PDA

View Full Version : disabling the antenna



A4RINGSs
02-19-2007, 01:17 PM
so i have satalite radio and the antenna in the audi is so strong that i cant pick up a good signal cuz the other radio stations interfere with my siruis radio. how do you disable the antenna so that i can listen to my siruis. and it has its own antenna so i dont need the one built into the car.

superman_006
02-19-2007, 01:20 PM
You should be able to move output frequence of the siruis

A4RINGSs
02-19-2007, 01:28 PM
that doesnt matter. i try and find a frequency that doesnt have static and get interference from other channels and the only way i can think of is to disable the cars antenna

superman_006
02-19-2007, 02:01 PM
here is a link that has all the Las Vegas's radio stations

http://www.vegas4locals.com/lasvegasradiostations.html

I think that the factory preset on the sirus is 88.1 FM which is also KCEP 88.1 FM
I would sugest 81.1 FM
I am not aware of a button to click that would disable the factory anttena
I guess you could unplug it, but that would be a pain in the ass

Quattro4mage
02-19-2007, 02:04 PM
Mkae sure the Local/Distance button on the radio is set to local.

Quattro4mage
02-19-2007, 02:05 PM
Or metallic tint;)

ProOnThaSnow
02-19-2007, 02:07 PM
I have the same problem. Do you have an aftermarke head unit? If so, buy a 1/8" stereo cable out to RCA's and run them as an input to the head unit. Or in my case my in-dash allows me to hook up an iPod thru an iPod connector cable that runs to the back of the deck. It accepts a 1/8" stereo male plug, and thats what the satellite radio accepts. So for $5 a trip to radio shack, and 15 minutes of pulling my deck out, it'll be hooked up direct.

superman_006
02-19-2007, 02:23 PM
I didnt even think of that........Like ProOnThaSnow said, a dirrect line hook-up though the aux jack would be better anyways, as long as you have a aux input jack

ProOnThaSnow
02-19-2007, 02:29 PM
It really isnt that complicated, and you wont have the static ever again!

A4RINGSs
02-19-2007, 03:12 PM
here is a link that has all the Las Vegas's radio stations

http://www.vegas4locals.com/lasvegasradiostations.html

I think that the factory preset on the sirus is 88.1 FM which is also KCEP 88.1 FM
I would sugest 81.1 FM
I am not aware of a button to click that would disable the factory anttena
I guess you could unplug it, but that would be a pain in the ass

what im saying is if its set to a radio station like 88.1 its going to pick up that station and not the satalite radio. thats why i need to disable the cars factory antenna. im not asking what button to push cuz there isnt one, what im asking is how to disable the cars antenna. how do you do this? is it in the trunk? in the dash?

superman_006
02-19-2007, 04:05 PM
you can unplug it from the dash, on the back on the head unit.


But I have a sirus visor which said to tune my FM radio to 88.1 FM but I have local radio station with that same frequency, which just sounded like crap, So I with the menu on the sirus visor I change the frequency to 87.5 FM and my radio to 87.5 FM and it works great

A4RINGSs
02-19-2007, 04:25 PM
how do i get to the back of the head unit? do i take off the wooden piece around the center counsole or the larger plastic piece around that?

superman_006
02-19-2007, 04:33 PM
The plastic part around the radio/ climate control/ control switches pops off... pull it sraight off and be carefull the thinner parts snap really easy, then remove the head unit, in the back of it is the antena wire, its pulls straight out

A4RINGSs
02-19-2007, 05:26 PM
so i tried taking off the plastic piece around the radio. well you cant take off the plasitc piece until you take off the wood looking piece and thats broken now so i have to get a new one, and i still cant get the damn radio out cuz there are metal pieces that go around the back of the radio that were attached to the wood looking piece and that broke right there. so bah!! any other ideas so i can break my new car more

superman_006
02-19-2007, 05:28 PM
LMAO.... use a hammer and screwdriver, what year is your A4... Mine comes sraight out, its a 98.5 model
I did tell you to becarefull its weak

superman_006
02-19-2007, 05:35 PM
Here a link where they take the molding off the newer model
http://www.audizine.com/forum/showthread.php?t=96532

A4RINGSs
02-19-2007, 05:41 PM
its a 98, is that wood trim around the strero expensive? and what other place could i get get that piece besides audi?

superman_006
02-19-2007, 05:51 PM
Ebay, or audize's classified

RAUDIS6
02-19-2007, 07:47 PM
Or you can disconnect the antenna amp, which is in the driver's side rear D piller, if you can't get to the back of the head unit.