PDA

View Full Version : custom city lights?



A4_2.8tuner
11-19-2006, 10:34 PM
has anyone done any custom city lights in there us spec 1-piece headlights?

i was thinking of doing some, but wanted to get ideas on how i should do it, and see what others have done.

burner799
11-19-2006, 10:47 PM
drill and superglue an led in there?

SeKKeY
11-19-2006, 10:48 PM
^what about wiring them up?

burner799
11-19-2006, 10:59 PM
^^we just did kens car. took like 15 minutes per side. you just tap the wire from the turn signals...takes like 8 inches of wire and some solder, not too difficult. his ecodes look bad ass now, no amber when the headlights are on.

Aliel
11-19-2006, 11:43 PM
Ecodes already have the hole for the city lights and I was lucky enough to get the bulb holder with them too.

Us spec headlights need a hole and a bulb holder to retrofit city lights in them.

And wiring as said above is just cutting the parking light wire and find a ground.

RippleChip
11-20-2006, 04:59 AM
I did that, when they were apart drilled and put an led in place. Wiring up I ran a seperate wire from the panel under the drivers kickpanel so I didn't mess with the stock wiring.

smoothie
11-20-2006, 06:02 AM
got any pics of the lights anyone? sounds neat looking

A4_2.8tuner
11-20-2006, 08:56 AM
well i know how to wire it and stuff, i guess more or less i wanna know where people got the bulb holders and stuff. i'm probably just gonna use an LED.

a4cefed
11-20-2006, 09:00 AM
im sure if you go to your local auto stor they can order you a bulb holder and led

RippleChip
11-20-2006, 10:03 AM
http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/10CityOnly-med.jpg

http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/10CityOn-med.jpg

LED just put in place, no special bulb holder.

A4_2.8tuner
11-20-2006, 10:17 AM
Originally posted by RippleChip
http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/10CityOnly-med.jpg

http://www.audizine.com/gallery/data/500/10CityOn-med.jpg

LED just put in place, no special bulb holder.

could you PM me with what you did? what type of LED you got? what resistors you needed or if you needed them and such?

00black1.8t
11-20-2006, 10:49 AM
I put mine directly above the high beam light. That way to have a even light dispertment. Its about 1" above the bulb inside. I used a 194 wedge bulb. You can get a standard bulb holder from Pepboys or whatever for like $3. Then use a rubber grommet the same size as the bulb. I drilled the hole then inserted the bulb throuth the grommet and bam done. The grommet hold the bulb. I am using hyper white wedge bulbs and the heat is not an issue for those worried. The grommet allows for the ability to change the bulb plus you dont have to make a big hole for the bulb holder to push into.

A4_2.8tuner
11-20-2006, 11:07 AM
hey 00black1.8t could you post some pics of your setup?

RippleChip
11-20-2006, 03:31 PM
That's pretty much the same.

I bought a bulk bag of leds, some with clips to hold them in place. They came with resistors, so I have one resistor since I am only running the one led.

ExpLlclT
11-20-2006, 07:38 PM
did you bake those to paint them black housing it looks great

A4_2.8tuner
11-20-2006, 08:54 PM
hey ripplechip where did you get the LED's and what were the specs on them? like the brightness and such...

IKE20VA4
11-20-2006, 11:27 PM
I like this idea. I may try to do this this weekend... But I'm thinking since I have projectors for high beams I might aim an led inside the high beam projector...that could look cool..

RippleChip
11-21-2006, 05:11 AM
They were heated to get apart previously, I just redid the process to repaint and do this.

The leds, I am not sure cause my brother ordered them online and got a ton of white and red ones. I'll try to find some details out.