PDA

View Full Version : My Newest Dyno Numbers



bOOOOstedAudi
12-04-2006, 06:42 PM
OK Well here is my graph. I actually was expecting more but what can you do. I had no water/meth. no race gas. stock timing. and a boost leak on the cam seal.
no making excuses but just letting you know the circumstances I was under.
BTW I just realized how horribly tuned my car is. Also This was immediately after my 294 mile drive

http://blackmamba.homeunix.org:2303/gallery/d/10596-1/Dyno+HP.jpg http://blackmamba.homeunix.org:2303/gallery/d/10599-1/Dyno+TQ.jpg http://blackmamba.homeunix.org:2303/gallery/d/10602-1/Dyno+AF.jpg

k0mpresd
12-04-2006, 06:46 PM
[eek]

cam seal..boost leak...i dont get it ?

that a/f is all over the place

14.0 under boost? [eek] again

what psi?

derek2079
12-04-2006, 06:47 PM
monster

bOOOOstedAudi
12-04-2006, 06:49 PM
Originally posted by k0mpresd
[eek]

cam seal..boost leak...i dont get it ?

that a/f is all over the place

14.0 under boost? [eek] again

what psi?
there is a seal in the back of the engine that leaks oil and boost at the same time. that is what they told me and that was at about 25psi

k0mpresd
12-04-2006, 06:50 PM
that is inaccurate...unless its something to do w/ the pcv system...but that doesnt really have any seals..just hoses for the most part...i still have no clue what theyre talking about

any logs?

bOOOOstedAudi
12-04-2006, 06:51 PM
nope. dont make me feel worse then I already do.

k0mpresd
12-04-2006, 06:52 PM
running 25psi on pump you really need to be watching block 020

gtrs or 2871 elim?

boostinmr2
12-04-2006, 07:37 PM
You sir, are on the virge of blowing up your motor. Please add fuel. Did you measure A/F with cats? Because it might be inaccurate. Also, WTF is wrong with your A/F at high RPMS? Your car would have pretty much died that at AF range.

bOOOOstedAudi
12-04-2006, 07:50 PM
well with the leak i was told that it leans out at higher rmps. also i can change this. im on mika tuning

nAUDI
12-04-2006, 08:23 PM
wow, i would be afraid to WOT that sucker. My Mika tune was decent at 12psi (I had boost controller problems during the dyno), hope it doesnt turn out like when I double the boost
http://home.hawaii.rr.com/kingz/dyno1.jpg

Did you do any vagcom logs while you dyno'd? How was the timing?

Bigjuice
12-04-2006, 08:31 PM
Originally posted by bOOOOstedAudi
[B]well with the leak i was told that it leans out at higher rmps. also i can change this. im on mika tuning
/B]


Mika Tune may the problem with A/F ratio going so lean.
I had Mika software as well , with the same ratios.
If you keep running like that you'll definitely blow that motor up.

k0mpresd
12-04-2006, 08:46 PM
i would turn the boost down

a lot

victorvu
12-04-2006, 10:31 PM
btw nice numbers only if it was running those numbers off of a mustang dyno.

BranCKY3
12-04-2006, 10:34 PM
What fuel pump are you running?

Nice numbers, dangerous but nice haha.

BJC
12-04-2006, 10:41 PM
I highly suggest turning down boost because you are running ver lean in mid range and very rich at redline.

What turbo are you running?

bOOOOstedAudi
12-05-2006, 01:06 AM
i think im just going to go with better tuning. shit with that power in mika i can get at least 20 whp on a very good tune

beejohn
12-05-2006, 01:10 AM
what mods/turbo?

Don Supreme
12-05-2006, 04:59 AM
Man that dyno is herky jerky like a mutha. I can barely make heads or tails of the dam thing.

I bet when you drive your next tune the first thing you are going to say is "It is sooooooo much smoother".

bassed
12-05-2006, 05:46 AM
The leak you describe as a cam seal is mostl likely the Cam Chain Tensioner Gasket. You need to turn the BOOST WAY down 10psi at least if you don't plan on rebuilding your motor. IMO you're in very dangerous territory with your tuning!

mike-2ptzero
12-05-2006, 09:24 AM
Originally posted by bassed
The leak you describe as a cam seal is mostl likely the Cam Chain Tensioner Gasket. You need to turn the BOOST WAY down 10psi at least if you don't plan on rebuilding your motor. IMO you're in very dangerous territory with your tuning!


