PDA

View Full Version : Alpine headunit - Amplified harness question



Silver98A4
12-02-2006, 07:22 AM
I'm going to be purchasing an alpine headunit for my a4 pretty soon. I know that in order to make it work with the bose system without rewiring/changing speakers is to use an amplified wiring harness.


I have an early 98 A4, and am trying to figure out exactly which harness I need.

Metra's site says that that 1787 works with the 1996+ A4s...which would work for me..

however I was going to buy this awhile ago and i remember thinking that i needed the 1785...i just cant remember why.


I know someone out there had to have used an amplified harness to hook up their headunit...can you tell me which model you used? thanks

SouRce4
12-02-2006, 09:53 PM
They sell the harnesses for your car at any auto store near you.
when i put the alpine deck in my yukon i just went to AutoBarn and they had it

when i got my audi tho the previous owner had the wiring harness for me =]

but yeah just go to the nearest auto store and look for the VW 96+ ( Or Audi ) It works

gotdubd
12-03-2006, 09:43 AM
not if he has bose or symphony or any prmium sound system

i cant remember the # off hand.
ill check at work on monday

that harness with RCA ends on it however, may cause i slight popping between songs or when you turn the volume all the way down.

it did in mine. so i ended up rewiring.
my boss's 04 carrera it didnt.