PDA

View Full Version : Key FOBs just came in...



drunknmunky408
02-21-2007, 12:25 AM
How do I go about programming these remotes to my car?? I hope its possible!

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o39/drunknmunky408/DSC01535.jpg

Quattrocket
02-21-2007, 01:32 AM
nice whered you get them? and how much??? Hope they are programmable.

Hers how its done.

1) put one key in the ignition and turn to the on position without starting the car
2) Put second key in drivers door and turn to lock Positon while pressing and holding the lock button on the remote. (could take up to 10 seconds)
3) pull key out of door and check for function.
4) Repeat for second key.

Not sure if this is exactly right but off the top of my head thats the best I can do. Should be in the archives though.

burner799
02-21-2007, 01:43 AM
middle button wont work but, i'm sure you already know that.

SeKKeY
02-21-2007, 03:04 AM
those are b7 keys! where did you get them....

brlukosk
02-21-2007, 05:16 AM
let us know if they work...

my key fob is in rough shape..

ebay?

jrodmk2
02-21-2007, 06:10 AM
i need one too.

jrodpikap
02-21-2007, 07:55 AM
Hate to rain on your parade because those are beautiful keys, but I was under the impression that the only way you could program remote key fobs was for them to have the same FCC ID and Serial # as your original keys.

Those look like B7 A4 keys or A3 keys.

If they do work let me know because I want in on the action too. Good luck.

SurferForever
02-21-2007, 07:58 AM
why did audi remove the electic trunk and then put it back? what year did they remove it and what year did they add it back?

seank
02-21-2007, 08:43 AM
i have a trunk button but mine is an avant, also a 99 so idk if they stopped when they went to the face lift. Does anyone know if the above method works with using the valet key in the ignition and my remote in the door, i only got one remote with my car and it took a shit so i got new one on ebay, same numbers, but i cannot seem to reprogram it. i'm guessing it's because i only have the valet key in the ignition and not another remote?

nizmosx
02-21-2007, 08:56 AM
i dont think the sedans in 99 had a trunk button. just the avants. but dont quote me on that.

dj spiel
02-21-2007, 09:46 AM
1999.5

And MY key FOB

has no trunk option on key (not to say its no possible)

dj spiel
02-21-2007, 09:46 AM
And for the record those are b7 key fobs

jrodpikap
02-21-2007, 09:55 AM
SeanK...according to my dealer, that method should work.

seank
02-21-2007, 10:40 AM
damn idk what the hell i'm doing wrong then because it will not take the program. [headbang]

vdub_15
02-21-2007, 10:57 AM
I was wondering this the other day
cause the B7 keys are gorgous!

drunknmunky408
02-21-2007, 01:56 PM
nice whered you get them? and how much??? Hope they are programmable.

Hers how its done.

1) put one key in the ignition and turn to the on position without starting the car
2) Put second key in drivers door and turn to lock Positon while pressing and holding the lock button on the remote. (could take up to 10 seconds)
3) pull key out of door and check for function.
4) Repeat for second key.

Not sure if this is exactly right but off the top of my head thats the best I can do. Should be in the archives though.

Hey Mitch.. thanks for the info. I will try that when i get off of work tonight.

How much did I pay for them?? Paid $40 shipped for 2. [up] www.ebay.com [:D]

onemoremile
02-21-2007, 02:02 PM
damn idk what the hell i'm doing wrong then because it will not take the program. [headbang]

There are only 4 slots available for programming. In other words, the car can keep track of 4 key fobs. If your slots are already full you'll have to erase the existing data before you can continue. I had the same issue and clearing the slots fixed it. I can't remember off the top of my head how to do it but it was very similar to the process for programming a key.

seank
02-21-2007, 02:05 PM
hmmm i will have to look into this. i went by the write up on AW, i tried it like 3 times and i get nothing.

brlukosk
02-21-2007, 02:10 PM
Hey Mitch.. thanks for the info. I will try that when i get off of work tonight.

How much did I pay for them?? Paid $40 shipped for 2. [up] www.ebay.com (http://www.ebay.com) [:D]

Nice!! [up]

Let us know if it works...

I really hope so.

If not get a remote that does and retrofit the electronics into a new remote housing.

jrodpikap
02-22-2007, 01:09 PM
Those B7 keys won't work with your B5...different FCC ID#s and such.

You'll need to buy B5 key fobs. If i'm wrong someone let me know, because I really want those keys, but I think you screwed.

