PDA

View Full Version : Wideband



gotaudi
03-16-2007, 09:14 PM
I have a 2001 A4 and I am under the impression that the stock O2 sensor is a 5 wire wide band. I am going to be putting an eliminator on in the nest few weeks and I would like to have an A/F gauge in the car my question is if I put one in their is it just going to be a light show or is it actually going to useful? can I get a gauge from any local performance shop or do I need a special gauge that reads a wideband signal????

thank you for all the help

pac1085
03-16-2007, 09:21 PM
you really can't use it for much aside from reading it with vag-com. you cant hook a gauge up to it. you would need a wideband controller like an innovate lc-1 but you won't be able to connect that to that o2 sensor since its being controlled by the stock computer.

so the answer to your question is no you can't use it. you'd have to weld another bung in.

mike-2ptzero
03-16-2007, 11:41 PM
A AFR gauge really isn't worth much if it doesn't log the data. Just add a wide band setup like the innovate setup suggested above.

aaronamerica
03-17-2007, 05:10 AM
or get the AEM afr wideband like I have, I had the innovative one but it gave me too many problems it just had too many functions for me

Ewok_Fetus
03-17-2007, 05:11 AM
I wish VDO would come out with a wideband afr!

gotaudi
03-17-2007, 10:29 AM
well i guess i am going to try to mount my pda somewhere in my car so i can constantly log. My pda has a program called Prodiag on it which is just like VAGCOM but in PDA form. I will post pictures when I do it. I just have to find out how i am going to do it.

AudiA4_20T
03-17-2007, 11:27 AM
I like the AEM one the best and its reasonably priced

stevied916
03-17-2007, 12:07 PM
I've used zeitronix before and its a great wideband and logs on your laptop easily

ibew5audi
03-17-2007, 12:57 PM
It's not like mitsu? I just hooked an a/f guage and safc and watched the millivolts for my afr. Is that not possible on audi? Tapped in at the ecu 3" or so from the harness. It bounced back and forth until tps went past 40-50% and displayed ratio of .85-.87 when tuned correctly.

pac1085
03-17-2007, 01:57 PM
you can do that on a earlier A4 with a narrowband O2 sensor but its only good if you want to tune to 14.7:1 if you want to tune richer, lets say 11.5:1 it's totally useless.

JeffM1587
03-17-2007, 05:54 PM
zeitronix wb ftw