no shudder/missfire

I can floor it around 2k and get a shudder/missfire around 3k then let off and floor it again till i get another shudder around 5 after that i get no missfire none in the very high rpm's

I get no missfire when i just revv the engine.. only under load!!


any ideas???

waswrxdriver
03-21-2007, 11:16 PM
i forgot to mention that i got 4 codes that have been cleared..

p0300
p0302
p0303
p0304
all were missfires! only cyl without a misfire was cyl 1 ha!

the check engine light blinks on now only when i mash on the gas
if i don't let off the gas the light will stay on.. so for now ill be driving slow.. ill post the vid when i get home from work tomorrow.. i get off at 5pm! till then guys and girls...

waswrxdriver
03-22-2007, 04:53 PM
http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h93/tiger70000/th_CLIP0065.jpg (http://s62.photobucket.com/albums/h93/tiger70000/?action=view&current=CLIP0065.flv)

bOOOOstedAudi
03-22-2007, 04:59 PM
Oil On Spark Plugs Isnt A Good Sign

AudiRacerS4
03-22-2007, 05:02 PM
yuo should not be driving your car

waswrxdriver
03-22-2007, 05:19 PM
yea it's a valve cover gasket.. tomorrow im replacing the gasket, and all 4 coils so ill let you guys know what the outcome is

maxspeed
03-22-2007, 05:45 PM
uhm, youve probablly damaged way more than a gasket at this point

bitterchild
03-22-2007, 06:13 PM
uhm, youve probablly damaged way more than a gasket at this point

the valvecover gasket is just an oil barrier, it's not damaged from combustion

you gotta help us out here, what is your setup. chip? turbo? what plugs came out and what went in? Btw that electrode that dropped probably fvcked up your cylinder and possibly anything downstream. You really need to at least run a compression if not a leakdown to see how your piston crown and valves are

waswrxdriver
03-22-2007, 06:37 PM
First let me say that the spark plugs i pulled out were PLATINUM they are now NGK sr20's i belive! they are the correct ones NOW! Compression Is perfect the car runns great if it wern't for the Missfires! The car runns alot smoother with the correct plugs!

Mods...
Short ram intake
Borla Exhaust
High flow CAT (can't remember the brand)
Told it was chipped but not shure!

short throw shifter
lowered by Eibach
Gunmetal Rimms
Tint
Front Sway Bar by Eibach
Thats it i think!

Other then that it's a 1.8 Turbo the same engine they put in the Jetta
http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h93/tiger70000/Breezes%20party/DSCN0388.jpg

Rabbitmangti
03-23-2007, 12:16 PM
If your leak down and compression test all look good you might want to check out the crack trigger sensor. I dont know the stock codes for it. But my friends failed and the car was doing the same thing. He has 034 so it was simple to see that it was not working corectly. Just a thought[confused]

waswrxdriver
03-23-2007, 06:17 PM
Good News!
I just finished replaceing the valve cover gasket and all 4 coils.. the car runns Very smooth With no Miss.. ill post a new vid. next time i go out.. thank to everyone for the feedback!

next thing to replace is all 8 arms in the front end.. when i brake hard i get numerous pops and then when the front end goes up (after i do stop) i get about 3 more pops..

I'm lovin my ouchi!

Good thing i work at a dealership!

waswrxdriver
03-25-2007, 10:43 AM
Thanks again guys for all you'r input!

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h93/tiger70000/th_CLIP0067.jpg (http://s62.photobucket.com/albums/h93/tiger70000/?action=view&current=CLIP0067.flv)

blackaudia4tk
04-07-2007, 07:35 PM
i cant believe u were reving ur car over 5g when u were having engine problems im pretty sure if my car was shuttering on acceleration i wouldn't be going over 3 if that

waswrxdriver
04-08-2007, 01:50 PM
ehh it was oviously a missfire! and it was just once to show all you audizine people what the problem was! Knowing what the problem is is the first step in knowing how to fix it!

waswrxdriver
04-16-2007, 04:22 PM
[headbang] Same problem just came back today[=(] ... i'm really getting sick and tired of this car... anyone have any ideas of what it might be this time!! and why did it go away and come back.. i really just don't get it!

