PDA

View Full Version : Getting Chipped



NEAudiA4T
01-15-2007, 09:47 AM
Finally getting chipped, this coming Friday! =]
Going with GIAC.
I Have a 1998 A4 1.8TQ

1 ate T
01-15-2007, 09:55 AM
I have an APR chipped ECU for sale for your car if you're interested

MultiAudis
01-15-2007, 10:12 AM
sweet man, GIAC ftw, you're gonna love it... well for a while, until you want more....

maxspeed
01-15-2007, 11:52 AM
for another ~40 bucks, you should run a MBC and a 4.7v diode with the GIAC chip and crank the boost up to 23psi, thats what i did and i love every minuet of it.

Nor_Cal_Driver
01-15-2007, 12:01 PM
for another ~40 bucks, you should run a MBC and a 4.7v diode with the GIAC chip and crank the boost up to 23psi, thats what i did and i love every minuet of it.

40 bucks?? Can you elaborate or point me to the thread? I have an 01.5 with 3 GIAC programs, flash loaded, can I use this setup for at least the 91 program??

Russell2686
01-15-2007, 01:32 PM
yeah i would like to know more about this also...

Rons01B5
01-15-2007, 06:10 PM
mbc and chip with dbw no no, heard alot of ppl having problems. Plus why would you set it on 23psi, thats way out of the k03's efficiency range. If you wan t more power than a chip go K04 or BT.

MultiAudis
01-16-2007, 12:20 PM
^^^the truth, no point in boosting that high

maxspeed
01-16-2007, 01:51 PM
40 bucks?? Can you elaborate or point me to the thread? I have an 01.5 with 3 GIAC programs, flash loaded, can I use this setup for at least the 91 program??

put a 4.7v zener diode on your map sensor, replace your n75 with a mbc. its all over vortex, and it spikes to 23, holds about 19 till 6500

freeskiwp
01-16-2007, 02:13 PM
I dont know about this. Spiking 23 psi on a ko3 puts the turbo way out of its efficiency range. Has anyone logged with vagcom with this hack? Maxspeed, you are running a wideband. What kind of AFR readings are you getting? EGT's? I would imagine the intake charge woudl be incredibly hot pushing 23 psi on a ko3.

maxspeed
01-16-2007, 02:20 PM
on 3rd gear pull it will go from about @3400 rpm 11.9:1 to 13.3:1 @ 6500

the car has a best caps time of 6.15, but the admin of the caps database wont add it

Nor_Cal_Driver
01-16-2007, 02:47 PM
I dont know about this. Spiking 23 psi on a ko3 puts the turbo way out of its efficiency range. Has anyone logged with vagcom with this hack? Maxspeed, you are running a wideband. What kind of AFR readings are you getting? EGT's? I would imagine the intake charge woudl be incredibly hot pushing 23 psi on a ko3.

GIAC put's me up there when I run on the RACE program w/100 octane.

SurferForever
01-16-2007, 03:42 PM
What is the most boost you should run on a K03? I am have the Dahlback chip and thinking about switching out to the N75K valve. I am currently spiking at about 19 psi. What should all that put mew to? IS it safe?

xpl0sive
01-16-2007, 05:13 PM
then if u have a mbc and a diode shouldnt u be able to run a bigger turbo on just a normal k03 chip and get much higher performance?

maxspeed
01-16-2007, 05:21 PM
yes, granted you account for bigger injectors, timing, and some other things, all of which can be done with lemmiwinks (if you have a dbw car)

theres a great write up on vortex on doing just that

xpl0sive
01-16-2007, 05:23 PM
i have a nDBW and im thinking about getting a GT2X turbo, but i dont even have a chipped ecu yet, so im tryin to figure out what the best thing to do would be... bigger injectors are a given, but what else....

SurferForever
01-16-2007, 05:27 PM
yes, granted you account for bigger injectors, timing, and some other things, all of which can be done with lemmiwinks (if you have a dbw car)

theres a great write up on vortex on doing just that

Whats lemmiwinks ?

maxspeed
01-16-2007, 05:37 PM
its a piece of software that uses a serial vag cable to change values in the ecu's adaptation channels for cars that are DBW. and should not be used by anyone who doesnt know EXACTLY what there doing

maxspeed
01-16-2007, 05:38 PM
i have a nDBW and im thinking about getting a GT2X turbo, but i dont even have a chipped ecu yet, so im tryin to figure out what the best thing to do would be... bigger injectors are a given, but what else....

grab GIAC's pc-16 software, supporting hardware(380cc injectors, FMIC), and an adj FPR

xpl0sive
01-16-2007, 05:39 PM
from what i gather pc-16 software is pretty hard to come by... im doing this whole thing on a budget, so are there any cheaper ways?

maxspeed
01-16-2007, 05:55 PM
you could try it with the plain GIAC k04 file..

awe-tuning sells the pc-16 file as well, and if you look around classified section of all the audi boards im sure you could find someone selling it used

xpl0sive
01-16-2007, 05:57 PM
yeah my main problem is that im in canada, so getting parts up here is a pain in the ass... what would happen if i ran the k04 file with the k03?

SeanF
01-16-2007, 06:01 PM
i have the pc16 file, and i suppose i could sell it to help fund the k04 that i need to use the k04 (k05) file i have also.. but youd need a GIAC encryptor... all that would cost more than its worth to bother with that rather than the right way..

K04 file on k03 would not be good, the k03 would be working way out of its efficiency range, and pushing extremely hot air, pulling lots of timing, and most likely misfiring.

xpl0sive
01-16-2007, 06:02 PM
so u just have the chip then or what? or is the chip installed on an ecu?

SeanF
01-16-2007, 06:07 PM
im using the ecu that has the GIAC encryptor on it for my k03... i have k04 files too...