PDA

View Full Version : Turbo finally went... A few questions about turbo installs...

1.8G
10-26-2006, 09:26 AM
After all of 3 months, my GTRS has blown. I need to get it out of the car asap and returned for replacement under warranty. I suppose my questions are: which tools will I need?, is there anything i should know before starting (tips and tricks)? Sorry if the post is vague, I am studying like mad for a 12:00 calc midterm.

01'A41.8T
10-26-2006, 10:05 AM
how do you know its blown?

Saturnine
10-26-2006, 10:15 AM
He must be blowing smoke out the back or something..

All you really need is a bunch of normal tools, sockets, jack+stands, extensions..

I'm guessing that you didnt install your kit?

BranCKY3
10-26-2006, 10:16 AM
Originally posted by 1.8G
After all of 3 months, my GTRS has blown. I need to get it out of the car asap and returned for replacement under warranty. I suppose my questions are: which tools will I need?, is there anything i should know before starting (tips and tricks)? Sorry if the post is vague, I am studying like mad for a 12:00 calc midterm.

I take it you didn't install it? I got mine out in like 30 minutes after I realized I didn't tighten the oil return line all the way on it... It's just nuts and bolts, nothing too hard. Make sure you drain your oil and coolant first though [:p] After that, unbolt the cat / testpipe from the turbo, there's only 3 nuts for that, and the 3 mani>turbo bolts. The rest should be self explanitory for the oil feed and coolant feed/return, although you should unbolt the oil return line from the oil pan and pull it off still attached to the turbo.

1.8G
10-26-2006, 10:31 AM
Originally posted by 01'A41.8T
how do you know its blown?

It started with quite noticeable siren noise... then quickly went to dentist drill. On sunday I noticed that there was white smoke coming out the tailpipes after a minute or so of idle... white smoke increases with throttle.