maxspeed
04-16-2007, 07:05 PM
lotta oil on dem plugs

waswrxdriver
04-16-2007, 07:25 PM
lotta oil on dem plugs


Just finished looking at the car.. plugs are fine and no oil leak.. there is a major exhaust leak where the cat connects to the rest of the exhaust (after the 2nd o2 sensor) i'm gonna get it welded thursday.. could this cause a misfire? i mean it's after both o2 sensors!

waswrxdriver
04-19-2007, 06:20 PM
So i had the exhaust welded yesterday and i seem to still have the same problem!! (didn't really think it would go away)

I was able to scan my car today and found out that cyl 2 and 4 were missing...

Funny thing thoe..
I looked and the Freeze Frame data.. and it said that when i recieved the misfire codes i was going 147mph @ 10700 RPM at 100% load.. Is my PCM gone? [confused]

I mean thats just insane... no way did i go that fast... i mean 10700RPM isn't even possible in the B5 whats up??

superman_006
04-19-2007, 06:26 PM
Can you post a pic of your tubo housing, I would check your ground connections on everything on your engine, if its thinking 10700rpms and 147mph it sounds like a loose connection. Does it read everything normal when its running normal?

Matt@JHM
04-19-2007, 06:26 PM
it said that when i recieved the misfire codes i was going 147mph @ 10700 RPM at 100% load..

Holy shit, LOL thats crazy. [drive]

waswrxdriver
04-19-2007, 06:32 PM
Can you post a pic of your tubo housing, I would check your ground connections on everything on your engine, if its thinking 10700rpms and 147mph it sounds like a loose connection. Does it read everything normal when its running normal?

Didn't do a running test... (im sick today) tomorrow i'll check my grounds and do a running test!!

I may have a ground problem! but i only seem to get a missfire when it's under load! i can sit still and revv the car all day long with no miss! it's getting on the freeway and going uphill that the car has problems with..

if i have the energy to pull out my turbo housing for the 3rd time i will take some pics!

waswrxdriver
04-19-2007, 06:34 PM
anyone know where i can find a wiring diagram for all the engine grounds? and are there any known to go bad?

Oricle
04-19-2007, 09:11 PM
You said you work at a dealership? Ask one of the techs to hook up a scope and take it on a drive. Check #2/#4 for the most part. See what the spark is doing.

superman_006
04-19-2007, 09:18 PM
PM me with an email that I can send a wiring diagram for a 2002 model, which will have the same grounding locations

seank
04-20-2007, 08:07 AM
this is what my car did when the icm started going bad.

waswrxdriver
04-20-2007, 04:01 PM
this is what my car did when the icm started going bad.

yea i think im gonna trade it in for a truck.. anyone know where i can get a new computer for my car cheap?

superman_006
04-20-2007, 04:15 PM
SeanK is probably right, I was only quessing, Though the 10700rpm makes me wonder, if you do figure it out, let us know

superman_006
04-20-2007, 04:24 PM
What area are you in, and what type of truck are you looking for? It looks like Cali tags, but I wasnt sure

waswrxdriver
04-20-2007, 08:19 PM
yea i'm here in cali.. about 50 miles south of san francisco in san mateo..

Today i noticed something strange.. in pure hate of the car "trying to go uphill" i floord it for a while... this time at night... all the lights in the car went dimm... and i got to thinking.... got out and looked at the battery and it's the stock battery!! Maby i should replace the battery and see what happends huh?

superman_006
04-20-2007, 08:54 PM
Whats your volt meter on the dash do when it misses?

waswrxdriver
04-20-2007, 08:57 PM
hmmm.... i'll be back around midnight tonight HOPEFULLY! i'll let you know then... i don't think it moves thoe! i don't think it's the alternater!

waswrxdriver
04-22-2007, 05:41 PM
so today i was able to scan my car again
Cyl 2 was missing
i then swapped cyl2 and 1 coils and scanned again
Cyl 1 was now missing
i purchaced a new coil and replaced it..

Car runns good again..
is it normal for coils in our cars to go bad after 3 weeks??
what could cause a coil to go bad so fast??

car is now for sale let me know if you stupid enough to want to buy it!!