Which shouldn't be in anyway connected to the cylinder or air passage in the head so I dont see how it could cause a boost leak. Plus the fact that a "boost leak" causes a car to run richer not leaner since it is allowing metered air to escape before reaching the cylinder.

94jedi
12-05-2006, 09:46 AM
bOOOOsted, just do like everyone said and turn the boost down until you get some better tuning. Give my buddy CTapp a call. he'll get you some good tuning. he has extensive experience w/ the GTRS elim. Even better, I'm sure he could write you a killer file utilizing the meth inj.

BoostFrenzy
12-05-2006, 10:35 AM
do you ever know what your EGT's are running that lean (which also means timing is being pulled, adding to the increase in EGT).... i'd be doing a compression test first, then turning the boost down second providing you haven't already popped a ringland

:/

and FYI... max power is made @ 12.5:1 AFR on petrol, but obviously in a turbocharged engine you're never going to get away from the detonation ceiling running that "lean", you're actually leaving a ton of power on the table and causing destruction with an afr like you're running

offroader1006
12-05-2006, 11:48 AM
your AFR looks like a fun roller coaster

bitterchild
12-05-2006, 01:55 PM
Originally posted by BoostFrenzy
and FYI... max power is made @ 12.5:1 AFR on petrol

that depends on the specific engine's VE across the board along w/ a few other things

BoostFrenzy
12-05-2006, 03:08 PM
Originally posted by bitterchild
that depends on the specific engine's VE across the board along w/ a few other things

your statement implies what i said, sometimes you go richer so you can get away with more timing

bOOOOstedAudi
12-05-2006, 03:20 PM
Originally posted by 94jedi
bOOOOsted, just do like everyone said and turn the boost down until you get some better tuning. Give my buddy CTapp a call. he'll get you some good tuning. he has extensive experience w/ the GTRS elim. Even better, I'm sure he could write you a killer file utilizing the meth inj.
I want to go ctapp but the money for it isnt looking appetizing right now. from the looks of the dyno im missing a good 20whp and about to blow my engine at the same time. wtf. mika is ****ing garbage

k0mpresd
12-05-2006, 03:25 PM
Originally posted by bOOOOstedAudi
mika is ****ing garbage
what other tuning have you done to the car besides throw an ecu in it and call it a day?

there is more to "tuning" than just a file

bOOOOstedAudi
12-05-2006, 03:28 PM
in my eyes i do not see many other things that are going to make my a/f look like it was mad at sixfklags like tune.(chip)

k0mpresd
12-05-2006, 03:30 PM
what blocks have you logged?

BoostFrenzy
12-05-2006, 03:42 PM
stop touching cars, that is all.

bOOOOstedAudi
12-05-2006, 04:19 PM
wtf do you mean stop touching cars?

k0mpresd
12-05-2006, 04:22 PM
Originally posted by k0mpresd
what blocks have you logged?

aaronamerica
12-05-2006, 05:32 PM
Originally posted by bOOOOstedAudi
in my eyes i do not see many other things that are going to make my a/f look like it was mad at sixfklags like tune.(chip)

hey your making very good numbers compared to my 280awhp @23psi....and I'm having the same problem but mine is a whole lot leaner(13-15afr). but hey do you still have the stock fuel pump in and your running the gt2871r kit right?

94jedi
12-05-2006, 06:38 PM
Originally posted by bOOOOstedAudi
wtf do you mean stop touching cars?

he's being a douche....


bro, get vag com/laptop and log the following blocks -

003, 020
002, 031
003, 026

Log two at a time like I posted above to get a more precise sampling rate. Then post the logs on here and we'll all help you figure this out.

We need to see wtf your maf is doing, tb, CF's etc...at least that way you have some ammo to get yell at mika. do you have your own on board wide-band O2 sensor?

k0mpresd
12-05-2006, 06:51 PM
Originally posted by 94jedi
do you have your own on board wide-band O2 sensor?
i would hope not

if he does then he really does need to stop touching cars

94jedi
12-05-2006, 07:04 PM
lol....true...if someone is seeing 14's at wot....that's an even bigger issue.

bitterchild
12-05-2006, 07:18 PM
Originally posted by BoostFrenzy
your statement implies what i said, sometimes you go richer so you can get away with more timing

actually no, I was inferring that 12.5:1 is not so much the ratio of maximum power for all gasoline internal combustion engines rather that it is a rule of thumb for most modern multivalve fi ic engines.