Pry the top half off the FOB and write down what the (2) code numbers are...if they don't match your original key FOB...you're SOL.

bandit
02-22-2007, 01:51 PM
OK question, what if you have a original key but no FOB, how would you know what code to match up with?

jrodpikap
02-22-2007, 02:11 PM
That's a tough one but your dealer should be able to look that up. I don't know if this will help, but I have a 2000 1.8T A4 and my codes are as follows:

FCC ID: MZ2 410 819 6 4
Other ID: 4D0 837 231D

*I was also told that the last letter in the last code (D on mine) is very important*

a4justin
02-22-2007, 02:21 PM
OK question, what if you have a original key but no FOB, how would you know what code to match up with?

I too have the same question.

bandit
02-22-2007, 05:31 PM
whats the word monkey??

drunknmunky408
02-22-2007, 07:54 PM
it doesn't work cuz I can't turn the key to lock position. once there is a key in the ignition, you cant turn the key to lock position on the door. i was at the audi dealership today and the parts guy said he's seen it done. i just need to to find the correct way to program it and i'll let you guys know.

drunknmunky408
02-22-2007, 08:11 PM
alright... i guess Qauttrocket/Mitch is right on how to program the key fob but the KEY thing that i'm missing is the VALET KEY. from reading other threads, VALET KEY is key. it looks like the valet key is needed for door and regular key is need for the ignition. i am going to the dealership tomorrow to get the valet key tomorrow. hope its not too expensive! anyone have an idea how much is going to cost me??

onemoremile
02-22-2007, 08:18 PM
alright... i guess Qauttrocket/Mitch is right on how to program the key fob but the KEY thing that i'm missing is the VALET KEY. from reading other threads, VALET KEY is key. it looks like the valet key is needed for door and regular key is need for the ignition. i am going to the dealership tomorrow to get the valet key tomorrow. hope its not too expensive! anyone have an idea how much is going to cost me??

That isn't right. I've never even seen an Audi valet key and I programmed both of my fobs. The key in the door is the one that is getting programmed. If the valet key could be used anywhere it would be in the ignition.

onemoremile
02-22-2007, 08:22 PM
OK question, what if you have a original key but no FOB, how would you know what code to match up with?

I also have a 99.5 1.8t and my fobs say:

FCC ID: MZ2 410 819 6 3
CANADA 2674 102 665 VDO
4D0 837 231E 25/99

This is for a NA spec car. I guess the Canada thing means they were manufactured by a VDO shop located in Canada. 25/99 probably means they were manufactured in the 25th week of 1999.

burner799
02-22-2007, 11:50 PM
yea i programmed my 99.5 with only one working key and one new fob. you don't need valet. I dont remember the write ups instructions but its just an extra click of a button somewhere in the sequence and it'll work.

Ado
02-23-2007, 01:43 AM
i dont think that the b7 keys will work with our b5's. from the research that i have done we need to buy the b5 keys that have the 2 or 3 buttons on them. also the fcc id need to start something like this mz2 410 819 X X. the last few numbers don’t really mater that much. my car only came with the valet keys and the dealer programmed for me. lol. so it is possible to make this work even if you have valet keys. i got my fob on ebay.

hey hao let me know if it works.

jrodpikap
02-23-2007, 12:50 PM
alright... i guess Qauttrocket/Mitch is right on how to program the key fob but the KEY thing that i'm missing is the VALET KEY. from reading other threads, VALET KEY is key. it looks like the valet key is needed for door and regular key is need for the ignition. i am going to the dealership tomorrow to get the valet key tomorrow. hope its not too expensive! anyone have an idea how much is going to cost me??
The Valet key will cost you $56.00 at the dealership, but it doesn't matter which one is in the ignition when you try to program the remote.

Also, as long as you got the Key Fob key cut to match the original key and it will actually work to unlock and start the car (the old-school way), you should be able to program it. That is where your problem lies I think...because you aren't able to program a B7 key for a B5 car.

TheValeterUK
10-24-2010, 05:13 AM
can i program a B7 key for my 2001 B6 ?

Getoffamybacon
10-24-2010, 07:50 AM
b6 to b7 remote thread (http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php/199643-B7-Key-Fob-for-B6-DIY)

b5 to b7 remotes is not possible because they use different modules to communicate as well as different fcc ids. b5 cars use a central locking module while b7 cars would use central convenience module. i have researched this possibility for years.

alsabti3
10-24-2010, 08:14 AM
saw some of these on the classifieds a few weeks ago...

Oceanside
10-25-2010, 01:04 AM
the only possible way is to take the B5 board out and custom fit it into the B7 key and the B7 key I had to dremel out a slight be to get the B5 (longer) key to fit

A4edwin
10-25-2010, 05:29 AM
door won't lock if it's open. when i did mine i opened the window to do it. it was easy. but i have the older fob with the trunk button which doesn't work.

Polski
10-25-2010, 04:11 PM
http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php/334618-Carrying-2-sets-of-keys-around..inconvinient-solution?highlight=

Go through that thread, it explains in detail how to clear and pair up remotes...post #25