PDA

View Full Version : Spark Plugs



SoFresh
11-29-2006, 07:49 PM
Ok, im gonna go get some new spark plugs tomorrow.... any recommendations on what kind to get? Or does it not really matter?

Neo1130
11-29-2006, 07:57 PM
500 posts and this is what you come up with?! Nah just kidding... Just get some cheap copper plugs and change them every 5000 miles... Don't believe me? Search!!

SoFresh
11-29-2006, 08:02 PM
haha, thanks neo, the only reason I posted this was for you actually, lol, cause I read in another thread about the idle issues at cold temps, and you suggested new plugs, so well... just wanted to know which ones to run, lol

fred2ka4
11-29-2006, 08:15 PM
From all the searching I have done these are the ones that I have come up with, and I use one of them.

1) Bosch F6DTC (I use this one and it works great)

2) Bosch FR5DTC (I have never used this one but have heard only good things about this plug. I am going to try it next)

[up]

k0mpresd
11-29-2006, 08:19 PM
i ran bkr7e for a little over 2yrs gapped @ .028"

im now running bkr8eix @ .026"

i had issues back when the car was basically just chipped during cold starts when the sec air pump was running..soon as it turned off i was good to go

if its cold i would suggest the 6e's...other than that..7e's

GraysonF
11-29-2006, 08:19 PM
how about ngkbkr6e

hey4
11-29-2006, 08:48 PM
Originally posted by fred2ka4
[
1) Bosch F6DTC (I use this one and it works great)

[up]

SoFresh
11-30-2006, 02:20 PM
Ok, got the NGK Copper Core V-Power plugs, BKR6E, Ive noticed that some of you, (kOpresd) are running them gaped at .028", or .026", however it says they should b running at .032"... what does that matter, whats the difference?

Im having issues running lean as well, I dont know if the gap matters for that, but I havent changed them yet from the old ones, cause im gonna gap them first, and its also snowing outside, so screw that, too cold. Let me know what the difference in gaping does.

SoFresh
11-30-2006, 02:41 PM
Ok, so I know the bigger gap is for more spark, etc. But for my chip and running lean issue, what should I set the gap to?

Neo1130
11-30-2006, 02:58 PM
With my cold start issue the other day, I found that if I gapped my plugs to .028 it didn't happen, but if I went back to .035 they started to act up again!

SoFresh
11-30-2006, 03:01 PM
thanks neo, ill start mine at .028" and see how she acts up from there. audis can be little bias in the winter, yet for some reason, i still love her, lol