PDA

View Full Version : More assisine questions from a n00b

e46ci
02-19-2007, 03:38 PM
I'm pretty new to the whole Audi / turbo thing so I have a few questions regarding the turbo tubing...

I keep seeing the following terms thrown around - up pipe, down pipe, mid pipe, test pipe, intercooler. Can I get a quick definition of each and how they all work.

superman_006
02-19-2007, 03:48 PM
Ok a down-pipe is the exhaust pipe right after the catilic coverter on the A4 it has a flex section in it too
Test pipe, is when we remove our catilitic conveter because how much air flow it restricts comming out of the enigine, however its illegal to get rid of your converter in most states so the aftermarket world calls it a test pipe (for testing purposes only)
Intercooler, if you have a 1.8t, it came with a side mounted intercooler from the factory on the drivers side, air travels through it before it enters the engine to cool the air to gain effciceny and power, alot remove it and put a front mounted intercooler as an upgrade

Poopie
02-19-2007, 03:48 PM
down pipe is the pipe connecting the turbo to the rest of the exhaust. On our cars, we have the cat right off the turbo to the actual down pipe.

mid pipe = i don't think a4's have an official one

test pipe replaces the cat with piping

intercooler is the cooler in between the compressor and the throttle body. It cools the charged air.

you got to do some searching dude before the noob police comes to yell at you. I wouldn't be suprised if someone posted a "search noob" reply while i typed this.

superman_006
02-19-2007, 03:52 PM
I would suggest you click on this link and read it
http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=113728

you'll feel 10 times smarter after reading it.... I know I do each time, and sean explains things so much better than I can

e46ci
02-20-2007, 06:12 AM
why are the turbo applications called Eliminator kits?
what are the eliminating?

1 ate T
02-20-2007, 06:18 AM