Audizine - An Automotive Enthusiast Community

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Established Member Two Rings Uncle Buck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 06 2012
    AZ Member #
    105409
    My Garage
    '10 VW GTI, '13 Audi Q5 2.0T, '15 Jeep Wrangler Hard Rock
    Location
    Sinking Spring. PA

    Sirius pre-sets lost when channels updated

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Hi,

    When Sirius updates the channel lineup, the pre-sets on my wife's 2013 Q5 are lost and have to be re-entered. This happens several times per year and is extremely frustrating. Is there a TSB to prevent this or is there technical reason this happens?? I'm happy to send the VIN, etc. when you are back in the office. This does not happen in my GTI or in my Jeep. Any thoughts are appreciated.

  2. #2
    Audi Customer Experience Three Rings Audi USA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 24 2017
    AZ Member #
    396205
    Location
    Auburn Hills, MI

    Quote Originally Posted by Uncle Buck View Post
    Hi,

    When Sirius updates the channel lineup, the pre-sets on my wife's 2013 Q5 are lost and have to be re-entered. This happens several times per year and is extremely frustrating. Is there a TSB to prevent this or is there technical reason this happens?? I'm happy to send the VIN, etc. when you are back in the office. This does not happen in my GTI or in my Jeep. Any thoughts are appreciated.
    Good morning Uncle Buck,

    Thanks for reaching out and making me aware of this particular situation. I hope that everything has been going well for you since we last touched base! Do you mind sending over the VIN and contact information for me to look into this further? First I want to see if there is a particular TSB and if this behavior originates from Sirius itself or your wife's Q5. Thanks again and look forward to hearing back from you.
    Vincenzo F.

    Audi Social Community Manager

  3. #3
    Established Member Two Rings Uncle Buck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 06 2012
    AZ Member #
    105409
    My Garage
    '10 VW GTI, '13 Audi Q5 2.0T, '15 Jeep Wrangler Hard Rock
    Location
    Sinking Spring. PA

    PM sent - Thank you Vincenzo.

  4. #4
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 06 2015
    AZ Member #
    331368
    Location
    Minnesota

    Iím having the exact same problem with my 2013 S4. Iíve lost my presets twice in the past week. Very frustrating.
    2013 Estoril Blue S4 | DSG | Carbon Inlays | Sport Diff | B&O | Black Nappa | 3M Clear Bra | 50% tint | Deval Diffuser | Lamin-x tail light tint | AWE touring + res downpipes | Bilstein B12 pro kit | AWE intake

    2014 SQ5 (wife's ride)

  5. #5
    Established Member Two Rings kpykng1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 17 2016
    AZ Member #
    368918
    Location
    Ventura, CA

    Had the same thing happen on my SQ too. Sirius updated its' playlist cause they cancelled there holiday channels so it rearranges the channel numbers. CH70 was Holly, now it's Love for Valentine's day coming up. BAH...
    2014 SQ5 Ibis White / ECS Drivetrain Kit / EPL Stage 1 / 21" OEM Speedlines / E-Codes
    Coming soon/AWE Touring w/downpipes, KW SC Coilovers, 034 Motorsports Rear Swaybar w/ endlinks

    2017 MINI Cooper Countryman S

  6. #6
    Veteran Member Four Rings Crucible35's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 22 2010
    AZ Member #
    58005
    My Garage
    13 Lawnmower Prem. Quattro
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario. Canada

    Sounds like a Sirius thing. I've lost my presets several times over the past few weeks. 2015 A4. In Canada.
    '15 A4 S Line Q Tip Monsoon
    '09 A4 Premium Q Tip Meteor (Gone)

  7. #7
    Audi Customer Experience Three Rings Audi USA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 24 2017
    AZ Member #
    396205
    Location
    Auburn Hills, MI

    Quote Originally Posted by Uncle Buck View Post
    Hi,

    When Sirius updates the channel lineup, the pre-sets on my wife's 2013 Q5 are lost and have to be re-entered. This happens several times per year and is extremely frustrating. Is there a TSB to prevent this or is there technical reason this happens?? I'm happy to send the VIN, etc. when you are back in the office. This does not happen in my GTI or in my Jeep. Any thoughts are appreciated.
    Hello everyone,

    I was able to get some updated information from our technology and product support teams after a little bit of research. There currently is not a TSB or other active measure that exists for this particular concern. The problem is not necessarily the software in the MMI system, it is the update from Sirius XM itself. When the update comes in with the refreshed slate of channels, it will forcibly perform a reset on your current saved channels because technically one of your previous saved channels could now be something completely different. Regrettably, there's nothing that either myself or an Audi dealership can do to remedy this concern moving forward.

    OF course if you wish you are able to contact the folks over at Sirius XM to see if they are able to change this feature to leave the presets alone, but I don't know how far that will get you. I apologize, as I know this would drive me crazy as well but hopefully this at least provides some clarity as to why this exists. Let me know if you have follow up questions.

    Thank you,
    Vincenzo F.

    Audi Social Community Manager

  8. #8
    Stage 2 Banner Advertiser Four Rings Chris@EPL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 23 2011
    AZ Member #
    77278
    Location
    CT

    I have had the channels update twice in the past few weeks and if just do not try and change the channel and let it do the update no presets were reset. This was on a 2016 allRoad.
    European Performance Labs
    http://www.facebook.com/EPLabs
    https://www.instagram.com/eplabs/
    (203-345-6499)
    Chris@eplabs.net

    Please feel free to contact us with any questions!!

