PDA

View Full Version : MAP & MAF Bad



turbo kraut
02-07-2007, 12:56 PM
here is the question, the map is definatly shot, but the maf was giving me some good readings and not so much so the other times

could i replace the map sensor and see if that is fine then get a maf if it isn't or should i just break down and do both at the same time?

any help would be appretiated

MultiAudis
02-07-2007, 01:04 PM
i personally would replace the map and then check before I spent unneccessarily

turbo kraut
02-07-2007, 01:21 PM
what about just cleaning it?

offroader1006
02-07-2007, 02:22 PM
cleaning never hurts, unelss you dont know what you are doing.

make sure you use an acceptable solvent for sensors. some cleaners can leave a residue that will distort readings, or damage the sensor itself.

MultiAudis
02-07-2007, 02:25 PM
yes and make sure you let it dry long enough. even after you think it is dry, leave it a few hours longer

BranCKY3
02-08-2007, 04:51 PM
What's vagcom say about both? I had a MAP go on me a few months ago, the dealer wanted like $145 for it but I found an S4 one used for $50.

SurferForever
02-08-2007, 05:00 PM
If you do replace the maf, ecs has them for $100

turbo kraut
02-14-2007, 01:39 PM
well, got a new maf and thrust sensor and i am boosting about 10, so i think all is good