I was not referring to the common practice of adding excess gasoline to lower cc temps.

bOOOOstedAudi
12-05-2006, 07:42 PM
ok going to do some logs tomorrow. boostfrenzy kinda pissed me off with his stupid comments and i almost wanna threaten his life but then id just be an ethug so ill ignore. no onboard wideband and would these numbers be ok if i were on race gas or it doesnt matter?

beejohn
12-06-2006, 12:00 AM
why dont u tell us what turbo you are running pussy

sean1.8t
12-06-2006, 12:12 AM
GT28RS elim!!!!!!!! iirc that is

BJC
12-06-2006, 12:12 AM
LOL!! I think it is a 2871r elim....frontrak too btw.

sean1.8t
12-06-2006, 12:27 AM
you might think.. but you may be wrong

Don Supreme
12-06-2006, 05:15 AM
He is running a GTRS. He is also FWD.

2000 ATW 1.8t...

Based on that dyno I wouldn't even look @ the peak numbers. I can't get a feel for the power under the curve because it is so herky jerky...

mike-2ptzero
12-06-2006, 08:14 AM
Originally posted by 94jedi
lol....true...if someone is seeing 14's at wot....that's an even bigger issue.


Nothing wrong with 14's at wot but only when there is no boost. AFR should get richer at the same time boost starts to build and he should see mid 11's by the time he hits full boost.


If I was him I would pull some timing out with the Lemmiwinks and then do some logs, pulling the timing should richen up the car at wot.

bOOOOstedAudi
12-06-2006, 11:07 AM
Originally posted by mike-2ptzero
Nothing wrong with 14's at wot but only when there is no boost. AFR should get richer at the same time boost starts to build and he should see mid 11's by the time he hits full boost.


If I was him I would pull some timing out with the Lemmiwinks and then do some logs, pulling the timing should richen up the car at wot.
doing that today. and beejohn, you call me a pussy again i will bull you bitch ass card every single post you have untill we are both banned. it is a GTRS kit. i figured most people know that.

BJC
12-06-2006, 02:19 PM
god you have a huge intrweb pens.

TomRitt18944
12-06-2006, 02:30 PM
How is even on tunes like this, I seem to be the only one popping motors? I must be retarded

sandnessmj
12-06-2006, 02:37 PM
Originally posted by BJC
god you have a huge intrweb pens.

[up] Quoted for truth. [up]

boostinmr2
12-06-2006, 02:49 PM
I don't think his fueling problem can even be corrected by Lemmiwinks - not being a rollercoaster like that.

You're gonna need your WHOLE fuel map changed - like by swapping ECUs to something else. At an AFR of 6, your car shouldn't even run.

mike-2ptzero
12-06-2006, 05:14 PM
Originally posted by boostinmr2
I don't think his fueling problem can even be corrected by Lemmiwinks - not being a rollercoaster like that.

You're gonna need your WHOLE fuel map changed - like by swapping ECUs to something else. At an AFR of 6, your car shouldn't even run.


Sure it can. The readings are bad because the ecu is pulling timing all over the place which causes the AFR to bounce and this is exactly why his tq/hp readings bounce around too.

aaronamerica
12-06-2006, 06:01 PM
here's a clip of my car on the dyno, I know its loud cause I was running open exhuast http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ESH_Lk3xAOk

bOOOOstedAudi
12-06-2006, 06:59 PM
I would post my clip but I dont feel like it. that is how i notice i needed new mounts again. also i think im going to do another run to see if that is accurate.



look at my sig guys

audi rick
01-30-2007, 01:01 PM
he's being a douche....


bro, get vag com/laptop and log the following blocks -

003, 020
002, 031
003, 026

Log two at a time like I posted above to get a more precise sampling rate. Then post the logs on here and we'll all help you figure this out.

We need to see wtf your maf is doing, tb, CF's etc...at least that way you have some ammo to get yell at mika. do you have your own on board wide-band O2 sensor?

hey run me threw this i would like to check mine out i am curious.