PDA

View Full Version : $300 to revamp the audio system

matt719
12-11-2006, 08:12 PM
Basically I'm an audio newbie... yes I could search, but I don't even know what to search for, so I'm just looking for someone to give me direction.

If you had ~$300, what would you get? I have the stock non-bose setup now. I want to keep the stock headunit. I'm thinking 4 speakers... 6.5" in the rear, correct? and does anyone know where I can get the adaptors to fit 5.25" in the front? (I think the thread was lost during the crash). I also want a new amp to power this... no stock crap. A sub would be nice, but I'm guessing there isn't room in the budget for one. That's alright, because I mainly listen to classic rock, maybe some rap/hip-hop on the radio. Also, what about wiriting?

Thanks for your suggestions [up]

sandnessmj
12-11-2006, 08:44 PM
Honestly, for $300 I think it would be hard to really make any upgrade to the stock system. Sure you could throw a sub + amp in there for some extra lows, but it all depends on your listening habits...
I don't think replacing the stock speakers (without powering them with an aftermarktet amp) is going to get you much of an upgrade.
By the way, if you need wiring, check out Knukoncepts.com. Good prices and products, but sometimes slow to ship.

matt719
12-11-2006, 09:01 PM
I probably should have mentioned all of my speakers are shot, so even just throwing stock ones in would be a huge improvement. But I'm not going to do that I was thinking an amp would be around $150 and speakers would be like $50-75 a set. Is this unrealistic? I don't need a sub.

I can look at prices and everything, I guess I more just need some suggestions on what speakers to get, and all the different little parts I don't know about.

Thanks!

p.s. if it ended up costing $400, it wouldn't be the end of the world... I just don't want to plan on $400 and have it end up being $500.

gotdubd
12-11-2006, 09:54 PM
i would do an aftermarket head unit before doing a 4ch amp