PDA

View Full Version : Resistor for HIDs???



allshowA4
12-04-2006, 01:32 PM
I just installed my HID kit and new housings but now i have a bulb out warning on my screen. Is there a resistor that i can put in place of the old bulb to trick the computer? Or can I use a VAG-COM to cancel this code? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

WhiteQuattro1.8
12-04-2006, 08:26 PM
um i never got a code quite wierd that you did though.

allshowA4
12-04-2006, 08:28 PM
i've read that it may just go away. another question tho... can HID's be put in the stock housings?

bass_lover1
12-04-2006, 09:56 PM
I think you can recode the CCM saying that you have HIDs installed...don't ask me how though, cause I dont have a clue.

Nebone
12-04-2006, 10:08 PM
I just installed a Purevision HID kit 6000K on Sunday and I got the same Bulb Out warning. THis is because only one H7 connector is plugged in to give the ON/OFF signal to the transformer. The other one just dangles. I will try the VAG to try and disable this light first. I don't think there should be a problem running higher heat bulbs in the housing. THe lights are awesome btw. If you would want to do the resistor trick, get a working H7 bulb, check the resistance on it, get that type of resistor and plug it in.

WhiteQuattro1.8
12-04-2006, 10:17 PM
oh you got after market setups. Im using OEM pieces put into my halogen halogen projectors. Using B6 ballast and igniter. also running A6 ballasts and igniters with 3000k bulb in the fogs :) hotness right there.