  9. #9
    Established Member Two Rings Uncle Buck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 06 2012
    AZ Member #
    105409
    My Garage
    '10 VW GTI, '13 Audi Q5 2.0T, '15 Jeep Wrangler Hard Rock
    Location
    Sinking Spring. PA

    Quote Originally Posted by Audi USA View Post
    Hello everyone,

    I was able to get some updated information from our technology and product support teams after a little bit of research. There currently is not a TSB or other active measure that exists for this particular concern. The problem is not necessarily the software in the MMI system, it is the update from Sirius XM itself. When the update comes in with the refreshed slate of channels, it will forcibly perform a reset on your current saved channels because technically one of your previous saved channels could now be something completely different. Regrettably, there's nothing that either myself or an Audi dealership can do to remedy this concern moving forward.

    OF course if you wish you are able to contact the folks over at Sirius XM to see if they are able to change this feature to leave the presets alone, but I don't know how far that will get you. I apologize, as I know this would drive me crazy as well but hopefully this at least provides some clarity as to why this exists. Let me know if you have follow up questions.

    Thank you,
    Thanks for the quick turn around Vincenzo. I will follow up with Sirius and post back here if I find anything pertinent.

    Update - I was on the phone with Sirius XM for 45 minutes - They indicated it is an Audi hardware problem but cannot (or will not) send me an email confirming this. 3rd level escalation - Very frustrating.

    Vincenzo - Can you have the AoA Product Manager for the Sirius XM relationship call or email me directly at the contact info I provided in my PM - Thanks!

    Scott
    Last edited by Uncle Buck; 01-03-2018 at 10:27 AM.

  10. #10
    Established Member Two Rings Uncle Buck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 06 2012
    AZ Member #
    105409
    My Garage
    '10 VW GTI, '13 Audi Q5 2.0T, '15 Jeep Wrangler Hard Rock
    Location
    Sinking Spring. PA

    Vincenzo - Please see my edited post above - Thanks!

  11. #11
    Senior Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    Apr 07 2010
    AZ Member #
    57312
    My Garage
    2015 VW Sportwagen Diesel
    Location
    Southington, CT

    Quote Originally Posted by Uncle Buck View Post
    Thanks for the quick turn around Vincenzo. I will follow up with Sirius and post back here if I find anything pertinent.

    Update - I was on the phone with Sirius XM for 45 minutes - They indicated it is an Audi hardware problem but cannot (or will not) send me an email confirming this. 3rd level escalation - Very frustrating.

    Vincenzo - Can you have the AoA Product Manager for the Sirius XM relationship call or email me directly at the contact info I provided in my PM - Thanks!

    Scott
    I believe it is an Audi problem. My wife has a VW Golf Sport Wagen with the MIB 1 system. I just asked her if she lost her presets when Sirius XM update teh channel lineups and she did not. If VW can write software, perhaps the Audi guys should give them a call and ask them how they did it.

  12. #12
    Established Member Two Rings Uncle Buck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 06 2012
    AZ Member #
    105409
    My Garage
    '10 VW GTI, '13 Audi Q5 2.0T, '15 Jeep Wrangler Hard Rock
    Location
    Sinking Spring. PA

    Quote Originally Posted by ManyAudis View Post
    I believe it is an Audi problem. My wife has a VW Golf Sport Wagen with the MIB 1 system. I just asked her if she lost her presets when Sirius XM update teh channel lineups and she did not. If VW can write software, perhaps the Audi guys should give them a call and ask them how they did it.
    Agreed - As stated above, neither my GTI or Jeep Wrangler (w/ nav, etc) lose presets. It would be one thing if only the temporary channels (such as Holly, etc) were overwritten, but all presets are wiped out regardless if that channel was affected by the update or not.

  13. #13
    Established Member Two Rings
    Join Date
    May 06 2015
    AZ Member #
    331368
    Location
    Minnesota

    Quote Originally Posted by Uncle Buck View Post
    Thanks for the quick turn around Vincenzo. I will follow up with Sirius and post back here if I find anything pertinent.

    Update - I was on the phone with Sirius XM for 45 minutes - They indicated it is an Audi hardware problem but cannot (or will not) send me an email confirming this. 3rd level escalation - Very frustrating.

    Vincenzo - Can you have the AoA Product Manager for the Sirius XM relationship call or email me directly at the contact info I provided in my PM - Thanks!

    Scott
    Anything ever come from this? Did Audi get in touch with you per your request?
    2013 Estoril Blue S4 | DSG | Carbon Inlays | Sport Diff | B&O | Black Nappa | 3M Clear Bra | 50% tint | Deval Diffuser | Lamin-x tail light tint | AWE touring + res downpipes | Bilstein B12 pro kit | AWE intake

    2014 SQ5 (wife's ride)

  14. #14
    Established Member Two Rings Uncle Buck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 06 2012
    AZ Member #
    105409
    My Garage
    '10 VW GTI, '13 Audi Q5 2.0T, '15 Jeep Wrangler Hard Rock
    Location
    Sinking Spring. PA

    Quote Originally Posted by MN Blue S4 View Post
    Anything ever come from this? Did Audi get in touch with you per your request?
    Vincenzo has stayed in touch. I have not spoken to the Product Manager yet. I just upgraded the subscription on the Q5 to match the other two vehicles. If this doesn't solve the issue, I'll escalate. I'm convinced it's a hard ware issue as my Jeep and VW are not effected.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


    © 2001-2018 Audizine, Audizine.com, and Driverzines.com
    Audizine is an independently owned and operated automotive enthusiast community and news website.
    Audi and the Audi logo(s) are copyright/trademark Audi AG. Audizine is not endorsed by or affiliated with Audi AG.