PDA

View Full Version : Bumper Paint Question

AudiDude007
11-19-2006, 03:31 PM
so i'm repainting my front bumper over thanksgiving break. i'm pretty sure i have everything i need,including 600 grit wet/dry sandpaper as my finishing but i need something a little heavier to get the paint chips out. any suggestions from experieince? ( i searched but couldn't find any listing exact grits to use).

GraysonF
11-19-2006, 03:56 PM
im not a painting expert, but depending on how deep the paint chips are, id suggest using a little bondo action.

Lazer Viking
11-19-2006, 04:18 PM
yep, or some polyester filler, its smoother and lighter and resists cracking better then bondo

sean1.8t
11-19-2006, 04:21 PM
Originally posted by pacman
yep, or some polyester filler, its smoother and lighter and resists cracking better then bondo

what he said^^.. and remember, less is better

Starting
11-19-2006, 05:16 PM
what type of painting are you planning on doing? spray paint or actual automotive paint?

AudiDude007
11-20-2006, 05:58 PM
i guess " chips" was slightly misleading. it's more like paint peel from a shitty paint job ( not me, the previous owner) the paint guy said filler wouldn't be necessary after a few different grits, and sandable primer.

its autopaint, from an autopaint shop. it's an 8:1:1 mix ratio of paint, thinner, and hardener. once mixed you just put it into a glass preval canister with a pressrized cartridge. as long as i don't EF it up , i'll post before and after pics.haha

Poopie
11-20-2006, 06:00 PM
woah, that sounds complicated. Basically an aerosol can?

Starting
11-20-2006, 06:37 PM
the pressurized cartridge setup sounds interesting. 600 grit is about as high as I would go before you apply paint. Are you applying a sealer or primer first. I am not new to painting so if you have any specific questions feel free to ask.

AudiDude007
11-20-2006, 06:59 PM