PDA

View Full Version : 2.8 transmission mount pics? Anyone have one



A4 TSCHUSS
02-02-2007, 08:35 PM
Hey guys, I have a B6 and tore my transmission up and was interested in getting a 2.8 transmission to put in my car, but I would like to see exactly how it mounts in. I believe there are 2 mounts on the side correct? If anyone has/can take a pic of the cross member that holds the tranny in and the mounts that would be awesome! Thanks if anyone is able to help. I just want to see what I would need to do as far as fabrication to put one in my car.

David

p.s. this is an example of the type of picture I am looking for.

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a48/Urbamworm/image0221.jpg

mike-2ptzero
02-02-2007, 10:28 PM
The 2.8 trans has 1 mount on each side of the trans that mount to the subframe. There is no cross bar on the B5 like there is on the B6.

A4 TSCHUSS
02-03-2007, 11:12 AM
Mike is that how the B5 A4 is as well? I am looking for a transmission and figured I would widen my options and have a better chance of finding a tranny if I could use a different one. I heard I would need to change my axles for the 2.8 but not sure about the B5 A4.

Do you know if it would be possible for me to make a cross member or some kind of bracket to hold the tranny in a B6?

mike-2ptzero
02-03-2007, 04:51 PM
Mike is that how the B5 A4 is as well? I am looking for a transmission and figured I would widen my options and have a better chance of finding a tranny if I could use a different one. I heard I would need to change my axles for the 2.8 but not sure about the B5 A4.

Do you know if it would be possible for me to make a cross member or some kind of bracket to hold the tranny in a B6?


What other model are you looking at for the 2.8? The A6 2.8?


Not sure on changing the front axles.

A4 TSCHUSS
02-03-2007, 07:44 PM
no I mean the 1.8t B5 tranny

mike-2ptzero
02-03-2007, 08:12 PM
no I mean the 1.8t B5 tranny

The trans in the B5 1.8t and 2.8 are mounted the same, with 1 mount on each side. Only difference is that the 2.8 uses a different sub frame which uses the same mount on both sides and the 1.8 uses 2 different mounts.


BTW when I talked about the 2.8 it was about the B5. YOu might be able to use your axles which should be the same as the 2001.5 which has the larger spline.

A4 TSCHUSS
02-03-2007, 08:54 PM
I dont understand this side mount deal, why does AWE show this thing for the B5 with 1 mount directly under the tranny and it says it uses existing threads in the tranny.

http://www.awe-tuning.com/pages/gallery/awe_dts/index.cfm

Burntaudi
02-03-2007, 10:12 PM
I dont understand this side mount deal, why does AWE show this thing for the B5 with 1 mount directly under the tranny and it says it uses existing threads in the tranny.

http://www.awe-tuning.com/pages/gallery/awe_dts/index.cfm

The AWE DTS uses threads in the bottom of the tranny that were never utilized from the factory on the B5.

Saturnine
02-04-2007, 08:12 AM
Well, if the B6 tranny only has the single mount on the bottom why cant you just ust that single mount on the B5 tranny? The DTS bar uses it..

I guess i'm saying can you get away with mounting the B5 tranny without using the 2 side mounts?

A4 TSCHUSS
02-04-2007, 08:29 AM
^^^ That is what im thinking. The only thing is, with the B6 tranny there is a little bracket bolted to the bottom of the tranny with 3 bolts and that bracket is what the mount bolts to that is dead center of the tranny. I am also wondering if this DTS bar has the same bolt pattern on the ends where it bolts to the car because it looks similar to the B6s cross member.

onemoremile
02-04-2007, 09:46 AM
This is a 1999.5 1.8t. That bar is the old UUC S4 bar. The center mount wouldn't attach to my 1.8 trans. You can see the pair of tapped holes in the bottom of the trans right above the bar's center mount boss.

http://i23.photobucket.com/albums/b397/onemoremile/IMG_1515.jpg

A4 TSCHUSS
02-04-2007, 09:52 AM
thanks for that pic!